We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very reasonable hotel, terrible late night reception” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very reasonable hotel, terrible late night reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel early January this year, and overall our experience was very positive. The staff were helpful and friendly for the most part and our double ensuite room itself was excellent - very comfortable and not too basic given the reasonable price. What was particularly useful was that we were able to adjust the heating as we needed to, which meant that we were never cold despite the freezing temperatures of Icelandic January. The tap water was drinkable, although it smelled a little sulphuric (but we were told that was the case with all Icelandic water) and the hotel itself was not as far out as we expected it to be from the other reviews. It was a quick walk to a large shopping mall and the taxi into town wasn't too pricey. I seem to remember there was also a bus into Reykjavik too, but we never had chance to take it. Iceland itself however is expensive (about double the price of everything in London).

We did however have problems with the nighttime reception. We arrived in Reykjavik fairly late at night (about 1 am) and despite the hotel advertising a 24 hour reception, when we got to the door, there was no one at reception to meet us. Another guest was having similar issues and was trying to call the hotel so that we could all access our rooms. It took at least half an hour for the hotel staff to wake up and when they eventually did, they were not exactly polite in spite of our difficulties.

This was not our only problem - we had another late night flight booked when we were leaving Reykjavik. The hotel had asked us to leave the keys on the reception desk, so it shouldn't have been a problem that there was no one working at reception. However, my travel companion accidentally managed to lock her suitcase and the room keys in the room. It was 4 in the morning and our shuttle bus was about to arrive, so this was evidently a bit of a crisis. We tried for well over an hour to get the attention of the hotel staff, we were making a lot of noise and had called the emergency phone number upwards of 20 times with no response. Obviously the initial mistake was ours, but the negligence of the hotel caused us a lot of hassle and my travel companion actually had to get a different flight in the end, because nobody in the hotel was available until 7 am, which isn't really good enough given the fact that they advertise a 24 hour reception. It was a shame because otherwise the hotel was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ecarts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    217
    163
    45
    19
See reviews for
92
241
36
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We chosen this hotel for its comfort and price - very good prive/value. You need to have a car to get there and around. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. Room vas clean and whole area is very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thajek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a decision: stay close to downtown for higher fee, or further out for lower rate but would need a car. As we wanted to drive to the Snaefellsnesvegur peninsula and needed a car, we opted for outskirts of the capital.
All hotels we investigated seemed to feature a Scandinavian feel. They all looked similar on the internet. We got a terrific deal at Arctic Comfort by coming in September. The hotel is squeaky clean, impeccable. Good explanation of room choices. Staff was competent in English. Breakfast was terrific, many bread, cheese, sliced meat, fruit, and yogurt choices.
There is nothing delightful or quaint about the neighborhood, but plenty of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trout Creek, Montana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our room was tiny--about the size of a cruise ship stateroom. But it was clean. There wasn´t room to put a suitcase anywhere, and the bathroom provided no privacy whatsoever. It was also stuffy, but this was in the summer. That said, our compliments go to the blonde gal behind the counter for being so helpful. Mind you, she was not warm and friendly--in fact, we found few people in the city who were, so I guess this is the way many Icelanders are with strangers. However, she actually gave us a ride in her own car to a shopping mall nearby. She also helped us when we messed up our bus reservations to the Blue Lagoon. So, despite the stoic reception of the staff there, and despite the plainness of the hotel, we were happy with our stay and the prices. The breakfast was a VERY nice added bonus. Also, we had been led to believe by reviews that this was in some sort of industrial complex, and that isn´t true. It is in a commercial area, with shopping centers and the Hilton restaurant within a short walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for as large a room as you can get for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a budget hotel, located on an industrial estate / street some 3.4 kms from the centre of Reykjavik. The centre can be accessed by walking within 40 minutes or by a regular bus service which operates in a nearby main road.

The hotels location has the advantage that there is free parking immediately outside of the hotel. The street is very quiet in the evening, throughout the night and especially at the weekends - so it is a very good location if you seek a quiet nights sleep. The rooms are large and perfectly adequate. They are clean but not spotless. The shower provides copious hot water and the towels are changed every day.
Try to buy a deal which includes breakfast, otherwise there is a fee of 1,500 kronur (£7.50) to pay extra. The breakfast is very good offering a wide selection of food. Including cereal, waffle, bread, toast, butter, jam, marmalade, cheese, ham, tomato, boiled egg, sild (herring), rye bread and some fresh fruit. Orange juice and tea or coffee.
The desk staff are excellent and helpful. The Greek or Polish "chambermaids" are cheerful and also helpful.
Although located in a "remote" area there is a supermarket (Haukaup) within 10 to 12 mins walking distance. There is also a selection of restaurants within 12 to 15 mins walking distance.

Room Tip: There are rooms of different standard. The cheapest rooms are perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nothing to complain about ...
... But nothing to write home about either.

Very average. Clean and comfortable. Reasonable size rooms for a city hotel. Not downtown, best if you have hired a car. Parking right outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after a long overnight flight and no sleep. The staff had very little sympathy and were generally not friendly. The room was very spacious and the beds were sooo comfy after our flight. Bathroom was clean and overall the hotel was fine. Nothing special and in need of a bit of brightening up but definitely did the job while we were there. Next time, I'll probably avoid Reykjavik and just stay in Keflavick after a long flight.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jlq86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#49 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#46 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort

Property: Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Address: Sidumuli 19, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Arctic Comfort Reykjavík
Vik Arctic Comfort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing