We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I could not say anything bad about this hotel. It was clean, conveniently located, and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

This hotel was in a great location, less than 10 minutes walk from the main shopping street, which in turn was less than that from the main restaurants, city pond etc. There was also a very handy 24 hours convenience shop behind the hotel. We didnt have a sea view, but many rooms do, as the hotel is on the road that rns along the sea front.
Like most icelanders, all the staff spoke excellent English, and were very friendly and helpful. There was a bit of maintenance work going on in the hotel,. but this didnt really get in the way. The breakfast was perfectly adequate for a hotel of this price range - different breads, cheese, cold meats, cereal, fruit, and best of all waffles!
The rooms were clean and the beds super comfortable, and it was very quiet. The en suite was just a shower - no bath, but this is not a problem for a short break. All in all it was very good value for what we paid. I would love to go back to Iceland, and would have no problem with staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0relei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Allocated a fourth floor room overlooking the sea and mountains. Nice clean room with sufficient storage. Bathroom was fine although the sulphur smelling water from the hot taps takes a little getting used to - but that is common to all hotel rooms in Reykjavik. The hotel is just a five minute walk from the main shopping street, with its numerous bars and restaurants. A really excellent location as the rooms to the front of the hotel have good views and no traffic noise. A very good Icelandic buffet breakfast is served every day and the hot waffles are a nice addition. What makes this hotel really stand out is the service provided by the reception team. They are happy to give advice, book excursions and restaurants and nothing is too much trouble. Free access to the internet in the reception lobby is useful for booking trips and checking-in for the return flight. A very comfortable and convenient base for a short break in Iceland.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aptalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Very good hotel within walking distnce to the city center, shopping and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a computer and internet for use in the lobby. Breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willingtotryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Ok so the hot water smells of sulphur but you get used to that otherwise a lovely place.
Not five star but the staff where very helpful. Breakfast was excellent continental with lots of choices including make your own waffles.

The rooms are basic tourist class not business class (the mini bar was empty) but very comfotable and warm.

We arrived at 2am and needed some water the receptionist advised of a 24 hour store behind the hotel (less than 100 metres) where I got some snacks and drinks.

It is ideally placed for a walk through the shops to downtown a 10 minute stroll of £4 taxi ride at the end of the night. Do try Cafe Paris where we had the best service and visited twice. Food and drinks about the same or cheaper than London.

We came away determined to visit againin the spring

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grabcsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

On arrival, we were offered a choice of the 'historical' or 'modern' room, no additional charge. We were told that the historical rooms were smaller, but more romantic... They certainly were! The rooms were very cute, with a slanted ceiling and skylights. They were furnished to represent a particular era. Bathroom okay, but nothing special.

We also saw the 'modern' room. They were a little roomier, but were basically a standard hotel room, with no distinguishing features.

Breakfast was more than adequate for a 3 star hotel, including cereals, toast, breadrolls, meats and cheese, and fruit. There was also a waffle maker, however I couldn't be bothered waiting for them to cook!

Located approx 10 minutes walk from the city centre, and with free parking.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful, some more so than others.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank jod1emcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We've just stayed at Hotel Baron as part of the Icelandair deal and I would recommend it compared to the others offered as the location is much better - a 5 - 10 min walk from the hotel and you are right in the heart of Reykjavik. The Hilton and Loftleider are right out of town.

We emailed the hotel before we arrived to ask if we could be moved to a historic room as we had heard these are much nicer - the staff were really helpful and moved us without a problem. The room was small and basic, but really cozy and very pretty.

The staff at the hotel both before and during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is good - all the usual staples plus fruit, cheese, ham, herrings etc. Don't miss the waffle maker!

I'd definitely recommend the hotel - it's not flash, but for the price and the location it's the best on offer for the Icelandair deal.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,144 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £103 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing