We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb apartments”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment and were delighted with our accommodation. The room was immaculately clean and well furnished. The location was great for exploring the city and getting picked up for tours. It was handy to pop back in for a coffee or lunch whilst we were in the city and the cooking facilities saved us a lot of cash we would otherwise have spent on meals. We found this to be a great choice for our stay in the city and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    114
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
130
193
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our apartment was very nice. It was clean, well decorated, roomy, basically everything we could have wanted. The only drawback is that, as other reviewers noted, it is quite noisy. And not just from outside noise. We could hear the person walking around upstairs at all hours (4:00 a.m. on a Sunday night). We could hear other guests as they came up the stairs and through the hallway. We could hear everything as if it was in our room. I don't think that there's anything Rey can do about this. Literally everything else about our stay was great. Just be aware that it will be noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family of four spent our first night in Iceland at the Rey Apartments Hotel. Everything was clean, new, and in good working order. The furniture was simple and functional; comfortable, but not fancy. One of the kids remarked that it was like staying in an IKEA showroom.

We rented a second-floor apartment with a kitchen and en suite bath which was more than sufficient for our brief stay. The apartment was equipped with heavy curtains, which we found very helpful when it came time to sleep - jet lag and late-night sunshine are a deadly combination!

The neighborhood is at the outer edge of a quiet residential block not far from the Hallgrímskirkja church, one of the tallest buildings in Reykjavik and an easy landmark to spot if you're on foot. The apartments are close to the city center and most of the major sights are all within easy walking distance. There's ample nearby parking if you've rented a vehicle.

It's not a luxury hotel, but it doesn't pretend to be - and you don't pay the premium you'd have to pay if it was. This is a good place to use as a base for your exploration of Reykjavik. We'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room gets a bit of traffic noise. Avoid it if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher_Mathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked a apartment for 6 persons for the 4 of us.
Rey apartments are well decorated, very convenient and the location could not be better. Close to the shoppingstreet, supermarket and restaurants, but far enough not be be disturbed by the music and loud pary people in the weekends.
We loved this apartment, felt really home.Everything is there to make your own breakfast and other meals. We never did because eating out in Reykjavik is superb! ,
Every 2 days the apartment will be cleaned including bedlinnen and towels.
Staff was really nice when we checked in.
We had a wonderful time and hope to come back!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so walking up 2 stairs with a heavy suitcase is a bit inconvinient. It is clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid August 2013 for 2 nights. We were given the 2 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor of the "new" building right next to the Grettisgata 2a location.
The pros: the unit was a renovated apartment with nicely preserved old details like flooring and doors. The furnishings were modern and new. The location is very convenient to all Reykjavik sites.
The cons: as mentioned in other reviews, the walls/ceilings/floors in this building seem very thin. The noise from the apartment above was very noticeable - it seemed like there was only one person upstairs but just hearing him (or her?) walk around at 6am woke both of us up. We have specifically asked about the noise from apartment above during check-in and were assured that this would not be an issue. The street noise was also quite noticeable. There was no daily maid service as mentioned in other reviews although that was not an issue during our brief stay. We would not be able to rate the service at this hotel otherwise, the only person we interacted with was the person who checked us in who left no impression and offered no assistance of any kind. The furnishings were very basic with virtually no decorations or any other attempt to give the place character. Given the price range for this place, we expected more. Parking is also an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PZtravelsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanIn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We were met by one of the owners who let us into the building, and showed us our very comfortable, well furnished and very well maintained studio apartment style room.

We really appreciated how much privacy we had during our stay, even though we had daily maid service etc. We felt like we could've been in our own home.

I'd really happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here one night in a 3 bedroom apartment and it came equipped with a functional kitchen. I really like how the apartment is furnished - modern yet cozy. It was very clean too and plenty of towels were provided. The only downside was that for a 3 bedroom apartment, there was only 1 shower. Other than that, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palliechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,001 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
560 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Property: Rey Apartments Hotel
Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing