We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with this choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very happy with this choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were very happy with this choice. The rooms were small but well-appointed - and we had a balcony! The staff were friendly and made great suggestions. The restaurant had great drinks and food. The location was fantastic - lots of fun places nearby in the Marina, and very close to City Center.

Room Tip: The attic rooms have balconies - very cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    752
    157
    47
    32
See reviews for
313
1,010
114
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here in Feb 14 for one of our birthdays and it couldn't have been better. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from booking (and arranging a birthday surprise on arrival), meeting on arrival and support throughout our stay. They suggested the best restaurants in town, which were full of locals and were very much up and coming.

Check in was swift and they knew who we were as we walked in the door. It was all very well timed and practiced. A great start to things.

The rooms are fit for purposes. Given that that this is a 'city break' style of holiday, the hotel works perfectly, we had a balcony view over the harbour and it was amazing. We were able to see the Northern Lights from this balcony. The rooms are slightly small, but being designed as a boat cabin, it all makes sense. The en-suite is very 'cosy' and be prepared for the frosted glass divider. Put it this way, I had to go on the balcony when the wife needed the loo!

The bar is lovely and happy hour is a great time. Be wary that at the weekends the bar is full of locals and if you want a drink back there, you may struggle to get a table. When there are so many other bars around though, it would be a shame to stay at the hotel the whole time! The live music is great there too.

We didn't bother with breakfast there, instead opting to walk into the city centre and grab breakfast at a cafe or one of the supermarkets.

This really is a first class hotel, in a lovely area, with fantastic staff, lively atmosphere and excellent facilities. Perfect for the coming back to at the end of the day, or chilling with a big glass of red wine whilst watching the day go by on the docks.
I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during April and arrived it find that we had been upgraded to a better room which was really nice. Room was well laid out but was slightly cramped. We tried to use the TV but nothing worked. Rang the front desk and the duty manager quickly arrived and tried to reboot the system. When he couldn't fix things he without asking arranged for us to be moved to another room. This one had everything working and a great view if the harbour and Harpa. Yes you have a view of ships being repainted, but that is all part of the interest. Just be careful if you park your hire car in the car park as on a windy day there may be some over spray from the ship painting.
We found the breakfast in the hotel to be of excellent quality too. Makes sure you look around and see the wooden figure sculptures, especially the one by the toilets!
Good location to visit Harpa and some of the very good restaurants in the area. Bar is one of the 'in places' to be it seems. Very busy on a Friday and Saturday night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kettering20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

we went there on our honeymoon so its needless to say that it was fantastic. very modern hotel resently built so everything was clean and tidy. the hotel is one of the most design and modern hotels i have ever been or stayed in!its bar is or at least was when we went the place to be for the citys youth. the breakfast was amazing and the stuff was very polite!i think that everyone going to this fantastic city shoud visit it!!!

Room Tip: maybe its because im from the completely other side of europe (athens) but i found everything in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAN I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is good & it's located close to the airport. It is a walking distance to the marina & the hotel staff are nice. The food choices in the hotel restaurant is sparse & the breakfast is just average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had pre- booked one night at this hotel as a treat after a 2 day South Coast Tour. Because we actually saw the Northern Lights on our return journey we arrived at the Hotel about 1am. Saturday night reception were friendly but we were disappointed that there was no facility, except for a vending machine, for a beverage and snack. "The bar was just closing". It was disappointing to wake next morning to see the view that we had paid extra for was a rusty old ship that was almost parked on our verandah - don't waste your money expecting to see any water views! The hotel decor is interesting and quirky but you can experience all of this on the ground floor as a restaurant visitor. Translucent bathroom walls partition the shower and toilet off the bedroom. We had the Sunday buffet breakfast. Although we arrived half an hour before finishing time, the buffet was not restocked. Therefore, I would recommend that you make a selection of ALL foods that you might like in the next hour. There were no cakes or pastries left and the fruit was very diminished - when I asked about this I was told the kitchen was closed and the staff had finished. Another recommendation is to ensure that Reception submits your name when booking the shuttle transport for the airport. We waited nearly an hour for this confusion to be sorted out ! We had stayed 3 nights at another small city centre boutique hotel for half the cost per night before our South Coast Tour so our expectations were very high for this "waterfront" location and "brand name" hotel. Unfortunately, they were not met. We had a wonderful 6 night stop over in Iceland though and these "issues" did not spoil our experience !

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on a double attic PLUS room if you are hoping for a water view as opposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear travelers,
thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing what we can do better! The attic rooms do display a nice view over the ocean and Mt. Esja, but of course you can see the slipway and the ships as well, we are truly sorry that you didn´t enjoy that. The slipway and the marina is what we like to link ourselves to, considering the location of the hotel by the old harbor.
We´re glad you enjoyed Iceland that much and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Marina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Sask.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

- Location.
Right on the Marina.
Whale watching tours half block away.
Bike Rental half block away.
At least a dozen great restaurants, including the Slipbarrin (which is located in the hotel), within walking distance.
Harpa (the concert facility) and downtown within a 10 minute walk.

- Rooms
This is a room that is of specific taste. Of all the hotels I’ve been to, I love this one the most.

Size - the rooms may be small for some
Clean and simple. You’d be hard-pressed to find a speck of dust.
View - we had the view of the Marina and shipyard. Some may not find the shipyard appealing but we actually quite liked it.
Quiet - Could not hear any noise coming internally from other rooms and/or hallways. Even with a band playing in the lobby on a Thursday evening, we didn’t hear them from our third floor room which was located immediately above the stage.
Bathroom - some may find this awkward. Two opaque doors that close at the corner. However, the doors don’t close all the way so you’ll have about a half inch opening. It doesn’t leave much privacy.
Closets and Drawers - everything is in the open, shelves replaces drawers and an open closet.

- Food
Breakfast Buffet (may or may not be complimentary, depending upon what you booked with the hotel). A great assortment of the Icelandic faire. You will get the best fish, breads, fruit, yogurt, Illy coffee, teas, juices, cereals, vegetables, cold cuts, salads, cheese and boiled eggs.
Canteen - available 24 hours. It has great selection of drinks, coffees, sandwiches, yogurt, chocolate bars, etc.
The Slipbarrin is a popular restaurant. On the weekends, the hotel sets up the lobby area as a bar. If you like a good time, this would be your place.

- WiFi
The hotel provides complimentary daily WiFi, you would have to do a quick signin everyday to receive this. The speed was excellent. I only had an issue on the last day. After I signed in, it kept asking me to sign in again even though it clearly showed that I had over 23 hours left.

- Staff
Friendly and helpful. We had originally booked a night at the Icelandair Hotel Herad in Egilsstadir. The last minute, we changed our minds and decided driving to the other side of the island was going to be too long. Unfortunately, our last minute decision was past the cancellation time. I asked the desk clerk if she could contact the hotel and see if they would be willing to make an exception and cancel the reservation for us since it was the same hotel chain. Within half hour I got the cancellation confirmation by email. This was a $270.00 saving for us.


I love the interior decor of the whole hotel. It had great character. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProsaicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trausti K, Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi ProsaicTraveller!
Thank you for your visit and incredible feedback. We are so happy you were here glad you liked your stay - and rate your room as your favorite! Thanks for taking the time to write and give us your amazing feedback, we really appreciate it.

Our best!
The staff of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing