We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in a great location but keep expectations in check”
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
101 hotel
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 7 July 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 208 101 hotel

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Great, in the center of everything and on a more quiet street.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: The hotel provided a taxi pickup from the Int’l airport for 15000 ISK ($120). Flybus is much cheaper but less convenient.

TYPE OF ROOM: Double Deluxe

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Mattress was old and we could feel the springs. Sheets were excellent as were the pillows.

LIGHTING: Adequate lighting in bathroom and shower.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom is part of the bedroom and has no privacy. Shower pressure is good with inconsistent water temperature.

TOILETRIES: Great! Aveda products

CLEANLINESS: Entire hotel and room was spotless.

A/C: No AC in room and it was a bit hot. Opening the window helped.

STYLE OF ROOM: Somewhat stylish with a few quirks. Was expecting better. We had a view of a wall with our US$625 double deluxe room.

COMMON AREA: Was expecting better based on the hotel website. Very small common area. Hallways walls were painted dark and had low lighting… Tried to be trendy but ended up with a dark, ugly hallway to the room.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Hotel room was quiet but the sunlight could not be blocked well and it was light in the room when trying to sleep.

FOOD: Breakfast was good but not included in the room. They had a selection of American items as well as European breakfasts.

TV/INTERNET: Didn’t use TV / Wifi had a mediocre signal and was at no charge.

SERVICE: Excellent.

SUMMARY: Good place to stay in Reyk but keep your expectations low. We stayed at Hotel Borg as well and I preferred the Borg as it felt more of a luxury hotel to me (still nothing special). Next time I will probably check out the apartments for rent on Tripadvisor that have excellent reviews and probably a much better price as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the outside versus a wall like we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Fantastic little hotel right in the centre of town. Extremely helpful and friendly staff who booked and recommended all our sightseeing activities which turned out to be great. The hotel is within walking distance to all bars and restaurants.
Our room was very modern and although not overly spacious it was laid out well and had everything we needed, including a DVD player.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loverofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at 101 hotel Reykjavik for 3 nights, and I could advise not to stay on weekends unless you are fond of loud parties. We arrived at our own car and it took quite a lot of time to find a parking place nearby.
The room is not large and overloaded with the goods for sale (minibar on the table and a lot of cosmetics). See-through WC (ok, almost see-through) and washstand in the living room may be disappointing for someone)). There is not a great choice for breakfast, but food is very fresh. And the door to the jaccuzzi is difficult to open!
Staff is friendly and helpful, and overall appearance is good enough. Overpriced, but the expensive country is an excuse)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SvetlaKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had a special offer price so 2 nights here was lovely, but I think it's quite expensive on a normal price. I asked for high floor and had a fab room looking towards the sea. the open-planned bathroom was very nice, all mirrors and glass everywhere! you can actually wash your hair whilst admiring the view...and there are net curtains if you feel a bit 'watched'! bed comfortable and the sheets first class! I was backpacking so not much bagage but there is little hanging space for heavy travellers! lots of products to buy in the room (there is complimentary shampoo soap and conditioner) but be careful of extras like the fancy eye-covers that have a price on them! as everywhere around iceland, the blinds let in the daylight during the night so can be difficult to sleep all night! breakfast also rather design with a designers price tag! had it one morning but the next went elsewhere! great location though, you can't get more central! trendy bar in the reception area so make sure you get a high floor!

Room Tip: make sure you are nowhere near the reception area where there's a trendy bar! sea view was fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in Reykjavik for 2 nights, which was just enough time as there isn't too much to do in the city. Nevertheless, you can take many excursions from the city centre so you won't run out of things to do.

Hotel 101 was a perfect base for us, as it's extremely close to all the restaurants and bars. It's a lovely modern hotel with fantastic service and facilities. There's a lovely gym, jacuzzi and steam room down in the basement which seemed always to be vacant, so nice and private for couples.

We were in a standard room, which was very spacious, with a lovely walk-in rain shower room. The only problem is that the loo is almost in the middle of the room, so even if you're married and past all the airs and graces, it's still a little too close for comfort! You just have to put the radio or TV on :)

The breakfast which is included in the B&B price isn't great - you can just have cereals/juice/cold meats, scrambled eggs, tea and coffee. You have to pay for any of the ordered breakfasts, which I thought was a bit disappointing since the standard hotel room is quite expensive to start with.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family who like a modern feel. If you like a more traditional feel, you might not feel overly comfortable here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliesophiebeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Location was good....near stores but not too close to all the touristy bars. It does have rooms overlooking a bar, so you could be impacting by early-morning revelers leaving the bars. We had a room facing the inner courtyard/ so it was very quiet for us.

Staff were helpful and sociable/friendly, but really as you would expect to be at a nice hotel.

Room was comfortable but a bit small. Price was what I'd expected from seeing all the reviews for many hotels. Iceland is not cheap despite their recession.

We ate dinner 1 time and selected the burgers, which were good but not overly memorable. It does get busy....so unlikely to get a seat in peak times without a reservation. After the meal, the bar was very popular.

Room Tip: Inner rooms offer quiet but not much of a view. South rooms have view of harbor. Depends on what i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TcarlGren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

101 Hotel was a cool place to stay. Even the all dark purple hallways were unexpected, and somehow soothing after that overnight flight. The staff were helpful, even pointing our group to off-the-beaten path attractions in the Golden Circle area. Be sure to visit the small spa in the basement, just the thing after a day of sightseeing. I always sleep with earplugs, so noise was not a problem, but my sleepless friend enjoyed looking at the Harpa concert hall while adjusting to the time difference.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ixlilixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,152 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
417 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Sandhotel
Sandhotel
#29 of 54 in Reykjavik
58 reviews
Reykjavik Marina Residence
#46 of 54 in Reykjavik
31 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#22 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £237 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing