We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3star for me and 2nd person in room but 3rd person hated it”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“3star for me and 2nd person in room but 3rd person hated it”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

There are three beds possible... Two singles and a double sofa-bed... Do not lay in this as is a terrible excuse for a bed... Food in my opinion was not up to much... Amenities were very good though with a great bathroom and there was a microwave, cooker fridge, sink and cutlery and crockery, great location.. 2min walk from Reykjavik high street and 10 min walk from Reykjavik cathedral
In my personal opinion.. There were probably better hotels for the same price

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_Da_Lad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    845
    368
    82
    31
See reviews for
257
813
109
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for five nights on our first trip to Iceland. As we arrived at the hotel in our rental car, we noticed street works out the back of the hotel. When we checked in we were told our room faced the back. Given we didn't want to take the risk of being woken by machinery, we asked for a room at the front, which they had available, though we paid for the upgrade. It was a corner room with a separate bedroom. Perfect. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was terrific, the wifi was free and didn't drop out once and the parking was also free provided you parked in front of the hotel. All in all I'd recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to Reykjavik in May to celebrate my partners birthday, and booked the "historical room" for 3 nights. The room was a bit small, we could barely pull out our suitcase to find clothes, and the ceiling, as we knew really, was low over the bed. The bathroom was a bit worn out, the showerhead especially. For the rest it was okay. It is very sentral, and thats the biggest reason we chose to stay at this hotel. They also had an okay breakfast with croissants and fruits and you could make waffles. I enjoyed it very much, partner didnt. He thought it lacked fresh bread.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Line F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and this is a great tool for us to see where we can improve. I am glad our location was suitable and that at least you enjoyed the breakfast, I am however sorry our breakfast disappointed your partner.

You are right that our historical rooms are quite small and some of the shower heads needs to be replaced, which is something we are working on. Even though your room did not meet your expectations I hope you nevertheless enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik.

Thank again for posting your review and hope you have a great summer.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is wonderful to stay in. We were there for a week and found the staff to be friendly, very helpful and extremely efficient. The room was a attractive and beautifully cleaned every day, with a minimum of fuss - we especially liked their options for Eco-friendly attitudes to towels etc, in our room. The reception staff were very well informed about transport arrangements & tours, efficient & helpful with any queries and departure arrangements for the airport. Breakfast was extremely good - with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, a cold buffet, homemade bread rolls, and hot or cold drinks. The staff worked hard to maintain a good supply of food, and cleared /cleaned tables quickly and without fuss. We would recommend this hotel to visitors and hope to return there before too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuffordLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear RuffordLancashire,

What an excellent feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Fosshotel Baron and hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards from Reykjavik
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time to Reykjavik, location and standard of hotel was very good. Only slight complaint was the room which whilst showing character was quite small. Breakfast was very good, particularly enjoyed the traditional Icelandic stuff - rollmops etc. Great views, and close to main street. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJDJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Fosshotel Baron was our third Reykjavik hotel and had the best internet access of all. The location was excellent for walking to downtown or to the waterfront. Our room looked out to the quiet side street and had nice room darkening drapes (important if you like darkness to sleep). The shower was a little odd because the rain type shower head was not over the center of the tiny shower stall. The desk clerk was very helpful with booking a Golden Circle tour, recommending a smaller company rather than one of the 2 well-known tour businesses and the cheaper airport bus. My only complaint would be that the early breakfast ends at 6 and the regular breakfast doesn't begin until 7. With a 7 AM departure, it meant getting up at 5:30 in order to eat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hamgal,

Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us at Fosshotel Baron. Glad to read that your internet connection worked well for you and that our locations suited your needs. Our front desk staff try to offer our guests the best service possible and happy you took advantage of that when booking your tour.

I completely understand your complaint about the timing of the early breakfast. But I am sorry to say we can unfortunately not change this as our staff needs to prepare everything for our full breakfast between 6 and 7 AM. To others reading this I however like to point out that breakfast to go is available on requests if we are notified the day before.

Hope you had a great stay in Iceland and hopefully we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in mid May. The room/hotel is kept very clean, all the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was on the 2nd floor with no window. only skylights. If we had been staying longer we would have tried to upgrade to a larger room but for a couple of days it was fine. It was still cold in Iceland (didn't get above 8C) but the hotel was lovely and warm without being oppressive. Breakfast was good with a good choice of cereals, cooked meats, cheese slices and a variety of fishy things too. Plenty of different breads - the fruit rye bread was particularly delicious. The area the food is laid out in is quite restrictive and it was a bit of a scrum at times. The hotel is near the waterfront with a lovely walking area around the bay; it is also only a couple of streets from the main shopping street Laugavegar. There are also plenty of restaurants along this street and I would recommend a Greek restaurant called Meze, great kebabs. We left the hotel at 5 am on our last morning and they had laid on a reduced breakfast for us (and others) - brilliant, never been offered brekkie at 4.45 am before. We would definitely stay here again but get a bigger room. The Flybus service to and from the airport is excellent; we also did the Golden Circle Tour - don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
927 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,112 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
851 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,388 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing