We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Not a top hotel but nice and clean. It's good for sightseeing if you have arranged day tours and they pick you up as the hotel is located a bit far from centre. Otherwise you get a decent quality for your money. Don't expect a great 3 star hotel but no major issues. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank herincsmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is a budget one, its clean and the people are respectful to your needs. I found it a bit out of the way, based in the office/industry area of Reykjavik. It cost between £10 and £15 for a taxi into town (approx 2.5 miles), its walk-able but it snowed for 2 days. The beer ranges between £5.50 - £7 for a pint !!!! a meal will set you back anything from £20 (Basic) to £60 (top nosh) for one !!!
This is no cheap place, so do not expect to have a good night out unless you break the bank (they are still recovering from their financial mess so you will help pay for that....again and again and again !!)
Besides that, there is so much to do and see here you may not have time to go out and get sloshed, better to enjoy the adventure and forget about food and beer !!!! :-(
If Iceland lost its tourism, it would go bust overnight as this is now the biggest revenue and employer, so it would make sense to lower the prices to encourage spend.

Room Tip: No tip, just check it out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank densholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Came on a package trip to Iceland with my 84 year old parents. We arrived after midnight and had to climb 2 flights of stairs with our luggage, my Dad fell over! The night person helped us but why put 2 elderly people upstairs and why has the hotel no lift! Very dirty on the way up stairs, room only really fitted out for 2 people - 2 sets of towels etc. No sheet on the extra bed, only mattress cover. Shower dripped all night and the floor was soaking even on arrival! Only 2 tea sachets, no milk nor coffee and some herbal teas. We shall be moving asap!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner booked a 5 night stay at this hotel for my birthday in February. The hotel itself is fine the facilities are adequate and the location is a 30 minute walk from the city centre. That said the room was not clean and we had to re-wash all kitchen utensils upon arrival, there was also a previous occupants hair over the shower and sink in the bathroom.

The problem however is not the building but the staff. Most of the receptionists acted like speaking to customers was a nuisance, we were constantly misinformed for example one staff member said there was no bar nearby when in fact there was one in the hotel, another gave us incorrect directions for buses and a third marked the hotels location on the map incorrectly. The real icing on the stay was when a £500 phone was stolen from our room. We left the hotel for the day on an excursion and upon our return we discovered a maid had been in the room (as the beds had been made etc) and the phone had been stolen. We alerted the staff who accused us of lying as there was no record of anyone having entered our room. Either the maid entered the room and did not record it or the hotel has such poor security that someone gained access to a keycard for our room, stole the phone and then made the beds so we would suspect the maid. Which seems more logical? 3 days later and we are still waiting for an official comment from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lexiathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed with the surroundings & exterior appearance of this 'hotel' when we arrived. However the room we were allocated was in a separate building out the door and to the left. Inside was clean & modern. The rooms were simply furnished in a Scandinavian style. The continental buffet breakfast was good. The staff were friendly & very helpful.

The position whilst not good for local cafes or shops to get food after 4ish (we only found one Dominoes Pizza & a Harkup supermarket) was good for walks to both the coastal areas.

The bags of clean or dirty room linen were left on the landings which gave it a scruffy appearance & the rooms are beginning to need a bit of extra maintenance & the pillows were dire but we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the comfort vik. We have stayed in much better 3star hotels and question its rating. Firstly our package trip had been booked for months, so I had questions for the hotel proir to arrival. They dont reply to emails with two simple questions. Arrived late and receptionist was not welcoming at all. Told were in building 2. Very pleasantly surprised at room size and heating. That's it's only plus points. 45min walk to downtown or 5 min walk to local bus stop. No coffee, sugar or milk supplied with kettle. 2x fruit tea or 2x breakfast tea. Basics for an alleged 3star. Wouldn't recommend to friends or family as found much better. near town centre.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We arrived late in the evening of January the 28th for a four-night stay at the Hotel (Vik) Arctic Comfort in Reykjavik. We were welcomed by a very kind and helpful (Brazilian) receptionist. The comfort room in which we stayed in the building next to the hotel was better than we expected. Spacious, comfortable, warm and quiet as there were few guests in this midwinter season. The bathroom was modern and the shower very good. The sulphide smell of the warm geothermal water coming out of the tap added to our positive impression of the particularities of Iceland. You get used to it quite quickly.
We also appreciated the possibility of being able to make our own tea and coffee with a good quality water boiler in our room. One evening the snowfall didn’t make us feel going to look for a faraway restaurant on slippery icy pavements so the piping hot boiler water was perfect for making two DIY noodle meals in our room.
The breakfast was attractive with much to choose from. We got some explanation about how the Icelanders have their breakfast and that we should also try it. It consists of a very thick slice of black rye-bread with herring and slices of hard boiled egg. I tried it and found it delicious and took it again the next mornings.
The receptionist gave us a lot of information and was helpful with trips, buses, etc. At the hotel you can buy 1, 2 or 3 day tickets for all the Reykjavik buses (800 ISK for 1 day) which is a very good deal as there isn't much to visit in the immediate vicinity, apart from the Kringlan Shopping Mall (25 to 30 minutes on icy pavements in winter). Walking costs too much time if you only have a few days. We managed well on the buses and also visited other parts of the very extended city by just taking a bus line to its furthest point.

Room Tip: Ask for a comfort room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G6662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,134 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
551 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
296 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort

Address: Sidumuli 19, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £81 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Arctic Comfort Reykjavík
Vik Arctic Comfort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing