We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stylish and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
101 hotel
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stylish and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Had a stunning room with views over the mountains and the harbour. Great service at the reception and the bar, happy hour cocktails were great! Very cool place, but comfortable and welcoming too. Ideally situated for exploring reykjavik on foot. Slightly noisy on the weekend but Icelandics are party people so to be expected for the centre of town. Would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binniemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    160
    55
    24
    23
See reviews for
53
223
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

101 Hotel has a modern creative design feel and clean comfortable rooms. My room was a nice size and perfect for business travel as well as with a companion. The breakfast buffet was well presented and had a large choice to satisfy any kind of craving. Service was friendly. It's rather expensive, but so is most everything in Iceland.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stay here everytime we are in Iceland - the hotel is awesome - very uba cool. The rooms are great and the beds comfortable - I love the bed linen so much I bought a bath mat from them. The rooms are spotless and the staff are very helpful. The rooms have Aveda toiletries complementary and a box of things you can purchase if you need extra stuff. The hot pool in the ground floor is a highlight of the visit - the water is extremely clean and good for you skin. The restaurant serves great food and we also enjoy eating there a couple of times during our stay - the choc cake is very tasty.
Mohitos are a main attraction for me at the bar here.
It has a lovely fireplace and relaxing sofa area to chill out in and have drinks and is our preferred drinking hole when in Iceland to escape the noise and drunkenness of other places. It is right downtown - so you won't need a car and can walk to everything in the city centre area.
We have also stayed here with our baby - he was given a baby cot and we took our listening walkie talkie machine with us so in the evening as the building is not huge we could sit downstairs in the restaurant and hear him if he woke up via the walkie talkie which was fantastic.
We highly recommend staying here - if your looking for a great weekend away in Iceland - then this is the place to stay during your visit!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street called Hverfisgata will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinak012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked in for 1 night on a monday in a junior suite. We were concerned about noise after reading other reviews, but we did not hear a peep. The room was stunning, with fab views. The staff were great, really welcoming and helpful. Brekkie was great too. The bacon was perfectly done!! We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoMuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Love this hotel for a business trip or private stay. They even have rooms with bath tub in the room and a separate shower! Furthermore a bose sound dock for great sound, although it does not charge my iPhone 4s. As free wifi no code needed. Perfect shot!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The 101 Hotel in Reykjavik is a great option for business or pleasure. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown, in close walking distance to the "old town" with lots of shops and restaurants. I enjoyed my stay, in a clean and cozy room on the fifth floor, overlooking the ocean port. The gym in the basement was even nice for a quick workout before heading out on the town. I highly recommend this hotel the next time you're in Iceland!

Room Tip: The bar on the first floor may be noisy in the evening, so a higher floor room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October for 2 nights. The hotel and rooms were modern and stylish. The staff was friendly and helpful in booking things. The location is great for walking around the city and close to restaurants and shops. The happy hour in the hotel draws quite a crowd. The Continental breakfast was nice spread and we had a nice meal at the hotel restaurant the first night. I read people complaining about the noise, but it wasn't anything out of the norm for a city on a Friday night. I would definitely stay here and visit Iceland again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellieMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Property: 101 hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing