We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel with great amenities at an affordable price. The staff were very friendly and always helpful in answering our questions. We stayed in a room with four twin beds (put together, two king beds). The windows are up on the ceiling with very heavy drapes. It doesn't really have a view, but it didn't matter, because we were not in our room for very long. We loved the free breakfast. Can't get enough of the little sausage links and make yourself waffles!

We had to get used to dropping off our keys each time we left the hotel, but I think it's because they didn't want the guests to lose the keys. The hotel is a short 15 minute walk to downtown Reykjavik, which is really convenient.

We went to Reykjavik in hopes of seeing the Northern Lights, sadly the weather didn't cooperate, but the trip was still very memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfivecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. Too bad you did not get to see the northern lights but hopefully you will get a chance to see them later.

Best Regards from Reykjavik
Kristbjorn
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    840
    357
    79
    30
See reviews for
250
803
109
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I recently returned from three nights in Iceland , staying in the Fosshotel Baron. The hotel was good, clean and tidy decent room, without upgrade. The location of the hotel was excellent just a short walk along the waterfront into the city centre or up a slight hill and a minute or so later you are in the main shopping street. The breakfast was ok but we made the mistake first morning of going down just after half past seven when it was very busy and we struggled to get a table. Next few mornings we went later and it was much better. Staff were all friendly and happy to do any booking etc. for us. The early evening happy hour was good when drinks were half price about £2.65p a pint. We had to leave very early on a Sunday morning and the girl at the reception took a few minutes to get a pretty substantial breakfast ready for us. We would like to go back to Reykjavik and we would probably stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for the night and had a nice stay. The staff was friendly enough and also give us a good recommendation on dinner. Our room was clean with a double bed, which was two twins pushed together, but was very comfortable. The bathroom was án okay side, but the shower was very small, so much that you couldn't stand out of the water. But it did the trick, so that is all that matters. The breakfast was a nice spread of Meats, cheese, herring, breads and cereal. It was well stocked and tasty. We have no complaints about staying here. The location is also a nice spot by e water and nearby for walking to shops and attractions.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a break with iceland air, stayed in room 512 from the 2-6 may with wonderful views of the sea and snow topped mountains. Strongly recommend the extra cost for the sea view,
The room and bed were clean and comfortable, as was everything in the hotel.Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble . Reception always ready to help with any question we had. Very efficient. Even provided a cold breadkfast at 3.20 am.
The hotel is placed in a good location, one road back from the sea front, and only a short walk to the centre of town.
breakfast was very good, hot and cold food, cereals and muesli, an overworked toaster, with a good selection of hot drinks available. Happy hour is recommended as this works out more like English pub prices, though choice of drinks on this offer was restricted.
would recommend this hotel to friends

Room Tip: Front of hotel, on 5th floor will give you a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading reviews of this place I was unsure what to expect when we arrived at half past midnight but check in was friendly, simple and straight forward and although small the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. In the light of day the following morning I was not disappointed. The bathroom was again small but had everything required and the shower was hot...although I was unprepared for the egg smell that accompanied the shower. There is an explanation on the wall telling you that the water is geothermally heated and comes from underground hence the 'slight smell of sulphur'.
Next we headed down to breakfast which was included in the price. We were both impressed by the amount of food on offer and the quality. All tasted great and allowed us to fill up in preparation for days of exploring Reykjavik and the surrounding area. All in all, a good place to stay, no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Solid 3 star hotel. we had an apartment in the hotel with kitchen. perfect for cooking as iceland is so expensive we did not eat out every night.
Hotel has a great location, within walking distance to everything, and easy for pickups.
breakfast was good, wide variety of food but it was always full to capacity.
highly reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed for a few days in this hotel, as part of a group tour. It was a basic three star hotel, but I have to say, it was a nice and friendly spot to stay in. Room was clean, as was the Hotel. It is right in the heart of the City, and the very scenic waterfront. The speed of the check in and check out, was the quickest, I have come across.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sp00kyFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

Hope you had a great stay in Reykjavik.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
913 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,336 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,105 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing