We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,020)
Filter reviews
2,020 results
Traveller rating
449
998
435
99
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
998
435
99
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle maker bread the main shopping street northern lights sea view hot water make your own waffles happy hour paper cups shower curtain three star two blocks blue lagoon sulphur smell herring breakfast buffet reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 2,020 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I booked this hotel 7 months ago (so plenty of time to have a decent room) but was given a room what I would consider suitable for student lodgings. The beds were for children. I immediately asked to be given an upgrade but was advised as hotel is full to come back in the morning. Had a shower in this room and plumbing was awful. Water overflowed into bathroom. Next morning I requested room change and was given a slightly improved room but it must have been for guests who have a late flight and need somewhere to freshen up. The room number was not on the wall in corridor where you look to find your room location. No wardrobe or drawers. Lighting was awful. Cardboard cups. I asked at reception why no wardrobe and was told the hotel was only designed for overnight stops so wardrobes are not needed. I didn't bother saying I was booked in for 3 nights!! Breakfast was ok. Second room did not have a safe. Hotel is in busy location. The staff did not ask if we were happy with our room and neither did they apologise for first room.

Room tip: Don't choose room 517 or 107
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Mary,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your standards during your recent stay with us but I thank you for the opportunity to address a few of the things you mentioned in your review. We offer a variety of room types and the one that you booked is our historical double rooms which have a skylight and are 16 square meters so they are quaint and snug with a bed that is 160 cm wide which is considered slightly bigger than queen sized. We try our very best to find rooms that fits our guests needs if their original bookings do not but unfortunately we were unable to accommodate your requests with such short notice as we were fully booked. We're surprised to hear that you had difficulty finding the new room number as all of our rooms are well marked and all of our rooms also have either wardrobes or drawers. Something seems to have been lost in translation in your conversation with our receptionist as we are absolutely designed for overnight stops so we apologize for any confusion that may have arisen there. A quick note about the cardboard cups is that they are the environmentally friendliest option, a policy that we are very dedicated to.

We are very focused on bettering our services everywhere we can so we very much appreciate that you took the time to give us your suggestions for improvement and hope that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful country. Please feel free to contact me directly at hjalti@fosshotel.is if you ever visit Iceland again as we would welcome the opportunity to impress you with our improvements and give you a free upgrade of course!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Strengths are the great location, friendly staff, breakfast buffet, very comfortable beds and room temperature. The furnishings and shower are a bit dated but clean. I would recommend this hotel. Tours have a pick up right at the front door, and the hotel is a short walk from the shopping street, city center and Hlemmur bus station.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DerRail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello there,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and high praise. We're thrilled to hear that you had a nice stay with us and are proud to have earned your recommendations

We very much hope that we get to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

The location couldn't be better, easy access to Laugavegur but quiet. The room was functional and clean but old and dated. The shower was literally the smallest I've ever been in. The breakfast buffet was well appointed. Overall this was a good base, the price was reasonable for Reykjavik standards, and I would stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello Amanda,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We're always very happy to hear that we could serve as a good base for people to explore our beautiful country.

We would love to welcome you back if you decide to explore more of Iceland in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, we had a nice comfy room, good breakfast, and were on a great location with parking for the hotel.
The only negative was the shower as it looked old and when you shower the entire bathroom get wet.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GoPlaces665660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your lovely review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to take a look at the issues with the shower.

We appreciate you choosing us for your stay in Iceland and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

My adult son and I wanted to make a quick visit to Iceland on our way back from a family reunion in Sweden. Our travel agent booked this hotel based on the price, (which we saw was high in Iceland) and location. Never having been in Iceland before we were not sure what to expect.
The hotel was in a good location, near the harbour and within easy walking distance of many restaurants. The hotel itself was plain, nothing fancy, but clean, quiet and met our basic needs. It is well maintained but obviously old, the first indicator of that being the old-fashioned metal keys to our rooms. The rooms were quite small, dated in style but comfortable enough.
The included breakfast was better than the typical North American chain hotels' plastic offerings, but slim picking for us who are gluten and dairy free. The hot dishes included two types of egg and a dish of potatoes,all cooked in or with milk! The bar served beer, but the bartender was at a bit of a loss when asked about cocktails. We dropped our request down to some scotch, but he didn't have scotch. So in the end we had brännvin, and enjoyed it, if only for the story we could tell.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWKOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Public Relations Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello there,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and for any future stays please let our kitchen staff know about your preferences as we really try to cater to everyone's needs. Although we do not have a cocktail bar we're always willing to give it a try if you know how to make it and we do offer quite a few types of whisky, including Johnny Walker if you're looking for a scotch so there seems to have been a mix-up there.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and would love to see you again if you visit Reykjavik in the future and the scotch will be on us!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews