We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel for a resonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
262 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel for a resonable price”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

When you go on Iceland you will experience very soon: all the prices are 2-10 times higher than in your country. This is not the case in this hotel. price is reasonable, hotel as well. I mean: not a luxury, but you will have all you need for a reasonable stay: room is warm (which is much appreciated after a cold island tour), bed is super, bathroom clean. The basic needs. We stayed there in April for 5 days. Furniture is simple, but you have all you need when you jump tired and frozen in the evening. As they had several teenage grops I expected to be noise in the evening. In contrary: noise isolation is very good!! You can sleep in silence.
If we can complain it is beacuse of breakfast: hotel is hosting several groups in the mean time, but they can not handle them in the breakfast room. It is a mass, it is dirty and it is crowded in the morrning!! You wait often 20 min for a table, then you sit a really dirty one - or you clean it yoursef. Then you queue up for some low qulaity food for other 20 min.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and I am glad that you were happy with your room and our prices. But you are correct about Iceland, in general it is very expensive compared to many other countries.

I am however sorry you had such a bad experience at breakfast and this is something we can learn from. We had problems on some dates in April when large groups were coming to breakfast at the same time which caused the breakfast room to be overcrowded and I am sorry you had to experience that.

Again thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    812
    341
    75
    28
See reviews for
239
774
100
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in February. Even the hotel was full of people, receptionists are pleased to help you, to tell you anything you need. The room old fashion style, in white, very confortable, very clean, and with ketle! I had a lot of tea. Sometime not enough air. I didn't mint of the smell of hot water, it is normal in a volcano thermal zone, the sulfur.Breakfast was a feast! The croissants'' smell and the 4 fish salads taste made our stay excellent! Thank you all for kindness!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Iceland was great and the people couldn't have been friendlier. Didn't find the prices too different for most things - didn't buy alcohol though. Hotel is average but breakfast is very good - make your own waffles in the morning. Visiting the Blue Lagoon and Golden Circle are a must.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Liked the hotel a lot. Stayed here for 5 nights, staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, you're 2 minutes from the main street, 5 minutes from the harbor and the rest of the center so all in walking distance. Breakfast was good and they kept filling it up (very crowded but they handled it well). There is also enough parking place in front of the hotel for your rental vehicle. Rooms are nice and clean, nothing special (standard twin room)! Would absolutely recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rogier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with kitchen facilities and could not fault it. It was lovely to get in from a long day out and be able to make yourself a drink of tea/coffee or grab a beer from the fridge. It was a great location on the edge of the town but close to all the amenities. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, a wide variety to choose from. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A last minute booking for 3 nights stay only cost me Euro 81 per night (2pax). My room was as beautiful as the professional picture shown with a very comfy bed. This is very important for a soundly sleep to prepare for the long walk on the next day. Me and my bf joined the Geoiceland excursion who picked us up daily and this does the same to the round trip coach booking to the airport. The restaurant, flea market, harbour, shopping places, and church were in the walking distance and u can have a sea view from the loft window if u got a similar room to my room. The most exciting thing is their breakfast which including a range of basic breakfast foods, but also waffles, scramble eggs and ICELANDIC fishesss! This breakfast should cost you at least 15-20GBP if u get it from the local restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiahui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived after 2 bus trips from the airport to find, after a prolonged wait, that ourselves and a young couple had no rooms. We had both booked through a city break deal with Icelandair, dating back to December 13 for an easter break. The youngish blonde lady at reception at first didnt want to speak to us and when she did, just casually said we had no rooms. She then procceded to spin us tales of it was everybodies fault but theirs, that they only found out we were coming the day before and that it was icelandairs fault. We questioned her hard and she started to say that it had been full for ages?? So why had we not been informed before, by the hotel or by the airline. She said we were being transferred to another better hotel, but no views and not central, so how was that better? Then we were told to get a taxi?? Sorry but that needs to be arranged at the hotels cost not ours. We as couples agreed that we had lost a central location, views of the harbour and mountains, but the lies, tales and total disregard for the CUSTOMER by the staff and hotel was disgracefull. As we were leaving we saw a large party of students arriving requiring an enormous amount of rooms, there was our answer, bumped out of ours to accomodate a large party. Be warned the hotel has no idea whst honouring a booking means. A very poor advertisement for Iceland

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinc265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
869 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#23 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,208 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,078 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#26 of 53 in Reykjavik
2,110 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing