We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Baron
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
4th Floor Hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandhotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,854)
Filter reviews
1,854 results
Traveller rating
392
931
402
91
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
931
402
91
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle makerbreadthe main shopping streetnorthern lightsdomino's pizzasea viewhot watermake your own waffleshappy hourpaper cupsthree startwo blocksblue lagoonherringbreakfast buffetsulphur smellexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,530 - 1,535 of 1,854 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Very good hotel within walking distnce to the city center, shopping and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a computer and internet for use in the lobby. Breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willingtotryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Ok so the hot water smells of sulphur but you get used to that otherwise a lovely place.
Not five star but the staff where very helpful. Breakfast was excellent continental with lots of choices including make your own waffles.

The rooms are basic tourist class not business class (the mini bar was empty) but very comfotable and warm.

We arrived at 2am and needed some water the receptionist advised of a 24 hour store behind the hotel (less than 100 metres) where I got some snacks and drinks.

It is ideally placed for a walk through the shops to downtown a 10 minute stroll of £4 taxi ride at the end of the night. Do try Cafe Paris where we had the best service and visited twice. Food and drinks about the same or cheaper than London.

We came away determined to visit againin the spring

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grabcsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

On arrival, we were offered a choice of the 'historical' or 'modern' room, no additional charge. We were told that the historical rooms were smaller, but more romantic... They certainly were! The rooms were very cute, with a slanted ceiling and skylights. They were furnished to represent a particular era. Bathroom okay, but nothing special.

We also saw the 'modern' room. They were a little roomier, but were basically a standard hotel room, with no distinguishing features.

Breakfast was more than adequate for a 3 star hotel, including cereals, toast, breadrolls, meats and cheese, and fruit. There was also a waffle maker, however I couldn't be bothered waiting for them to cook!

Located approx 10 minutes walk from the city centre, and with free parking.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful, some more so than others.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank jod1emcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We've just stayed at Hotel Baron as part of the Icelandair deal and I would recommend it compared to the others offered as the location is much better - a 5 - 10 min walk from the hotel and you are right in the heart of Reykjavik. The Hilton and Loftleider are right out of town.

We emailed the hotel before we arrived to ask if we could be moved to a historic room as we had heard these are much nicer - the staff were really helpful and moved us without a problem. The room was small and basic, but really cozy and very pretty.

The staff at the hotel both before and during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is good - all the usual staples plus fruit, cheese, ham, herrings etc. Don't miss the waffle maker!

I'd definitely recommend the hotel - it's not flash, but for the price and the location it's the best on offer for the Icelandair deal.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Just returned from a weekend in Reykjavik and have only favorable things to say about this hotel. The accommodations are by no means luxurious, but they are comfortable, clean and located within easy walking distance to Laugevegur, the main shopping street. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in recommending and booking tours. The rooms were decently sized and bathrooms clean (though you should bring your own shampoo/conditioner). There was also free, though occasionally spotty, Wi-Fi in the rooms. Breakfasts were included in the price (we booked a package deal through Icelandair), and consisted of an assortment of cold cuts, breads, cereals, fruit and make-your-own waffles. (Caveat: if you have never made my own waffles before, I recommend watching someone else do it first!).

In summary: If you're looking for a comfortable and clean place to crash in between exploring all that Iceland has to offer, then I don't think you could go wrong here.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any specific questions. AB

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewintheHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews