We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$367
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$253
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$315
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,313)
Filter reviews
2,313 results
Traveller rating
1,125
874
211
60
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,125
874
211
60
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky hoteldry dockattic roompaint factorymarina sideworking harboursliding glassfire pitfun hotelwhale watchingrooms are smallnorthern lightsbreakfast buffethappy hourold harbourloved this hotelskyr
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,542 - 1,547 of 2,313 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we went there on our honeymoon so its needless to say that it was fantastic. very modern hotel resently built so everything was clean and tidy. the hotel is one of the most design and modern hotels i have ever been or stayed in!its bar is or at least was when we went the place to be for the citys youth. the breakfast was amazing and the stuff was very polite!i think that everyone going to this fantastic city shoud visit it!!!

Room Tip: maybe its because im from the completely other side of europe (athens) but i found everything in this country magical...!i advise everyone to visit it for once in there lives...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAN I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is good & it's located close to the airport. It is a walking distance to the marina & the hotel staff are nice. The food choices in the hotel restaurant is sparse & the breakfast is just average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had pre- booked one night at this hotel as a treat after a 2 day South Coast Tour. Because we actually saw the Northern Lights on our return journey we arrived at the Hotel about 1am. Saturday night reception were friendly but we were disappointed that there was no facility, except for a vending machine, for a beverage and snack. "The bar was just closing". It was disappointing to wake next morning to see the view that we had paid extra for was a rusty old ship that was almost parked on our verandah - don't waste your money expecting to see any water views! The hotel decor is interesting and quirky but you can experience all of this on the ground floor as a restaurant visitor. Translucent bathroom walls partition the shower and toilet off the bedroom. We had the Sunday buffet breakfast. Although we arrived half an hour before finishing time, the buffet was not restocked. Therefore, I would recommend that you make a selection of ALL foods that you might like in the next hour. There were no cakes or pastries left and the fruit was very diminished - when I asked about this I was told the kitchen was closed and the staff had finished. Another recommendation is to ensure that Reception submits your name when booking the shuttle transport for the airport. We waited nearly an hour for this confusion to be sorted out ! We had stayed 3 nights at another small city centre boutique hotel for half the cost per night before our South Coast Tour so our expectations were very high for this "waterfront" location and "brand name" hotel. Unfortunately, they were not met. We had a wonderful 6 night stop over in Iceland though and these "issues" did not spoil our experience !

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on a double attic PLUS room if you are hoping for a water view as opposed to a "harbour view"
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear travelers,
thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing what we can do better! The attic rooms do display a nice view over the ocean and Mt. Esja, but of course you can see the slipway and the ships as well, we are truly sorry that you didn´t enjoy that. The slipway and the marina is what we like to link ourselves to, considering the location of the hotel by the old harbor.
We´re glad you enjoyed Iceland that much and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Marina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

- Location.
Right on the Marina.
Whale watching tours half block away.
Bike Rental half block away.
At least a dozen great restaurants, including the Slipbarrin (which is located in the hotel), within walking distance.
Harpa (the concert facility) and downtown within a 10 minute walk.

- Rooms
This is a room that is of specific taste. Of all the hotels I’ve been to, I love this one the most.

Size - the rooms may be small for some
Clean and simple. You’d be hard-pressed to find a speck of dust.
View - we had the view of the Marina and shipyard. Some may not find the shipyard appealing but we actually quite liked it.
Quiet - Could not hear any noise coming internally from other rooms and/or hallways. Even with a band playing in the lobby on a Thursday evening, we didn’t hear them from our third floor room which was located immediately above the stage.
Bathroom - some may find this awkward. Two opaque doors that close at the corner. However, the doors don’t close all the way so you’ll have about a half inch opening. It doesn’t leave much privacy.
Closets and Drawers - everything is in the open, shelves replaces drawers and an open closet.

- Food
Breakfast Buffet (may or may not be complimentary, depending upon what you booked with the hotel). A great assortment of the Icelandic faire. You will get the best fish, breads, fruit, yogurt, Illy coffee, teas, juices, cereals, vegetables, cold cuts, salads, cheese and boiled eggs.
Canteen - available 24 hours. It has great selection of drinks, coffees, sandwiches, yogurt, chocolate bars, etc.
The Slipbarrin is a popular restaurant. On the weekends, the hotel sets up the lobby area as a bar. If you like a good time, this would be your place.

- WiFi
The hotel provides complimentary daily WiFi, you would have to do a quick signin everyday to receive this. The speed was excellent. I only had an issue on the last day. After I signed in, it kept asking me to sign in again even though it clearly showed that I had over 23 hours left.

- Staff
Friendly and helpful. We had originally booked a night at the Icelandair Hotel Herad in Egilsstadir. The last minute, we changed our minds and decided driving to the other side of the island was going to be too long. Unfortunately, our last minute decision was past the cancellation time. I asked the desk clerk if she could contact the hotel and see if they would be willing to make an exception and cancel the reservation for us since it was the same hotel chain. Within half hour I got the cancellation confirmation by email. This was a $270.00 saving for us.


I love the interior decor of the whole hotel. It had great character. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProsaicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi ProsaicTraveller!
Thank you for your visit and incredible feedback. We are so happy you were here glad you liked your stay - and rate your room as your favorite! Thanks for taking the time to write and give us your amazing feedback, we really appreciate it.

Our best!
The staff of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Trendy, cool decor and atmosphere. Rooms (but not windows!) clean and functional and view interesting (so long as as you have harbourside rooms find a large boat in refurbishment interesting) but lacking beverage making facilities. No bath, which is a shame in this land of virtually free hot water. Large TV in room, but poor signal meant picture kept freezing. Staff mainly very friendly and helpful with the odd exception (rather up himself young man in the bar). Location is a little out of the very centre, but it's only a 5-10 minute walk and means one is away from the night-time mayhem of Laugavegur.

Good breakfast buffet selection with cheery staff in attendance.

I would definitely stay again, and with a few tweaks could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Harbour side and floors 3 and 4
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi trevgti!
Thanks for pointing out those things that could obviously be better and fixed, we´ll work on that! We´re so glad you liked your stay with us and thanks for your positive feedback.

Until next time,
Staff of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews