We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of city center of Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In the middle of city center of Reykjavik”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Due to travelling with wife and 3 kids, it was decided to try out an apartment in Reykjavik.
Arrived very early in the morning, an called a given phone number to ask if we could store some luggage there until check-in time @ 14:00.
The man who met us was very helpful, and even swapped around on his rentals, so we where given access to a vacant apartment at 08:00 in the morning.

This proved to be a quite nice apartment on the 1. floor with 2 bedrooms, 1 bath with shower, a kitchen and a living room. in total it could sleep 6 adults.

Location was just one block from the main street in Reykjavik, and it was a grocery store just two blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlRol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    113
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
131
195
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed one Saturday night in early October. Rey fit the bill for location, price, free wi-fi and cleanliness. Communication by email prior to arrival was excellent and Peter, who checked me in was very pleasant (and cute!). I arrived just after 6 p.m. and had to ring the door bell to be let in and checked in. The apartment was quite large with a well-equipped kitchen for longer staying patrons who wish to eat in or prep some of their meals. The location is great, with several restaurants and shopping located off Laugavegur and within walking distance to the Cathedral and the Tjörnin pond. Being in a central location also meant the passing cars on Klapparstigur is noticeable (I was on the ground floor), however, I did not mind much as after a full day of touring and hunting for the Northern Lights I soon fell asleep. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kreuz_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wanting privacy and access to the city and knowing the hotels were outrageously priced, we found this place and reserved it online. Our checkin was a little baffling, as the entrance was not very obvious and check in time was not well observed. We showed up 20 minutes after checkin time and had to sit in the lobby for half an hour waiting for the young man who worked there to prepare our room. But once inside,this was an ideal place for us. We had a studio with a little kitchen, view over a really nice neighborhood in downtown Reykjavik, free wifi and the perfect feel of living right in the middle of everything. The apartment was furnished very cute in a modern Ikea style, they had soaps for us to use in the bathroom, and everything was very clean. Someone even came and made our bed every day. Pots and pans and a hot plate in the kitchen. We were only lacking for coffee beans to use in the coffee machine.

From here we had access to everything and it made our jetlagged schedule much more fun and easy. We got to do a lot of walking around the city and learned how easy everything is to find there. Got to feed ourselves, stopping by the shopping marts and bakeries, which are a must. The apartment was warm and cozy, and we had a private entrance from the lobby and good privacy in our wing of the building from other apartments. There was a large map of Iceland off the private entrance and the whole building was well managed. I loved it.

Room Tip: Chose a 1 bdr minimum if sharing with friends. The studio would have been too cramped. The click-c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very good one!
At the very heart of the town.
The apartment was very nice and good value for money.
Excellent restaurants are very close, as well as the Cathedral and other attractions.

There is no reception, but someone (owner?) comes quickly when ringing the doorbell.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VB1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

the apartments are extremely clean, bright and spacious (even the studio flats). Fully furbished and always warm (which is a great thing after a day out in Iceland!), they are located just one block away from the high street and 10 minutes walk from the old harbor. Perfect to explore and get the most out of Reykjavik. The staff is friendly and helpful, even if they are not at the reception, you just press a butt and the person on duty gets a phone call, promptly showing up to assist you.
should you wish to take an excursion, most companies come and pick you up at the front door, all you have to do is make sure you get out of bed on time.
I would definitely recommend it for those who wish to enjoy a holiday at their own pace, without being linked to hotel timetables.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fedfede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in a comfortable, spotless, and spacious studio apartment for 5 nights in August 2013. We loved how centrally located we were in Reykjavik's old town, just one street away from the hubbub of the high street. Perfect for a home base to explore!

Comfortable beds, and loved that there was a sofa and dining area to relax on.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

p.s. Didn't have the noise problem other reviewers mentioned... think it depends on your luck, if your "neighbours" for that period happen to be considerate or not. We lucked out and weren't affected. Yes you can hear conversations in the hallway (there are 3-4 rooms per floor) but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeezeetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the apartments, great location, spacious, and gave you the feel of being part of the town. We lucked out on utilizing the parking they had available as it can be difficult otherwise. It was nice to come and go from the downtown area, close to the water and our room had a nice view. Nice to have a kitchen area and not feel cramped.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious so can accommodate numerous people, great opportunity for eating a meal in or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Property: Rey Apartments Hotel
Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing