We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small studio but location is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luna Hotel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small studio but location is excellent”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed five nights in the studio apartment in the Spítalastíg 1 location near the end of May. The studio and location met my needs and was a short walking distance to lots of good places to eat, shopping, Grayline tour office, and some sightseeing places. The small Bonus grocery store is just around the corner (about a 2 minute walk). I only bought bottled water, juices, Skyr drinks, and snacks there. There's a German bakery one block over and great for morning pastries or a small sandwich. The entrance to the apartments has steps up to the front door (about 3 or 4) and then another 7 steps to go down to the studio that I was assigned. I also noticed about 7 steps going upstairs to the bigger accommodations. The blackout drapes made sleeping easy even when the the daylight didn't end until 11PM. As another reviewer stated, you definitely need to bring ear plugs because the window is right at street level and people are almost always walking by and talking loudly. Locals calls are free from the room. My towels were changed and trash was emptied every two days. I was able to leave my bags at the front office at Baldursgata 36 on the day that I had to check out at 11AM for a couple hours before the Flybus Plus came to pick me up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mw808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    69
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
90
140
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Prebooking process was great. I had many email questions and Daniel and Hrafnkell were very patient and accommodating. We stayed at their Amtmannsstígur 5 apartment which was in a great location and only 5 minute walk to the main bus terminal.

We stayed from June 5-11, 2014 and with all the daylight (20+ hours) people seemed to stay out late. With our street level apartment is was quite noisy but still able to get to sleep. When we go to Iceland again we will stay here but in an upstairs apartment.

I recommend staying at Luna in this location.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upper floor, street level was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went to Reykjavik recently with my family, and it's usually pretty tough for all of us to find one hotel that has enough beds for all of us. The Luna Apartments were phenomenal and really gave us that home away from home feeling. We each had our own bedroom, a nice little kitchen and living space and two or three bathrooms (I really can't remember that bit). It was warm, cozy (thanks to the great geothermic water heating), and not to mention in a FANTASTIC location. Food in Iceland is much more expensive than we were all used to, so it helped that we could shop at the local grocery store at the top of the street to cut back on costs. That being said, we were walking distance from tons of restaurants and the main shopping area. We walked everywhere and never got bored.The owners were incredibly kind and were quick to give us tips about cool places to explore. The only thing I should probably mention is that the water was very sulfuric, both for drinking and for showering, but this was not the fault of the hotel, just something to be aware of. I HIGHLY recommend these little apartments.

Room Tip: If you have a decent group, Amtmannstigur 5 is the way to go :-) There were 4 bedrooms, and a total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that was very close to the town center, a supermarket, a bakery, and several restaurants. The apartment was quiet, clean and the beds were very comfortable, but I would not say it was "beautifully decorated." There was free wifi and local phone service. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Our only problem was that the office is not open all the time and they were difficult to reach. The phone system enabled us to make local calls, but we were not able to receive calls on it.

Room Tip: If you are used to having hotel staff available 24/7, this is not the place for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in a studio lower level - Purple Room. Small, compact, twin beds but had everything needed for a relaxing, stress free visit to the city. Traveling with teen daughter.
Roses: well maintained and clean, except for the dusty blinds; soft linens, comfy beds and plush towels. Hot water in the shower with a strong stream. Roomy closet. Good selection of kitchen wares to prepare meals. Excellent location with a bakery, grocery store and a couple of restaurants nearby. Coffee + sugar provided. Quiet neighborhood, Consistent, fast internet connection.
Thorns: This room's window opens to street level. People can see in if blinds open. Don't bring big suitcases, no place to store them. Street parking only. Must find and pay for your parking.
Definitely would stay again! We tried to reserve a spot for our return to Reykjavik, but they were already full booked. Reserve Early!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVidaLoca505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our Luna apartment at Klappastigur 1 is in a great location; walking distance to the Old Harbour and the city centre. The owner and staff were very cordial and helpful. Our 2-bedroom apartment was large and more than adequate for me and my 4 sisters. It is beautifully decorated, bathroom and kitchen fully equipped. Maid service was excellent! Very, very comfortable! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our corner apartment had floor length windows on 3 sides. Nice and bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are just back post our stay in the Luna apartments and I cannot recommend them highly enough, perfectly located in the city centre and the decor in the apartment we stayed in was absolutely stunning.
The staff were great, helpful and friendly, cannot recommend this apartment highly enough

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AClu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
990 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,612 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Apartments

Property: Luna Hotel Apartments
Address: Baldursgata 36, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna is a luxurious fully equipped apartment hotel, conveniently located in the heart of Reykjavík, in a quiet, charming, older residential area free from downtown traffic and noise, but in walking distance from the city center and Laugavegur, the main shopping street. It is also within walking distance from all major restaurants, bars, cafes, clubs, public transportation, museums, embassies and other activities. Luna is ideal for both short and long term stays. We offer studio, one bedroom, two bedroom, three bedroom and four bedroom apartments. All apartments are elegantly furnished with a private bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, free internet connection, satellite TV, radio and other small things to make life easier. If you want to enjoy your vacation or business trip then Luna is the right place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Luna Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing