We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the beautiful top floor apartment which was warm, clean, comfortable and fully equipped with everything you could wish for in terms of a relaxing self-catering holiday. We had all facilities eg dishwasher with dishwasher tablets, coffee machine with coffee and tea, towels, robes, wifi, cable tv, etc. The location is outstanding - very close to shops, main sights and a supermarket and bakery within a 5 minute walk. The owners are friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Iceland! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We travelled in January so no problem with noise. The top floor flat had stunning views so would rec...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42_JJ_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Rey Apartments Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rey apartments for 4 nights in January.

The apartment itself was very clean, spacious & comfortable. The location is excellent BUT it had very poor insulation & we had terrible nights sleep. Noise from the street - car noise, rowdy people, noise from upstairs - creaky floorboards, very loud talking & laughing until very late at night.

If it were better insulated & not so noisy it would get a better rating. If you are a light sleep this is awful!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mish02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Rey apartments for 5 nights. People that work there were very friendly and helpful and the studio itself was clean, spacious and well equipped to make our stay comfortable. The central location is great - close to the restaurants, main attractions and the bus terminal are all within a walkable distance. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GelenaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On the first night of our stay we were left a note by a resident (I think permanent) of the flat above to say they were having a party and to expect some noise. Despite a good few glasses of wine and ear plugs we were kept awake during the early hours by music, shouting, constant traipsing up and down the v creaky stair case and doors slamming etc.... The noise did improve but there is a male resident of one of the ajoining flats who loves nothing more than an early morning sing song (Adele tunes mainly) which was amusing at first but became annoying. There is no sound proofing at all so even fairly moderate levels of noise can be heard from other apartments (quiet conversations, TV etc).

On a positive note the apartment is well kitted out (although couldn't get the DVD player to work and 4 fairly rubbish English channels only), the wifi is fast and reliable and the kitchen has everything you'd expect- even had some decent coffee and a coffee maker available. Shower is hot and powerful, beds v comfortable. Lots of towels and extra duvets available. In summer the rooms wouldn't be protected enough from sun light in the morning for a lie in but fine for us in January. No clothes storage available.

The city is lovely- v relaxed and full of cosy cafes with tasty coffees and cakes. The bars and pubs are friendly- bit expensive but generally have a happy hour between 5-7pm. Definitely check out the public swimming pool and spa (the one with the slide which costs about £3 each to get in) was the highlight of the trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonlass30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

stayed here when all domestic flights were cancelled and I needed a place to stay in a hurry. After a fast online booking, I got an upgrade to an apartment that's designed to sleep four people (apartment 203). Given that I had to work and didn't want to dine out, this place worked great for my overnight. I used the dishes in the kitchen for a takeout dinner from the nearby Indian restaurant (Hraðlestinn) and then breakfast from the delicious Sandholt Bakery, and had plenty of space to work in the kitchen/living area in the morning.

pros:
-excellent location for access to all the shops and attractions of Reykjavik
-very clean
-kitchen is well stocked with basic tools and dishes
-extremely comfortable beds
-huge windows & high ceilings make the place feel very airy and bright, even in the depths of January. For a group sharing the apartment there's plenty of room for everyone to be together but not on top of each other.
-classic Reykjavik town views from the windows
-free wifi

cons:
-street outside is rather noisy, especially in winter with the nail tires. It's also easy to hear people going up and down the stairs, or vacuuming the halls. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
-I missed a bathmat in the bathroom. With the open-plan shower, it was easy to get water all over the floor.
-the sink drain didn't quite function properly, and without a front desk it's hard to report such a fault.
-The artwork was rather generic. For a tourist I can imagine wanting something that feels a bit more "icelandy". None of the pictures on the wall had anything to do with Iceland.
-there's not much in the way of staples left behind in the cupboards, so if you're only staying one night, that means takeout for everything or a breakfast of instant coffee with no milk. It's not a HUGE problem given that Laugavegur is right around the corner and there are about 10 coffee shops within a block though.

I'd recommend this place for a traveler who wanted to "live like a local", but not for a light sleeper. Overall, I'm glad to see the branching-out of such offerings for overnights in Reykjavik though. As a regular traveler through my old hometown, I'm enjoying sampling the variety.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights last week. We were able to check in early, the girl was very helpful and our studio was lovely, well equipped, clean and warm. The apartments are in a fantastic location and I'm so pleased we booked there, I felt the price was more than reasonable and will definitely recommend to friends.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a one bedroomed apartment. The location was central Reykjavik. Kitchen/dining facilities were excellent for a short city break. Longer stays might require a dishwasher/washing machine. All rooms were very clean and well equipped. Large double bed was very comfortable. Traffic noise could be heard but this should be expected in such a central location and since we were out most of the nights looking for the Northern Lights this wasn't really a problem.
Rey apartments is located very close to many city centre attractions, shops, bars, restaurants.
Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £156 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing