We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel in a lovely Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

A quality modern hotel, all mod cons, topped off by the politest & most helpful staff we have ever meet on our travels. Upgraded our room to deluxe sea view on advice from TA members & we were very happy with our choice. We also saw the Northern Lights eventually!!Whales & Dolphins, Golden Circle, Geyser and did some Snow Mobiling (wild) to wrap up a great week stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel had everything we wanted. An affordable quirky bar that was buzzing with locals, friendly front of house staff that cant do enough for you, clean rooms with a great view, fantastic location.....
Only thing missing was a kettle and cups - which were swifty brought up by reception of reception on request (ive travelled abroad enough to know never to leave the uk without proper tea and milk power....!)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank oscarthedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We took some time to choose this Icelandair hotel and we're not disappointed. Beautifully appointed, the staff in this roomy hotel are cheerful, helpful, efficient and knowledgeable. Our room was a deluxe one. We upgraded when we looked at the hotel reviews. Ours was an extra £160 for four nights and our room overlooked the marina. The basic rooms faced the road and the view was very dull. Our room was warm, sometimes hot! It was clean and had plenty of space. The bathroom was big with a lovely hot power shower. Go for the deluxe with the view over the harbour and mountains, if you can.
Breakfasts were fantastic. Everything you could ever want to eat - buffet style. The breads were seeded or plain and accompanied by smoked salmon, tuna, beautiful hard boiled eggs. If you preferred a hot breakfast, there were dishes of wedges of omelette with bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes, glasses of yoghurt with blueberries and all the fresh fruit you could want. Fresh coffee and a variety of teas accompanied your meal. It was all self service but staff cleared and cleaned tables and offered help. No need for lunch!
Previous reviews complained that wi if was expensive. Now the wifi is free and should you need to use the main wifi because of distance from reception, then the cost was removed from your bill at the end of the stay. All our wifi was free and quite efficient.
The bus service in Reykjavik is fantastic. The staff organised coaches so that we were collected from the front door every day.
Check out was 12:00 and they locked our bags away so we could spend the day in town. Recommendations were good and maps handed out from the desk. When our shower tap was stuck, a word with receptionist and it was fixed within 55 minutes.
There are many places to eat nearby and on one occasion, when we ate dinner at the hotel, that too was great. Food isn't cheap in Iceland but every meal we had was excellent and served with care and a smile.

We had a wonderful five day trip to Iceland and thoroughly recommend the Reykjavik Marina as one that will enhance your stay in this exciting country.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabethnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The positives- excellent location, comfortable rooms, really helpful and friendly staff, good food
( extensive breakfast buffet: we also had a good meal one evening).
Negatives- none really- I would highly recommend it. We didn't have any problems with the size of the bathroom or storage space- there were enough shelves and hangers for our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

New hotel in a renovated paint factory. Bathroom is small and there are some noise from the traffic, but all in all an ok place t just sleep for the night. The breakfast is small but good and is additional to the standard room charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Contemporary design in an excellent location. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfasts delicious (as was dinner in the Slippbarinn restaurant). Try for a marina-view room. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is an exceptional hotel. A converted paint factory, it sits right on the waterfront. The design is incredible. You can literally walk out the front door and see ships in drydock being refurbished. The rooms are quite tech modern, I loved the duvets and feather pillows. Our plan included the breakfast bar with FRESH bananas, melons, bread and pastries. The location was exceptional, in Old Town, only a few blocks from plazas and the major street for shopping. Everything was an easy walk.

Best of all, the staff went out of their way to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. They were fantastic.

There is no pool, which I didn't mind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snazzysnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,799 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
626 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £131 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing