We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beds, spacious rooms, friendlier staff required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here after a long overnight flight and no sleep. The staff had very little sympathy and were generally not friendly. The room was very spacious and the beds were sooo comfy after our flight. Bathroom was clean and overall the hotel was fine. Nothing special and in need of a bit of brightening up but definitely did the job while we were there. Next time, I'll probably avoid Reykjavik and just stay in Keflavick after a long flight.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jlq86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly service and good sized room with an unusual layout
Twin beds and double bunk plus full size fridge and a microwave plus electric hob
Big enough for a small family to go self catering!!!
Long walk to town - 40 mins- but there is a frequent inexpensive bus service

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polytechnic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed here in January. The hotel has rooms spread across 2 buildings, which are across the road from each other. One of these has the hotel reception and bar/restaurant, and the other building, which we stayed in, just has rooms. The rooms we stayed in were clean and had good facilities. It was also very quiet at night.

The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk to Reykjavic. Although the roads can be icy, we found the walk wasn't too much of a problem. There aren't many facilities near the hotel, so you will need to go into Reykjavic for most things. However, if you will be going on day trips booked through tour companies, you will always be picked up and dropped off at the hotel, so we found the location wasn't an issue for us.

For a budget hotel, we were very happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoegnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in February with a Groupon deal. Hotel is clean, quiet and warm which is what you need in Iceland! Teas & coffees weren't replaced the 5 days we were though but maids were good with clean towels. Hotel isn't near the centre but it's a quick walk to the bus stop opposite the Hilton hotel. Bus passes can be brought for your stay at the bus station which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found our room was not prepared, the staff were rather unfriendly and the hotel was very tired and looked like it hasn't been refurbished since the 1970's. Finally, the location isn't ideal for visiting the city. So we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kz6yx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really quite big. Lovely big windows going all along one wall (not there was much of a view unfortunately) comfy beds and not far from the town. Would recommend especially as it is one of the few non expensive places to stay in Reykjavik.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mullen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Me & my friend decided to take a trip to reykjavik for a short break, we booked this hotel via groupon! When we arrived it was in a industrial estate fair enough, we checked in at reception & Jesus Christ the blonde lady couldn't of been more rude, she was meant to show us our room but left us at the bottom of the stairs on the other side of the building! We got into our room, it was clean I couldn't of been more pleased and the beds was comfy, towels we're clean! Later on that evening after our nap we needed to know when & where our trip to blue lagoon was so we went to ask the blonde lady at reception again, she told us she didn't know anything so we asked her to check she just rolled her eyes at us asif we were a nuisance so my friend told her how it was and she changed her tone & told us to come back later and find out what she could find out! We decided to go out for a meal in the city so we caught the bus no problem a number 14, on the way home we caught a 12 it was an absolute disaster all the bus drivers were in a hurry to finish work at 11.30pm so we just got dumped in the middle of nowhere it took us 4hrs to find our hotel again because all the buildings look the same so if your staying here & decide to catch the bus remember to catch a number 2, 14, 15 & 17 there & back!! Other than that we enjoyed iceland but I don't be back in a hurry.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Heartsndkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,135 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
393 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
552 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#22 of 54 in Reykjavik
298 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort

Address: Sidumuli 19, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £83 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Arctic Comfort Reykjavík
Vik Arctic Comfort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing