We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location, Clean, Nice Big rooms, Helpful staff. Good price. I would stay there again. I only wish check in was sooner. But they will watch your bags until the 3pm check in . It was a good start to our riding iceland horse tour . Thank You Rey.

Room Tip: Top floor is a great room but a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REN6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    113
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
131
195
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed in apartment 305 for 5 nights and were very pleased with the location and facilities. Location is great, minutes from the main shopping streets, restaurants etc. which is SO important when you are traveling with young children. There is an excellent bakery 2 minutes walk away as well as ice cream shop and take-away pizza if the children want to relax instead of going out after a tiring day out. Restaurants are very expensive and it's good to be able to have breakfast in rather than out. Beds are extremely comfortable. It's a shame there is no wardrobe or hanging space in the kids bedroom, it's quite difficult to keep all the stuff in suitcases if you are staying for several days. All the basics are in the kitchen and there were some (limited) supplied such as salt, oil, a few tea bags. Clean bathroom and good shower. Only downside is that the flat can be very noisy. We arrived on the night of the gay pride so we were expecting quite a lot of noise but the following nights were as noisy and you can hear people walking and talking above. I had to resort to using ear plugs. Flybus airport stops at Reys apartment which is a great bonus, I thought about booking a taxi and I am pleased I did not as the Flybus comes and picks you up in front of the apartment. I had considered some other apartments near the harbor but the harbor is not as nice and central so I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilleKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived at 10am and unfortunately were not able to get into the apartment until 2pm which was a bit of a pain! However, we were able to leave our bags which meant we could go off and explore for the afternoon without our luggage. The apartment itself was really nice. Central location and bars/restaurants on our doorstep. We stayed in a studio apartment on the 2nd floor. It did tend to be a bit noisy throughout the night with people coming and going but had already heard that in Iceland, walls and ceilings tend to be thin! The staircase is quite steep so not ideal if you have any mobility concerns. The staff running the place didn't seem to be around too often but this was not a problem as there is a telephone in the reception area to contact them on.
There is no room service. During our 4 day stay, somebody came in once to change the towels but we were told this at the beginning of our stay.
To any of you planning a trip, I advise you to get a coach from the airport (much better value!) We used Reykjavik Excursions who were excellent. Also used them for our trips out to the Golden Circle and Blue Lagoon. Always on time and very professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 days at the Rey apartments in July 2014. The location is perfect, very central, the studios are very comfortable and well appointed. No hassle at all, we arrived at 2 am and somebody was waiting for us.
Easy parking nearby.
We'll come back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Located only a block from the main tourist street, you could not ask for a better location. The room was bright and clean. While not continually staffed, help was only phone call way if needed. Warning - there is no elevator and the stairs are steep and narrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom flat with our 3 young girls (12/9/5) on our 1st night in Iceland after a 7 hr/time zone flight in late June. It was incredibly clean, comfortable and well appointed and helped the girls begin the transition to the new time zone. The DVD and free wi-fi were nice perks. The location was fabulous, with easy walking to Hallgrímskirkja, shopping, grocery store and most importantly (to the kids) an ice cream shop. The staff was friendly and courteous -- we would recommend this apartment to families with younger children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

would definitely stay there again -- the staff was very kind and ready to meet any request. I would recommend this place to any friends and family looking for a great location from which to explore Reykjavik.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Property: Rey Apartments Hotel
Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing