We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found our room to be clean and the desk employees to be friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast, while surprising to us on our first morning in Iceland, is a pretty typical breakfast buffet.
VERY NICE LOCATION!. 1 block from the waterfront, 1-1/2 blocks from the busy shopping/dining/drinking lane.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    813
    341
    75
    28
See reviews for
239
774
100
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here, and found it adequate - rooms are small and basic, but the beds are very comfortable and the chambermaids keep the room very clean. Bathrooms are tiny but sufficient. Breakfast is good although the bussing service fluctuated wildly and it can get quite chaotic if a large group is trying to eat and leave. Front desk staff could do with some customer service training - none of them seemed thrilled to be dealing with tourists and their needs. There are no direct bus / shuttle pick ups for KEF, so build in extra time if you need a ride out to the airport.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetteren, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms for one night, both rooms were basic but very clean. We had to leave early to the airport, but we were very happy with the supplied breakfast in the dining room at 4h00 in the morning. Good service also to book the flybus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filip_De_Mulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
322 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed three comfortable pleasant nights in this hotel. We were there at the same time as other contributors and really don't recognise their comments. The room was clean , well equipped and comfortable and everything worked except for minor issue with TV. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we loved the 5 types of fish for breakfast. The idea of soup in the evening is a great one especially given the very expensive food elsewhere. The hotel is well situated and is on route for bus trips and airport transfers. We probably won't be returning to Iceland again but would happily return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Perhaps it was because it was my first time in Iceland, perhaps it was because I had such a great weekend, but I loved the hotel and I loved Iceland. It's not high class but for the price it was clean, efficient and hospitable. Nice, English speaking staff, very helpful, a decent bar, good breakfast, clean room, Wi-Fi, comfy beds, quiet. Absolutely no problem. And I saw the Northern Lights from outside the front entrance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Persemillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjobo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My first impression was that it was old but at least clean. Retro, that's fine. Convenient location with free parking, and free wifi was also good. Then we had to ask for toilet paper and more towels. The beds were rock hard and lumpy, but not nearly as lumpy as the pillows. It was too stuffy to sleep with the window closed, but there was too much street noise to sleep with the window open. The shower didn't drain, but we had to shower very quickly anyhow since there was very little hot water. Breakfast was crowded, disorganized, and not very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanis-adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our room, while average, looked nothing like this picture. The hotel is fairly clean but there are no dark out curtains. There are very few TV stations and although we were not in our room much during the day, at nite we could find little on in English. We were told by one of the staff that owners must pay for stations and the owners were not interested in doing so. We stayed at Hotel Vik in Vik and had plenty of channels to watch. I did like the Old Harbor view and the included breakfast buffet was plentiful.

Be aware that check-in is 4 p.m. The travel agent who booked for us did not tell us this and we arrived on a Saturday at 1:00 and had to sit in the lobby until 3:45 - were told there were no clean rooms. Find that difficult to believe since, when complaining to the manager about our room not being cleaned nor towels provided 1 night, he advised that the staff clean the rooms of those leaving in order to make room for new guests before they clean for those staying any particular night.

We especially liked that there is a grocery store right behind the Hotel - good for having colas and snacks in our room. Also, they started a salad bar but close it up early - 6 p.m. I think.

All in all, we had no major complaints about the hotel but were no blown away by it either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darkroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing