We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with kitchen facilities and could not fault it. It was lovely to get in from a long day out and be able to make yourself a drink of tea/coffee or grab a beer from the fridge. It was a great location on the edge of the town but close to all the amenities. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, a wide variety to choose from. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    844
    368
    81
    31
See reviews for
257
811
109
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A last minute booking for 3 nights stay only cost me Euro 81 per night (2pax). My room was as beautiful as the professional picture shown with a very comfy bed. This is very important for a soundly sleep to prepare for the long walk on the next day. Me and my bf joined the Geoiceland excursion who picked us up daily and this does the same to the round trip coach booking to the airport. The restaurant, flea market, harbour, shopping places, and church were in the walking distance and u can have a sea view from the loft window if u got a similar room to my room. The most exciting thing is their breakfast which including a range of basic breakfast foods, but also waffles, scramble eggs and ICELANDIC fishesss! This breakfast should cost you at least 15-20GBP if u get it from the local restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiahui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived after 2 bus trips from the airport to find, after a prolonged wait, that ourselves and a young couple had no rooms. We had both booked through a city break deal with Icelandair, dating back to December 13 for an easter break. The youngish blonde lady at reception at first didnt want to speak to us and when she did, just casually said we had no rooms. She then procceded to spin us tales of it was everybodies fault but theirs, that they only found out we were coming the day before and that it was icelandairs fault. We questioned her hard and she started to say that it had been full for ages?? So why had we not been informed before, by the hotel or by the airline. She said we were being transferred to another better hotel, but no views and not central, so how was that better? Then we were told to get a taxi?? Sorry but that needs to be arranged at the hotels cost not ours. We as couples agreed that we had lost a central location, views of the harbour and mountains, but the lies, tales and total disregard for the CUSTOMER by the staff and hotel was disgracefull. As we were leaving we saw a large party of students arriving requiring an enormous amount of rooms, there was our answer, bumped out of ours to accomodate a large party. Be warned the hotel has no idea whst honouring a booking means. A very poor advertisement for Iceland

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinc265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby de la Launde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel has views of the sea front and is only a couple of minutes walk from the Main Street with restaurants and bars so a good location considering the price of the rooms. The rooms are simple but clean and the bed was extremely comfy. The showers use natural Icelandic water so have a slight sulphur smell but they are nice and warm. The staff are friendly and knowledgable about the area and the included breakfast has a lot of choice including a waffle maker!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Fosshotel overlooks the harbour and a good place to stay as views are amazing if you get a sea view like we did.breafast is typical continental food but never the less very nice.hotel staff very friendly and always willing to help and woild definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crogger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently spent 4 days 3 nights at this hotel. The rooms were not ready until the afternoon so they allowed us to store our luggage and tour the city. If you check in early, take advantage of the hotels breakfast rather than walking around the city to look for a place to eat. There are not a lot of places open for breakfast and you may not want to walk to find a place. Our first room was very small but after speaking to the front desk they upgraded us for a nominal charge to an efficiency (202) with a refrigerator, table, couch and chairs. The room was clean, bright and faced the water. The staff could not have been any more accommodating. They assisted us with tour reservations, bus reservations, dinner reservations. No matter what we requested of them they complied with a smile and were always very happy to help. Josephine operated the bar at night. She was friendly, personable and tolerant of all the hotel guests. The breakfast was plentiful and the breakfast area was a nice size. The staff at breakfast did a great job of keeping the food stocked. This is definitely a place to stay for friendly service, and great location to everything
Ate at Pomodoros Italian on the main street which was great.The Argentina restaurant had an extensive menu. The Lobster House food was good, but expensive and exotic. If you are not into exotic birds or horsemeat, stay away.

Room Tip: Room with an efficiency. We stayed in 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odamae9464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We recently spent three nights at this hotel. Check in was quick and although we were early, as our room was ready, we were given the keys. Our room was clean and cosy, a small telly, coffee, tea, kettle, wardrobe, small table and a chair, all we needed for a short stay. The bathroom was fine but there were no plugs, which we found a bit odd but apparently, none of the rooms had them! There was a smell of sulphur when you turns the taps on but we soon got used to it.
All the staff were really helpful, and all spoke perfect English. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking trips to go somewhere the same day, recommending places to eat, extra coffee etc.
breakfast was good, lots on offer, cereal, a toaster, waffle maker, fruit, cheese meat and fish to choose from.
When you leave the hotel, the stunning scenery of the mountains and the sea are just across the road.
Pwople have mentioned the Viking boat structure, which is minutes away, and there are numerous shops and restaurants very near the hotel. We had soup in a loaf and a beer each in one place, which came to approx 4400 krona, approx £28 at the rate we for. Exchange wise, we for a better rate in Reykjavik than we would have done in the uk, but we had problems getting the currency, probably didn't help that I left it to the last minute anyway! We had a take away pizza from just around the corner to the right as you exit the hotel and on our last night had a really nice meal for about £60 for us both for steak and chips, starters and a shared pudding with half a carafe of wine in Vindhurin? Which was about a 5 min walk.
We initially went to see the northern lights but alas, nature was not obliging. we did the golden tour, which we loved and also visited the blue lagoon, which is a must. weather wise, we had some snow, some sun but the wind was freezing and went right through you, despite us having all warm clothing from visiting Alaska and Canada.
Overall, we had a great time, really liked the hotel and thought it was good value and a perfect place to stay for a few nights. if we come back to Icelandq, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimandTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
924 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,111 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
849 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,379 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing