We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartments”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in these apartments for 5 nights. They were clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. We (2 adults) had a large studio apartment and there was plenty of space, did not feel at all cramped. The bathroom was new and clean with an amazing shower! The location is fantastic, centrally located and easy walking distance to most attractions, just 2 minutes walk from the high street. The reception area is bright and welcoming and great for waiting for tour pick ups. Staff were friendly and helpful on the couple of occasions we needed to speak to them. Having read previous reviews we requested a room away from the main road and not on the ground floor which we were given (apartment 206), and it was quiet with no disturbance. Having said that the roads did not seem that noisy when we were outside. Would definitely recommend the apartments and would stay again if we return to Reykjavik.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckling83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    109
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
122
186
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We (2 adults and a 11 / 9 year old) stayed in a modern/ clean 2 room apartment on the 1st floor. There was a double and 2 singles in the bedroom and a separate kitchen/ seating area. The location is incredibly central and the apartments offer good value for money. We had no issues checking in and found the lobby area useful when we were waiting to be picked up for trips. There were lots of restaurants close by for dinner and a particularly good bakery 5 minutes round the corner on the main street.

Our only issue was that the room was noisy at night, from people/ cars etc, as we were in the centre of the town. On this basis we would recommend requesting a room on a higher floor.

We also did a Reyjakavik Excursions Northern Light tour. We were picked up by minibus directly from Rey Apartments and transferred to the bus station to get on the big bus. This worked fine but on the way back when the big bus drops directly at individual hotels it is too big to get up the small lanes to Rey. On the 1st night we were taken back to the bus station and then got a smaller bus to Rey... it made it an even later night. The next time we learnt to get off the big bus near the main street and walk the last 5 minutes to Rey apartments... definitely gets you back to bed earlier!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashgill, Scotland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights.

The apartments are in the heart of the city just yards away from the main shopping street. A cash machine, restaurants and bars are within 2 minutes walk, the nearest supermarket is 5 minutes walk.

We were on the 3rd floor which was fine but not good if you cannot carry cases up stairs as there is no lift.

The first bedroom had 2 single beds and the second bedroom had 1 double bed and 2 single beds. The beds were very comfortable so a good nights sleep should be guaranteed.

Washing up liquid, cloths and shower gel were all provided which was a bonus for a self catering apartment.

The only small hassle is that there is not a permanent reception, so you have to use an intercom and you may need to wait a few minutes should you need onsite assistance.

The apartments were very clean, modern and warm and we would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in a one bed ground floor apartment here,
before heading out to the south coast.
Great location, close to good restaurants and was easy to find with sat nav, parked close by without charge.
Greeted promptly when ringing bell on arrival and phone in lobby is free to book excursions etc.
Minor criticism is that there are no coat hooks anywhere, which sounds trivial but to me is a basic feature in a cold country ! :-) hint ?
Apart from that, no complaints. Good value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank robbie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraainem, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were looking for somewhere central for us all to stay (2 adults + 1 teen + 1 child) and this was the first thing suggested by booking.com. Couldn't believe how nice it looked, but the reviews were great so we booked. Good decision! The apartments are in the middle of the city, a fantastic location, they are really clean, comfortable and simply nice. We had the larger one-bedroom apartment, and it fit the four of us plus my grown-up daughter who we were visiting and decided to sleep with us - they put an extra bed in for us and it was fine. So - it comes highly recommended if you are a family who want a break in the city center!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We are at the end of a five day stay here. We arrived at 1am and were promptly met and shown to our room. We were lucky enough to use one of the apartment's parking spaces during our stay. The apartment is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. We are very impressed. The location is brilliant, just off the main shopping street and within walking distance to many local attractions. We thoroughly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursula068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The appartment we had was nice and clean. It's very well located, in the center of the city, near the bars, restaurants... However, it's a bit noisy ( neighbours upstairs and people in the street during the week-end). The bed was very confortable!

Room Tip: You should choose a room not on the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genny7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Property: Rey Apartments Hotel
Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing