We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable arrival point”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived jet lagged after flying in from Australia. Clean, tidy and welcoming. The room has the basic necessities and I agree with the comments about the location in town, well situated. The breakfast is excellent and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Would recommend it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Fosshotel Baron provides reasonably priced shelter and huge breakfasts, and is a great place from which to walk or catch transportation around Reykjavik.It's not a hotel where you'd want to hang out, nothing fancy but it's quiet despite being quite near the nightlife. We'd return gladly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Chose this hotel because of its good value. It's at the (wrong) end of the main street (Laugavegur), but still only minutes away from where the action is. If you're lucky you might get a room with a view over the bay. We didn't, but we didn't come to stay in the room and enjoy the view anyway. Our room was very basic with no particular extra facilities, the bedroom was spacy, but the bathroom was small. The friendly, English-speaking staff helped us with the few enquiries we had. Breakfast buffet was included in the room price, and was good, including omelette, sausages and make-your-own-waffles. On the downside, you would expect WiFi access to be included in the room in 2012, we had to pay 1500 ISK ($12) for 24hr access, limited to one unit.
There's a 24hr convenience store next door, for those who want to cut down on food expenses, or when you have the munchies on your way back from a night out.
Would definitely recommend it if you come to Reykjavik to explore the city and the country, the shopping, the nature and the nightlife - and not to sit in the room watching TV.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2clever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at Fosshotel Baron on our first night in Iceland - fortunately it was a poor representation hotels on Iceland. The location was fine, the breakfast was good but nothing else about the hotel. The lobby is small and like the entire hotel tired and worn. Internet is only available in the lobby and when we were there the lobby was full of noisy people (on a bus tour) checking in. It was impossible to make a skype call and it felt chaotic. Our room was small, had poor quality pillows and bed linens, and had a cracked teeny tiny sink with NO place for toiletries except the floor. When we asked the front desk why the hot water smelled like sulphur they told us the entire island is like this because of the natural hot springs. What we learned is most hotels we stayed in the hot water did not smell like sulphur. Do those hotels have a purification system? Don't know but it is worth raising the question since it may be costly. The other annoying issue related to the key. We were given one key upon checkin but my decided to take a walk and took the key. The room would not lock without the key so I had to find a hotel staff person to come up and lock the door. There are MANY hotels in Reykjavik - try another if you want a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Maybe some rooms have been updated...it is worth asking if you plan to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DSD2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_Ros, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear guest,

I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Fosshotel Barón.

Regarding your room I would like to point out to other viewers that we have 8 kind of room types here at the hotel. Ranging from small cozy rooms with skylight windows up to 2 bedroom apartments and ocean view double rooms. If you are not happy with your room, then please contact the reception and they will be happy to assist you with finding a room that fits your needs and likings.

For the past 3 years we have been working hard to update the hotel. By now almost all the beds and TV´s in all the rooms are new. The breakfast area went under total renovation in the winter 2010 so everything is new there. The reception area was painted just 2 years ago and all the sofas there are new. The front desk is however still the original one but has been kept in good condition.
We do have wireless internet in the whole hotel, including all the rooms as well. But to have access to the wi-fi in your room there is an extra charge. I do hope you were told about this if you asked for the wi-fi in the reception?

Regarding the sulphur smelling water. The water does not smell of sulphur all around Iceland, it is mainly just in the capital as in other places around the country the water is not coming directly from the ground but instead they heat up the cold water.
So you will find the sulphur smell everywhere in Reykjavík, but the water is very clean and pure and I can assure you that it is only the hot water. If only turn on the cold water you will get very tasteful and clean water to drink :)

Hopefully within the next few years we will have a card lock system and no keys. Until then we only have the keys, but you can ask for an extra one at the reception.

I do hope that you were able to otherwise enjoy your stay in Iceland.

Best regards,

Eva
Hotel manager at Fosshotel Barón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here both times I was in Reykjavik on my recent trip. I had been a little concerned about noise (the city can be noisy on a weekend) but this is a quiet hotel and there was not much noise outside either (in fact, the most noise I noticed was from a loud talker on a Monday night!). It's still fairly central - a 10-15 minute walk to the main bar and restaurant area in town.
I stayed in two different single rooms. The one in the main block was very warm with only a tiny window you could open. There was also no base to the shower in this room so the whole floor flooded - a brush was provided specifically because of this!
The room in the side wing was cooler but didn't have a main window so no view - it had two sky lights. The bathroom here was small but less prone to flooding! Beds were comfortable.
All rooms come with a kettle and my friends had kitchenettes too. Note if you're a tea drinker, there's no milk, just coffee creamer.
Wi-Fi is available - this is free in the lobby but you have to pay if you want to use it in your room. Not sure why as it just leads to people hanging around the lobby!
The staff on reception were very helpful. There is a very good breakfast buffet in the morning - lots of choice and help yourself to as much as you'd like.
Overall I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the side wing seemed to be better - some had kitchenettes and my single room there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowpingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at the Fosshotel Baron for 3 nights in May this year which formed part of a Travelzoo promotion.
Though not the most attractive of buildings and missing the odd letter on its illuminated sign, the interior of the hotel more than made up for these minor faults.
Our room was warm and extremely comfortable. It was a corner room which meant, purely by chance, that we had a large lounge area with two large windows, and our bedroom had floor to ceiling windows that looked out over the bay and across to the mountains beyond. I must add that the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The almost 24-hour daylight didn't matter as the curtains completely covered the window.
The hotel seemed at its full capacity and breakfast was a busy affair. The staff coped extremely well and were constantly replenishing the items, and as most guests, including ourselves, were being picked up for sightseeing at either 8:00am or 8:30am, the hour prior to this could have been chaotic.
The hotel was ideally placed in the city - a stone's throw from the bay and the city's main shopping and entertainment area a couple of blocks behind the hotel.
Unfortunately we didn't have much spare time to fully enjoy our mini-suite as by the time we returned from a day's sightseeing we were ready to go out for the evening, however I would definitely recommend the Fosshotel Baron to anyone intending to visit the wonderful little city of Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were extremely happy with our stay at Fosshotel Baron July 22-28, 2012. We had a 2 bedroom “apartment.” The front desk staff was REALLY nice and always very helpful to answer questions, suggest an activity or restaurant, make a phone call for us, verify a confirmation etc. Danni (with his signature Mohawk hairdo) seemed like he worked 24/7 because he always seemed to be there, but always greeted us with the same energy and warmth despite how many shifts he might have worked. Ragmar was also extremely helpful and also patient with our inability to pronounce the restaurants we needed directions to. They were also really prompt with providing things like a replacement light bulb for a bedroom or a new box of tissues when ours ran out.

Our family of 5 had ample room, especially with the sitting area and kitchen table/chairs. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection with a hot area featuring eggs, baked beans and sausage most days, a waffle maker, assorted cereals (muesli, cornflakes,cheerios,granola). Hard boiled eggs, sliced tomato, cucumber, tuna, some other salads, meats, yogurt, jellies, peanut butter, various breads, rolls and cookies. Fresh apples, bananas and melon. (and delicious coffee I must add) It was quickly replenished on busy mornings and we never had trouble finding a seat or what we needed.

Our room was situated right over the lobby so we thought it might be noisy. I’ve never slept so well in my life. The room darkening shades were amazing and provided near blackout conditions. The beds and bedding were soooo comfortable. We never heard the lobby or people opening doors on the floor but did hear a few conversations and one night a fight taking place on the street. With the windows closed, it was pretty sound proof. Open, there was some sporadic street noise on the weekend. The view was fabulous with the sea and mountains in the distance. We also had a balcony.

The wifi was pretty fast for a hotel and offered free in the lobby area. There is also a computer available for free internet use in the lobby as well. I think you can optionally have internet in the rooms for a fee. The lobby is also well stocked with travel brochures, bus maps etc.

The room was kept clean and new towels provided when we placed ours on the floor. I saw some other posts about the shower flooding and the smell of the hot water. The hot water odor is negligible and I think all hot water in Iceland has a slight sulfur smell. I’d rather have the slight odor and know that it is coming from a renewable environmentally friendly source than odorless water wasting natural resources. Also, the shower had tight sealing doors and no water leaked out. Body/hair wash gel is on a pump on the wall both by the sink and in the shower. Shower caps are also provided. Not sure if it is an actual ‘towel warmer’ but the radiator in the bathroom warmed up the towels nicely. Adjustable shower pressure.

The rooms are sparsely decorated or I should really say not decorated at all. I don’t come for the artwork on the walls so it didn’t bother us. There is a flatscreen t.v. in the sitting area and it was kind of neat watching the opening Olympic ceremonies in Icleandic instead of English. I would suggest that they add some dresser-like furniture to hold clothes though. Aside from the hangers in the closets, there wasn’t much room for storage aside from the suitcases. There is a luggage storage room which we used because we arrived at 6:30 a.m. and our room was understandably not ready yet. It was ready, however much earlier than we expected and enjoyed a nap after our travels.

The location of the hotel is great with a 24 hour supermarket right behind the building. We ended up not using it though because of all the great restaurants in town. The kitchen was stocked with coffee/tea and included a frig, 2 stove burners, sink, microwave and basic pots, dishes and utensils. Dishwashing soap and brush are also provided. The hotel is walking distance to the water/walking path, several town pools, the main shopping/dining streets and also the harbor. I would thoroughly recommend Fosshotel Baron to travelers to Reykjavik. The warm, friendly staff, clean and very comfortable rooms, and location all made it a great choice.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies and also face the bay and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,020 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,183 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 55 in Reykjavik
982 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,106 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £115 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing