We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average rooms”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Good location - close to the sea front and main Street (lots of shops and restaurants).

Rooms were clean, but basic. Double room was 2 singles pushed together with separate duvets.

Breakfast was good. fruit, waffles, bread, cheese, meat, cereal, omelette cubes and cocktail sausages

Service good - long and slow queue when checking in but otherwise helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was a very nice and functional hotel - tops marks for friendly staff who were very helpful. The buffet breakfast was superb; yes a lot of meat and fish but also fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and yoghurt. Was very good! The rooms were a little tired that would be my only issue. The water was slightly sulphuric too but guess that's becuase of where it is sourced! Close to the main shops too so perfectly placed. A very good solid option

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucygooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Fosshotel Baron is conveniently located right by the bay and only 2 blocks from the main attractions district. The exterior of the hotel looks sleek and new, but we were surprised upon entering that it appeared a little older... the red carpeting certainly made it feel a bit more staid. Free parking for guests in the lot in front and free WiFi throughout the building with password.

The guy at the front desk was brisk and rather harried (like the one we encountered at Hotel Klettur), but he was still professional and courteous. We arrived early, but he found us an available room. The lobby itself didn't encourage relaxation with not many places to sit, but it was teeming with guests/visitors waiting for their tour guides and buses.

Our room was even more dated than the lobby, and the window glass was severely cracked. Thankfully it didn't leak too badly, and overall we were comfortable and slept well. This was the fifth and last hotel we patronized on this trip in Iceland, and it offered similar amenities to all the others. Breakfast was good, but the configuration of offerings was not efficient with the number of guests there. We even shared a table with strangers, which is no problem, but many people had no place to sit. The staff worked hard to keep it moving and all the tables cleaned as guests left.

Busy hotel; not sure if it was some sort of holiday or just extremely popular, but this had the most people we encountered at a hotel during our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Baron after booking it via Icelandair. The rooms were basic but fine (not cold as mentioned by another reviewer - I actually had to turn the heating down!). The breakfast was good and plentiful, and the hotel was well situated for the town and the bay. I found the staff very helpful - I lost my diabetic pen and worked out that it was probably in the vehicle I'd been in for a volcano tour - the hotel reception contacted the tour company for me and my pen was back with me later that evening. This says as much for the tour company as the hotel (big cheers to Volcano Tours!), but it's an example of how helpful the Baron staff were

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Foss Baron.
Booked through Baltic Travel Company. Good deal & great fuss free service.
The transfer to this hotel from the airport took 2 hours! The receptionist at first was very cold & I felt as if I was a nuisance. However on a second trip to reception it was a warmer experience & a little more helpful. In fact each visit was an improvement. So no probs there. They are able to sort all questions & give advice on all trips.

My room was quaint in terms of furniture shabby chic white but plenty of it. A clean & functional room with basic tea & coffee making facilities( paper cups); enough towels & safe deposit box & generic soap dispenser in the bathroom & shower. TV reception & choice of programmes was very poor. Just BBC news & national Geograsphic. Oh well I wasn't there for tele!
Breakfast buffet had a really good range of breads, cereals, cold bits, fruit etc. hot food limited though. Still More than adequate & plenty to eat & regularly replenished. Bar open from 5.0 until 1.00 am. If you are leaving early am they also have an early breakfast available with a little less choice but again easily enough for your needs.You can get soup & bread in the bar, if you fancy a snack.
Hotel located near a Dominoes & 2 block walk from main shopping area., a 5 mins brisk walk up slight hill. So good situation. Hotel was busy with all nationalities & no one seemed to be anything but happy to be there.

Ate at a restaurant down the main shopping street called Scandinavian, traditionalish food I think . Fish & chips with a 'pink sauce' cost 3,000 ISK approx: 2 pieces if breadcrumbed fish, fries,salad garnish & Marie Rose sauce. Quite busy place but only 1 waitress. Large range of foods available including lobster.
Next door to Hotel Fron so a lot of their clients ate there.
Next evening Rossopomodoro , an authentic Italian restaurant on the main high street.Good selection of well known Italian dishes. Spaghetti bog, side salad & glass of house red cost 5,770 ISK. Tasty & plenty if it. Bread & oil included.
Tour companies. All much the same. Iceland & Reykjavik tours will pick up & return to your hotels , even if you have to detour. Pick up usually 30 mins before tour starts. Drivers & guides all have amazing English. Puts the English speaking to shame!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginaandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed with a friend to explore Iceland for a few days and see the lights. Excellent location, superb friendly staff. Danny at the bar is a scream...try the Opal. Rooms we're comfy and very warm. Good views across to the mountains and a few minutes to the local bars and restaurants. We did upgrade to a self catering room though. Breakfast was plenty and varied. Ask for the best hot dog sellers...you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's not really a bargain, but the price they offered was ok. We had one of the "historic" rooms, it was quite spacious, clean and the size of the bathroom was ok as well.

It's not really located directly downtown, but as Reykjavik is quite small, you are there within a short walk.

The breakfast was really a plus. Have in mind that they do not offer dinner. But there are some nice options in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
955 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,131 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,462 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £106 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing