We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring and overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur)

Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur)
Ranked #49 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in the former warehouses of the Port of Reykjavik, this museum features exhibitions from the Erró Collection, as well as from general collections.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
backpacksville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Boring and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

There are many great museums in Reykjavik. This museum in unfortunately not one of them. They used to have a free day each week...but no longer. I wouldn't visit even if it were free. The art seemed outdated and was utterly boring. I know they rotate art pieces so it might be different now but all the pieces my friend and I saw were no better than mediocre high school pieces. To be completely honest, even with my friend being ridiculously too high he didn't find anything remotely interesting. That is a bad sign when we were cold sober and blistering high yet both of us found the museum to be painfully boring. In fact, for a number of pieces, we didn't even realize they were art pieces..they were that bland and boring. Skip it go to the other art museum or the national history museum.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank couchfestfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    133
    82
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A nice suprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We are both not a big fan of modern art and we only visited this museum because it was raining and the National Gallery of Iceland was closed. However, it was a very nice suprise! We visited in September 2011 and a lot of the exhibition halls were closed but there were two exhbitions: Attersee – Dance in Shirt-Valley (that runs untill 6 November 2011) and Erró - Drawings (untill 26 August 2012). Espeacilly tha last was in impressive. This Icelandic postmodernist artist's style reminds of Roy Lichtenstein and other pop artists. The exposition didn't tell much about the artist's life but showed and incredible volume of his works.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three venues + number of exhibitions = Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

I went to Reykjavik Art Museum on Tryggvagata, called the Hafnarhus, and thought that was THE Reykjavik Art Museum, but soon fount out that the museum has THREE VENUES! Hafnarhus, Kjarvalsstadir and Asmundarsafn - all located in Reykjavik. The admission fee is 1.000 ISK, but the ticked works in all the venues on the same day - so it is very cheap per venue.

I would reccomend taking a bus between the venues if the weather is bad - but if it is sunny I would just take the time and walk between the three venues.

Hafnarhus has a collection of Erro works and students from Reykjavik Academy of the Arts were showing their final projects in other areas. Very impressive and very diverse. The house is the biggest of the three venues and has a cafeteria with a nice view over the ocean.

In Kjarvalsstadir you will always find works after beloved artist, Kjarval. When I walked in the staff was currently installing a new exhibition on horses in Icelandic Art. There will be a "kids corner" or some kind of "family fun" in connection with the exhibition. Around Kjarvalsstadir is a park that is nice for walking or just chilling.

In Asmundarsafn you will find a collection of sculpters, inside the musuem and in the garden as well. The sculptures are all made by Asmundur Sveinsson. I then walked up some stairs into a dark room. There was an exhibition refering to Louis Pasteur´s experiments.

I would say all would find something that suits their taste in at least one of the three venues. Anyways, I recommend checking whats on (exhibitions and events) on the museums official website: www.artmuseum.is

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ADeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“only if modern art is your thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

If you love modern art you might like this museum and the permanent Erro exhibit. We spent about an hour there and were entertained but would have loved to see more works. It is a pretty small museum and they charge 1000 kr. per person. Enlightening though!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank sunwineandpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent museum with great art works”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Reykjavik Art Museum offers great programs at its three venues: Hafnarhus (located at Tryggvagata 17), Kjarvalsstadir (located at Flokagata) and Asmundarsafn (located at Sigtun). The main venues are the first two but I would recommend you to visit Asmundarsafn as well, although you should be aware of the different opening hours. Hafnarhus and Kjarvalsstadir are open 10-17 all days, except on Thursdays when Hafnarhus doesn‘t close until 22. Asmundarsafn is alot smaller venue and is open at weekends. (For details you can visit the museums webpage: http://www.artmuseum.is)

Reykjavik Art Museum has a great collection of works by Icelandic artists like Asmund Sveinsson, Erró and Johannes S. Kjarval. I enjoyed their works very much, especially those by Erró. I got to see exhibitions by Gardar Eide, Mel Ramos and others as well. I found the museum visit excellent and it didn‘t even cost me a penny!

If you need to sit down, have a cup of coffee or something to eat you will find cafeterias in Hafnarhus and Kjarvalsstadir.

I ended my art expedition in Iceland by sailing to a small island called Viðey and enjoyed the amazing light from The Imagine Peace tower by Yoko Ono.

Results: Excellent museum with great art works.

Helpful?
5 Thank DavidPeterson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur) also viewed

 

Been to Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing