We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This apartment hotel has GREAT rooms. The units are updated and very clean and well appointed. You get a lot of space for the price compared to the traditional hotels in Reykjavik and the location is very convenient. As is the case in the central area of Reykjavik in the summer, the street noise is significant all night. They provide private parking which is absolutely necessary if you have a rental car as there is nowhere to park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheworld03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Rey Apartments Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Love the location. Very near all the amenities and restaurants. No lift though, so got to bring all luggage up by stairs, not for the faint hearted. Roadside parking free after 6pm. Our previous apartment has dedicated parking ground so felt more secure.

The apartment interior was better than our previous one. Spacious and with many beds. Only drawback was some beds in the top floor apartment has beds below the roof so be careful when you wake up. If your head hit the ceiling above, you might be in for a nasty painful shock. Overall very satisfied with the apartment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollyshandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Recently stayed in the large 3 bedroomed apartment on third floor
Very nice interior although the twin room was very compact with virtually no storage space
Kitchen facilities very good with everything we required including dishwasher
As others have mentioned there are no lifts in the apartments, so it is difficult getting large suitcases up the small winding staircase at the top.
Good wifi
Large bathroom with nice shower and second toilet . Really if 8 people used the apartment a second shower rather than toilet would be more useful
Apartment in excellent position a couple of minutes from main high street and numerous bars and cafés , close to supermarket also.
We did not hear any street noise but maybe that was because we were high up . Beds were very comfortable with lovely white crisp linen
We did however hear noise from the apartment next to us ( walls must be quite thin as it was loud )
We were lucky enough on our last night to see fantastic northern lights from our bedroom windows. We had seen them earlier in the week on a tour but they were not as spectacular.
I would definitely recommend these lovely clean apartments.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank debs2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We decided to stay in Rey apartments during our visit to Iceland as a family of 5. I don't remember feeling this comfortable anywhere before. The prices are really good especially for big families like us. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It's rally hard to find a place to park your car in city centre but Rey Apartments have two parking lots reserved for the residents and you can walk to everywhere because it's really close to shopping streets and museums. Beds were clean and comfortable and there's everything you can need in kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sezen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from 4 nights in Reykjavik. We had a three bedroom apartment and thought it was fantastic. Clean and shiny, with a lovely hot water shower and very very comfortable beds Excellent value for money. Location is excellent, having seen where other hotels e.g the Hilton are located on the way back from trips out. Very spacious and cleaned every other day. Walking distance to good restaurants, shops and a bakery. The only reason I have had to give this 4 stars instead of 5 is the noise. The first night we were woken up by people above us seemingly throwing their suitcases around the room at 3am, and opening every single drawer possible and slamming it shut again, stamping around with high heels on, on the wooden floors. The second night wasn't so bad, but again the third night the elephants above us were stamping around and slamming doors shut exceptionally early. Having just drifted off, we were awoken by banging and crashing out the back of the apartments (building work I think), and then the bin lorries on the road! Not sure what the apartments can do about this, other than asking guests to try and be quiet (or perhaps putting some carpets or rugs down) or maybe some double glazing. This was the only downside of the apartments however, but it would make me think twice about staying there again, as the holiday was so busy and active we really needed to sleep well. The staff however were great, really helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Tip for the Northern Lights - book a private tour with IceLimo instead of the usual £27 bus trip. We did a day trip with them which was absolutely fantastic to the South Shore and well worth the money, but we did have to ask him to rush back as we were booked on the Lights trip that evening at 7.30 with isango. He couldn't understand why we were being picked up so early as he was running the same trip, but a group of 4, leaving at 9pm. Neither could we later on, as when we arrived at 8.45 at the location, the guide said 'don't expect to see anything for the first hour'! So why pick up so early, and not an hour later then? Hm, I suspect it was to get us all in the gift shop / café....... This was rammed with bus loads of people, very hot and a massive queue. Other option was to sit/stand outside in sub zero temps for an hour, or sit on the bus, where they wouldn't allow us to have hot drinks. If I was doing it again, I would pay the extra and go on the private tour. Other than that, a great holiday, and a good stay at the Rey Apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The location was excellent, the room spotless and fully furnished, and terrific value. In terms of a self-catering studio, Rey apartments were a delightful surprise. Someone was on hand to greet us and show us the ropes and there was a ready telephone in the lobby if we needed any assistance. In easy walking distance of the main shopping streets and city center. Whole heartedly recommend the apartments.

Room Tip: We were two single women so took the studio and asked them to make up the sofa bed, which they happi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

These apartments made my husband and I feel at home and not in a stuffy hotel room. Full kitchen, nice bathrooms, perfect location. We had no need to drive around Reykjavik as everything was walking distance away. The price is incredibly fair and polite staff assisted us with our needs. We stayed here our first and last nights in Iceland.

Room Tip: Usually check in is around 1pm - The apartment complex only has 2 available parking spaces for trave...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £157 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing