We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 15 August 2014

About five-ten minutes easy walk from central Reykjavik. Comfortable, clean and well sized room. Very good breakfast. A great base for exploring the Reykjavik area and only 40 minutes from the airport at Keflavik (as is Reykjavik generally).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is a quick 10 minute walk to restaurants and the main downtown area. We had one of the apartment rooms which was a good size. Nothing fancy, but was comfortable. The water smell took some getting used to.

Breakfast was good....especially the chocolate croissants.

Was convenient for tour bus trips as out bus stopped right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay to upgrade your room if you arrive early in the day and want to catch some zzzs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found our room to be clean and the desk employees to be friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast, while surprising to us on our first morning in Iceland, is a pretty typical breakfast buffet.
VERY NICE LOCATION!. 1 block from the waterfront, 1-1/2 blocks from the busy shopping/dining/drinking lane.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here, and found it adequate - rooms are small and basic, but the beds are very comfortable and the chambermaids keep the room very clean. Bathrooms are tiny but sufficient. Breakfast is good although the bussing service fluctuated wildly and it can get quite chaotic if a large group is trying to eat and leave. Front desk staff could do with some customer service training - none of them seemed thrilled to be dealing with tourists and their needs. There are no direct bus / shuttle pick ups for KEF, so build in extra time if you need a ride out to the airport.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nikki_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms for one night, both rooms were basic but very clean. We had to leave early to the airport, but we were very happy with the supplied breakfast in the dining room at 4h00 in the morning. Good service also to book the flybus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filip_De_Mulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed three comfortable pleasant nights in this hotel. We were there at the same time as other contributors and really don't recognise their comments. The room was clean , well equipped and comfortable and everything worked except for minor issue with TV. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we loved the 5 types of fish for breakfast. The idea of soup in the evening is a great one especially given the very expensive food elsewhere. The hotel is well situated and is on route for bus trips and airport transfers. We probably won't be returning to Iceland again but would happily return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Perhaps it was because it was my first time in Iceland, perhaps it was because I had such a great weekend, but I loved the hotel and I loved Iceland. It's not high class but for the price it was clean, efficient and hospitable. Nice, English speaking staff, very helpful, a decent bar, good breakfast, clean room, Wi-Fi, comfy beds, quiet. Absolutely no problem. And I saw the Northern Lights from outside the front entrance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Persemillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
667 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £102 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing