We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The apartment was extremely well located to both attractions and good food! The apartment was well maintained and super comfortable as well :) only problem was that some construction was gg on and it started pretty early in the morning :( other than that, it is a great place :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chuangdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

We rented the penthouse apartment in the city centre and did not regret it for a moment
Clean, comfortable and good value for money.
The owners were thoughtful by providing eg enough loo paper for the whole of our stay
The only downsides were
the spiral staircase to the top level but saying that the owner carried our suitcases up and down again
and
this is a flat built into the roof. There are sloping ceilings in 2 bedrooms and the sitting area which could be a challenge to those over a certain height n
I would certainly recommend to others

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in Rey Apartments for an entire week in February. Everything was extremely clean, attractive, and no one bothered us (we didn't hear noises from other apartments as other reviewers mentioned). The central location is phenomenal and allowed us to explore Reykjavik on foot at all hours; the flybus that took us to and from the airport (this can be arranged at the main tourist office in the centre of town-you'll see it) picked us up at our door. I do wish Rey had a daily maid service...we were given clean towels only once or twice in our seven day stay. No biggie, just something that would have given the place an extra star. Not fancy, not particularly memorable...but comfortable and convenient.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a studio apartment for 3 nights and it was good value for money. The room was really comfortable and clean. Not flash, furnished by Ikea. There was only just enough crockery, cutlery etc. but there were plenty of pans. We only had a two ring hob but could have managed to cook a meal if we wanted to.
There was some noise from people getting back late at night which woke me on the first night, but after that it was OK.
The location is perfect and as other reviewers have said a much better location than many of the expensive hotels. Restaurants and supermarkets are all within a 10 min walk.
There is no reception but that wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We travelled as a group of 3 couples and had booked the 3 bedroom apartment at Rey Apartments. The flybus from the airport stops here and all of the tour companies pick you up from your door as well so it was really handy for getting about. Located just off the main street in Reykjavik, the location was great. We were within 5 minutes walk of supermarkets, tourist attractions, shops, great restaurants and bars.

The apartment itself was great - clean and modern with big bathroom and fantastic shower! There was an open plan sitting/kitchen/dining area which is great for group trips as there was plenty space for everyone around the table for drinks and chat. Having a fully equipped kitchen was great as it meant we could cook a few meals to save a bit of money rather than eating out at restaurants all the time.

It didn't bother us at all but I should probably mention that there's no lift. We were right on the top floor so had a few flights of stairs to climb to get there - for us this wasn't a bad thing, it meant we had a great view over the rooftops of Reykjavik!

At the time of booking, this place was one of the cheapest apartments I could find for our size of group and also looked like one of the nicest in the photos. Having now been there I can safely say that it must be one of the best value for money accommodations in the city.

If I'm lucky enough to go back to Reykjavik someday I would absolutely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone else travelling there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the REY apartments for a hen do! Perfect location and perfect accommodation! The party was spread over two large and spacious apartments! The accommodation was very high standard! We didn't mind the crazy stairwells all the way up to the apartment and even the older members of our party (85 and 83) managed the stairs!

Good tip- we shopped at the bonus supermarket on the main strip and cooked in the apartment which was perfect for a large group!

There was only one shower and with 8 girls to get ready in the large penthouse apartment that was the only little niggle!

We shall definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LauraO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This apartment hotel has GREAT rooms. The units are updated and very clean and well appointed. You get a lot of space for the price compared to the traditional hotels in Reykjavik and the location is very convenient. As is the case in the central area of Reykjavik in the summer, the street noise is significant all night. They provide private parking which is absolutely necessary if you have a rental car as there is nowhere to park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheworld03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £94 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing