We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location and design”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very good one!
At the very heart of the town.
The apartment was very nice and good value for money.
Excellent restaurants are very close, as well as the Cathedral and other attractions.

There is no reception, but someone (owner?) comes quickly when ringing the doorbell.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VB1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    112
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
126
191
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

the apartments are extremely clean, bright and spacious (even the studio flats). Fully furbished and always warm (which is a great thing after a day out in Iceland!), they are located just one block away from the high street and 10 minutes walk from the old harbor. Perfect to explore and get the most out of Reykjavik. The staff is friendly and helpful, even if they are not at the reception, you just press a butt and the person on duty gets a phone call, promptly showing up to assist you.
should you wish to take an excursion, most companies come and pick you up at the front door, all you have to do is make sure you get out of bed on time.
I would definitely recommend it for those who wish to enjoy a holiday at their own pace, without being linked to hotel timetables.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fedfede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in a comfortable, spotless, and spacious studio apartment for 5 nights in August 2013. We loved how centrally located we were in Reykjavik's old town, just one street away from the hubbub of the high street. Perfect for a home base to explore!

Comfortable beds, and loved that there was a sofa and dining area to relax on.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

p.s. Didn't have the noise problem other reviewers mentioned... think it depends on your luck, if your "neighbours" for that period happen to be considerate or not. We lucked out and weren't affected. Yes you can hear conversations in the hallway (there are 3-4 rooms per floor) but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeezeetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the apartments, great location, spacious, and gave you the feel of being part of the town. We lucked out on utilizing the parking they had available as it can be difficult otherwise. It was nice to come and go from the downtown area, close to the water and our room had a nice view. Nice to have a kitchen area and not feel cramped.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious so can accommodate numerous people, great opportunity for eating a meal in or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment and were delighted with our accommodation. The room was immaculately clean and well furnished. The location was great for exploring the city and getting picked up for tours. It was handy to pop back in for a coffee or lunch whilst we were in the city and the cooking facilities saved us a lot of cash we would otherwise have spent on meals. We found this to be a great choice for our stay in the city and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our apartment was very nice. It was clean, well decorated, roomy, basically everything we could have wanted. The only drawback is that, as other reviewers noted, it is quite noisy. And not just from outside noise. We could hear the person walking around upstairs at all hours (4:00 a.m. on a Sunday night). We could hear other guests as they came up the stairs and through the hallway. We could hear everything as if it was in our room. I don't think that there's anything Rey can do about this. Literally everything else about our stay was great. Just be aware that it will be noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family of four spent our first night in Iceland at the Rey Apartments Hotel. Everything was clean, new, and in good working order. The furniture was simple and functional; comfortable, but not fancy. One of the kids remarked that it was like staying in an IKEA showroom.

We rented a second-floor apartment with a kitchen and en suite bath which was more than sufficient for our brief stay. The apartment was equipped with heavy curtains, which we found very helpful when it came time to sleep - jet lag and late-night sunshine are a deadly combination!

The neighborhood is at the outer edge of a quiet residential block not far from the Hallgrímskirkja church, one of the tallest buildings in Reykjavik and an easy landmark to spot if you're on foot. The apartments are close to the city center and most of the major sights are all within easy walking distance. There's ample nearby parking if you've rented a vehicle.

It's not a luxury hotel, but it doesn't pretend to be - and you don't pay the premium you'd have to pay if it was. This is a good place to use as a base for your exploration of Reykjavik. We'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room gets a bit of traffic noise. Avoid it if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher_Mathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Property: Rey Apartments Hotel
Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing