We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view, we will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room With a View Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room with a view, we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in L803 which is a huge 5 bedroom apartment just down the street from the main building...terrific location, every furnishing you could need, wireless 24 hr Internet (yes it's 4 am when I am typing this), and super service from all the staff....The team recommended GTI for tours and they were brilliant...also we had dinner at caruso's just down the street which was special...cool Reykjavik, we will be back......

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank darrent70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    287
    106
    30
    34
See reviews for
138
323
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Based on my fellow tripadvisor reviewers, I chose room 603, a very cool room accesssed by the 5th floor. Truly a room with a view. However, it was not available the first night due to a plumbing repair. I was given a room on the third floor instead. Roomy? Yes. Ikea feel? Yes. Clean? Yes. Room with a view? No. It was spacious, modern and had a huge jacuzzi tub but the view from the top is amazing. The location is also great. I do recommend this hotel and it's great airport transfers with their own taxi. When booking a tour though, go with the very knowledgeable tourist information center down the same street.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57alisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A very central location right on the main street through Reykjavik. We weren't sure what to expect, and were very pleasantly surprised.

The 1st floor room was large, with a good kitchen and dining table, very large bed, TV, DVD etc etc, and floor to ceiling windows looking onto the main street & cafe opposite (good for breakfast!).

Very clean, with a nice sized bathroom with monster hot tub. Plenty of space for luggage etc.

So, excellent location for exploring Reykjavik, but three downsides:

1) The noise at night and in the morning. Drunken folk screeching and shouting as they weave their way down the road outside at 03:00 was not welcome. Then a couple of hours later the street cleaners arrived and spent what felt like 2 hours going up & down the road with noisy machines.
2) The wifi on our floor wasn't working properly but I was able to use the wifi in the cafe opposite.
3) The bed was one of those trendy wooden ones with a big frame that sticks out beyond the mattress. Cue numerous smashed shins on the sharp corners for me & Mrs T.

If you don't mind the noise (or value a cool, central location more highly, and have earplugs), it's a very nice place. Maybe best to request a room higher up than the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is my second stay at Room With A View, the first time being over 10 years ago and in winter. This place is located on the main shopping street in Reykjavik which is a very convenient location during the day. However, at this time of year, young folks are out in the streets partying at all hours of the night. We were awakened several times each night between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. by loud, screaming drunks. Nothing that the management can do about this, but just be aware that if you're planning to get some sleep to go on any excursions, you would be advised to bring earplugs. The apartment itself was very nice but the cleaning staff could be a little better. When we checked under beds for any possible items that we might be leaving behind, it appeared that they hadn't dusted under the beds in months. It was nice however to be able to have our own fully functional kitchen so that we could have some meals in and not pay for a restaurant for every meal.

The front desk staff was very accommodating in helping us to book excursions and the trip back to the airport. Unless you have a group of 4 or more, use the bus and don't bother with the taxi. The taxi will get you there quickly, but it's really not worth the extra expense unless you're in a big hurry.

Room Tip: If you are truly looking for a view, only the top floor apartments will provide that. Otherwise all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our 3 bedroom apt. was comfortable and centrally located. However, the phones didn't work for the entire 4 days we were there. The place is a bit worn and could be cleaner but the location is great if you want to be in the thick of things in Reykjavik. If you're someone who can't sleep with any kind of noise, though, this is not the place for you. It's on the street with all the clubs and is very noisy until about 6 a.m. every night (not just weekends) and then the loud street sweeper comes along. I think I'd try another place on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great friendly, front desk personnel and service. But no telephone system in half the hotel. Jacuzzis not always functional. Cleaning personnel rude and relatively inefficient. Make sure you get a TOTAL price in writing when booking so you know what you are really paying. Although they say rates are locked in at booking date, that is not true because when we departed, we spent an additional $300 dollars because of their undisclosed summer rates. Nevertheless, the location is great, especially on the upper floors -- away from the noisy main street -- and the penthouse rooms are truly Rooms with a View.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The cleaning staff unlocked my room at some time after 11am and never closed it back up, nor did they even bother to clean the room! Came back at 6:45pm and door was wide open - in fact, it was latched open to a hook in the wall. Terrible and inexcusable. Front desk staff had no clue what to say or do. This is even worse than the noise until 4am from the bar across the street. I would call this place loud and now unsafe, too. Look elsewhere. Thank goodness nothing was taken, but that was just luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Property: Room With a View Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing