We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
101 hotel
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Sated here earaly Jan nad its one of the best hotels in the area very modern,clean and contemporary. Excellent customer service (to be honest all Iceland venues were) Definately will return even fif its just for the hip/trndy bar

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisalisManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for 101 hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay but went to the 101 bar for a cocktail based on recommendations in guide book. There was no one else in the bar but it took 25 minutes for our over-priced cocktails to arrive and one of them was utterly disgusting, with squirty cream dumped on the top. No atmosphere. There are 101 better places to go than here.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank CatfeastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hadn't been since 2008 and it hadn't changed nor aged a bit - still a bit quirky and cool, but low key and stylish. Whilst certainly not a great hotel, its got a good vibe, friendly and very comfortable. Rooms are good, bed very comfortable and breakfast more than adequate. Location excellent and a good bet in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I went to Reykjavik for a long weekend and stayed at 101 Hotel. This is a great hotel, small, quite and very clean and modern. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We arrived early in the morning and they were very accommodating and helped us with places to park the car and even put some money in the meter while we slept for a while.

The hotel is located in the center of Reykjavick and you can walk to all the shops and restaurants.

The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bathroom area was nice and roomy, complete with bathrobes and slippers.

The hotel lobby/bar is great during the day after coming back from exploring Iceland and great at night to stop in before going to bed. At night you can here some drunk people outside but that is also very random and did not bother us and did not last very long. If Iceland is on one of your top places to go, you should go and stay at 101 Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taramarievan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After witnessing what seems like dozens of other hotels in Reykjavik thanks to the flybus and jeep tour pick-up rounds we couldn't be happier that we choose 101. Easily the best located hotel that we saw, very close to the central shopping streets and great restaurant choices... also close to the famous hot-dog stand!

Did not arrive until 2am and they made check-in as quick and painless as possible.

The room was cozy, hard bed soft sheets were excellent. One suggestion - summer or winter if you're there over the weekend bring earplugs! Bars do not close until late, 3-4am. After midnight on Friday and Saturday night there was a steady stream of drunks wandering around on the surrounding streets. This seems to be the norm though, I'd pack them wherever you're staying... we saw some pretty amusing things en route to the airport at 530am!

Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. The bar is a bit of a local scene, very chic.

Will definitely stay here again if we plan another Iceland trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back or on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMrsJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at 101 for only 1 night as part of our honeymoon. The hotel was very pleasant and conveniently located for a stroll around Reykjavik but we unfortunately didn't have time for much else. Our room was very modern in comparison to the more traditional places we stayed on our trip but was very comfortable and provided a nice contrast. Food in the restaurant was nice, I would recommend this place for a stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay here. The hotel is ideally situated and we found it easily - note there is no parking, but a short walk from an undercover car park.
We were disappointed by our room. It looks as it appears on the photos at first glance but there were a few things we were disappointed with. In the room there was only a tiny shampoo, conditioner, 1 soap and an already used moisturiser! No shower gel, so we had to use the soap in the shower then keep putting it back by the sink. Had we been staying longer we would have asked for more - but you shouldn't have to ask for basic items like shower gel.

The room has very little storage space, lots of the spare space is taken up with items for sale (each room has things from boxer shorts, books to blue lagoon shampoo available to buy) Also the headboard was covered with a sheet - not so chic!
My biggest complaint about this hotel was that there was no hot drink making facilities in the rooms (no kettle or coffee maker) I asked for a kettle but the man on reception wasn't very apologetic and said he couldn't find one, they must all be being used. But I could go to the bar and ask for a pot of hot water (the bar closes until 7am so you can't get a hot drink until then) If Iceland was warm this wouldn't have been such an issue, but its freezing outside so not having hot drinks facilities seemed very poor. I wouldn't stay here again, we were told it was one of the best hotels in the area but were disappointed with our stay.

Room Tip: No hot drinks facilities in the rooms and take shower gel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arraminta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,113 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 53 in Reykjavik
396 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Holt
#10 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#21 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: £294 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing