We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
101 hotel
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
watertown, CT
Level Contributor
381 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The details of the 101 Hotel are great. The rooms are sizable if not huge. The food and bar are modern and interesting but still comfortable. But it is the location that really makes it perfect for a nice long weekend.

Room Tip: corner rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    160
    55
    24
    23
See reviews for
53
223
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel has everything you would need - including great people watching in the lobby on the weekends during the evenings. THe front desk staff are helpful and the rooms are big enough. We did not find it to be noisy the way that other reviews did. You can walk everywhere in Reykjavik from the Hotel, including the perfect cafe for breakfast across the street, The Grey Cat. We would stay there again. Our room looked out at Harpa - very beautiful at night.

Room Tip: We had our kids with us and they have us 2 rooms at the end of a hall which did not adjoin, but that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5travelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent 28-31 December 2011 here and doubt we could have made a better choice. As first-time visitors to Reykjavik (and Iceland), the central location (central to the old town, that is) of the hotel made it unnecessary to have any transportation of our own. Everything we wanted to see downtown was within walking distance. The Gray Line tours terminal was about a block away, too, and brought us all over.

Our room (505) was a bit small and sparse by American standards, but was very clean, tastefully decorated, well laid-out, and comfortable. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the room, other than sleeping and relaxing a bit, and the room was terrific for those purposes. If you're planning to spend most of your time in the room, though, this might not be the best place to stay. Also, our room wouldn't have been particularly amenable for many or rowdy children.

The bed was very comfortable (pretty firm, but didn't bother my wife, who generally prefers very soft, fluffy mattresses). A few more accessible electrical outlets would have been convenient, but they're there if you look for them. Also, drawer-type storage space is kind of limited, so don't bring too much.

The restaurant at the hotel doesn't look like much, but was surprisingly good. Lunch was average, but breakfast was very nice - fruit, yogurt and fixings, breads and rolls, juices, excellent coffee, and the best scrambled eggs I've ever eaten (I'm not a big scrambled egg fan, but these were really good).

One of the unexpected highlights of our trip was New Year's Eve dinner at the hotel restaurant, which we booked upon arrival. Throughout our trip, we sought out restaurants for a 'better' (than "hotel food") dinner. We were very fortunate that we didn't find an alternative that seemed better. The dinner was a seafood-oriented five course dinner that was one of the better meals I've eaten. What's more, we requested a vegetarian alternative to the meal only about two hours before the pre-planned, fixed menu dinner. Despite how unfair a thing that is to do to a kitchen, they came through with a really excellent five-course vegetarian meal. Coupled with a nice bottle of champagne (the only thing at the hotel that seemed a little pricey to me), it was a truly excellent meal. My compliments to the chef!

One sort of 'intangible' benefit that this hotel has, relative to many other hotels at which we've stayed, is its patient and knowledgeable staff. We asked many odd and specific questions to the desk personnel, the waiters, the bartender, and folks we found walking around. On the rare occasions when the person we asked was stumped, they scrambled to find out the answer and report back. That's an enormous help to travelers.

New Year's Eve in Reykjavik is pretty awesome, too. The whole town is very festive, and fireworks are launched almost constantly from about 8 p.m. until about 3 a.m. Around midnight, of course, they're the most concentrated, and the cathedral (ca. 3/8 mile up the road from the hotel) is a great place to watch them.

101 Hotel was located in a beautiful part of a beautiful town. It was an important part of why we enjoyed our visit so much.

Room Tip: The lobby seemed busy most nights, which would lead me to believe that rooms on the 1st and 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristyneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I spent three nights with friends in this hotel during the New Year, and I was very pleased with the place. The room (double) was spacious, and very nicely designed. Minimalist yet not too cold. The bar area beside the lobby was really beautiful and lively, it seemed like a lot of locals popped into the bar also. The small restaurant beside the bar did not look that inviting, so I would not stay in the hotel for dinner, plus the city seem to have lots of really good restaurants. The breakfast was served in the restaurant, and it was very good.
We did not try the gym downstairs, but we did try the spa. The spa is a tiny steam sauna and jacuzzi, nothing fancy, but nice and clean. And finally: The service in the lobby was very attentive.
All of all, very nice experience, I would stay there again. And hopefully will, since I truly loved Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, may be you should ask for a room not close by the street....a lot of par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huliFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

101 Hotel is in a very good location to experience Reykjavik. You are mere steps away from the main shopping street and many good cafes, bars and restaurants.

We stayed in a Junior Suite on a recent 3 day visit. The room was very modern and contemporary in its design, with plenty of windows that let in a lot of light (well, they would let in a lot of light in the summertime....). The mini bar was well stocked and there was free wi-fi which is always a plus. On the downside, we didn't think the bed was that comfortable, and if you are there on a Friday or Saturday night bring earplugs because people will be partying until 5am!

The service was very good throughout the hotel from the front desk to the bar/restaurant.

There is a small gym down in the basement which we used and is always a nice touch. There are a few machines and some dumbells, so don't expect too much, but enough to work up a sweat or work off some of that good food and drink you can experience in this city.

Speaking of food and drink, we ate dinner at two restaurants while in Iceland and would recommend both. The first was Grill Market (fantastic herring app, and lamb kabobs) and the second was Fish Company (great 'around Iceland' tasting menu).

To sum it up, we had a pretty good stay and a lot of fun. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that is not overlooking the street. There are two that border the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Had a stunning room with views over the mountains and the harbour. Great service at the reception and the bar, happy hour cocktails were great! Very cool place, but comfortable and welcoming too. Ideally situated for exploring reykjavik on foot. Slightly noisy on the weekend but Icelandics are party people so to be expected for the centre of town. Would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binniemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

101 Hotel has a modern creative design feel and clean comfortable rooms. My room was a nice size and perfect for business travel as well as with a companion. The breakfast buffet was well presented and had a large choice to satisfy any kind of craving. Service was friendly. It's rather expensive, but so is most everything in Iceland.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Property: 101 hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing