We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value By Reykjavik Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value By Reykjavik Standards”
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Our experience with our stay at Room With A View Apartments was very positive. We had a 6th floor room with an exterior balconey that provided a great view of the harbor and the downtown area. From the outside this place didn't look impressive but the accomodations were fine. The bed was extremely comfortable; everything was clean and in good working order; and the staff was available to provide assistance when requested. This is definately a place you should consider staying at when visiting Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ThreePuttPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    299
    110
    33
    34
See reviews for
150
331
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2005

If you want to discover Reykjavik, then Room with a view is ideally situated in the heart of town, within easy reach of a wide selection of restaurants.

We decided to go self-catering because we were travelling with an 18 months old baby and felt a hotel or guest house would not offer enough privacy and flexibility. We were very lucky to find Room with a View via a search engine and just their website is an invitation to travel. Our flat (number 603, 1 bedroom with King size bed, situated on 6th floor) was very nicely decorated and had everything we needed, including a cot and a high chair.

Arni and Siggi were very helpful every time we had a question, lending us DVDs, giving us advice on what to do... When they say they're here to help, they mean it! The view from the balcony is breathtaking, even when the weather is bad and access to the jacuzzi is a wonderful plus.

Arni and Siggi certainly made our stay special. If you want a nice time in Reykjavik, then start with booking your stay at Room with a View, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wagali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 June 2005

My friend booked this hotel (she sorted it via a website) and on arrival she told us that the owner (Siggi) was very very helpful & had answered all her enquiries via email, and went out of his way to see that we were catered for.
Once you get outside the apartments you dont really know what to expect, but once in the rooms you will be amazed! Very Very clean & large rooms, with contemporary furniture (Large leather sofa's for lazying about).
The bedrooms were big & had lot of storage space. Also we had a jacuzzi on the balcony.
We went on all the trips (guizers, blue lagoon etc). and we hired a jeep for the day to take us snowmobiling etc.
It was truely one of the best hols weve been on. There were 9 girls that went, and each one of us was very very impressed. We would all go back to this place again.
Staff are lovely & friendly. Cannot fault it!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 June 2005

We traveled to Iceland as part of our honeymoon. Our first stop was Reykjavik. and we booked Room With a View after we found out a friend was going to be staying there and had heard good things.

Finding the place was the first order of business. It's tucked on the upper floors of a building on Laugavegur, Rekjavik's main shopping street (great location, close to everything on the hill, and walking distance to downtown). It's entrance is pretty nondescript, especially coming from one side, but we found it, and Siggi buzzed us in.

The hallway looks more like an old office building, but once Siggi opened the door to our apartment, I was impressed. We had a studio, smaller than most, but I chose it for it's private whirlpool tub. The upper floor apartments share an outdoor hot tub and have the actual 'Room With a View' of the harbor. The decor is very Scandinavian modern, with quirky touches i loved, like an antique dentist chair instead of your normal sidechair. The room was stocked with candles and cds to set the mood. The room had a kitchenette tucked behind folding doors, perfect for our breakfast muesli and skyr (yum). There's a Bonus grocery store right up the street to grab essentials. That gave us more money for fancier dinners. The bathroom was gorgeous, and I loved the whirlpool each evening.

The biggest problem we had was that we had a car and had to keep the meters happy, since there is no parking on site, but this is a tight urban setting, so we obliged. It got a little noisy at night with the windows cracked open a little, since there are restaurants and bars nearby (but vegamot across the way was yummy!).

We highly recommend Room With a View. It's size, location, and decor were the perfect blend for a few nights in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2005

Found this apt hotel through recommendations on tripadvisor as well as several other sites. Very happy to find this gem.
The location is excellent, on the main shopping street in Reykjavik, with multiple restaurants nearby. Convenient to all major tourist sites and areas (all within walking distance). The airport flybus and almost all tour companies will pick-up/drop off in front of the hotel. In addition, a tour agency is located 2 doors away. An added bonus, local calls are free.
The view from the balcony is breathtaking. A clear view of the harbor and sunset (when not raining/cloudy) can be enjoyed from the balcony. A jacuzzi is also available but it was too cold and rainy to use at the time of the visit. Because it is located on a main street, street noise can be a bit loud. However, this was only noticeable on Saturday night when revelers were out in full force and partying continued until about 5AM.
Dining out in Iceland can cause quite a bit of sticker shock. Having a kitchenette where leftovers can be enjoyed later or meals could be prepared was key to helping keep costs down. The hotel is within short walking distance to 2 convenience stores and a large grocery store.
Arni was an excellent and friendly "host", with helpful info by e-mail and phone prior to arrival. He was easily available by phone when the office wasn't open (even at odd hours when calling from the US - I forgot what the time difference was).
Despite a guaranteed early arrival, my room was not ready upon arrival at 8AM. However, Arni immediately prepared another room for my use, ready within 15 minutes, until my reserved room was available. He also provided multiple suggestions for tours, booking them as needed, and shopping. He drove me to an art shop when I inquired about Icelandic arts and informed me about VAT refunds.
My trip to Rekjavik was done in 2 parts. When I returned to Rekjavik, my room was not available as the previous people decided to extend their stay. Arni upgraded me to a much larger apt in a nearby building for the same price.
The website is very informative, noting the savings if the rate is paid in cash (TC not accepted). This is esp true as the US$ has not been doing very well (esp against the Ikr).
Overall, excellent value and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank not2far2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 May 2005

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on the top floor. What a view! We really enjoyed the kitchen, the deck and the view. The building is set up like you would expect a six story concrete building with apartments/flats and a nice book store on the first floor. There is an elevator, is clean and our unit had everything in it if for cooking or bringing something back in to eat. Reception is on one of mid level floors. The furniture and decorations are high quality and the layout is very comfortable. You could entertain there if you wanted. The location is right in town on a shopping street with restaurants, bars, coffee shops, book stores and food stores nearby. It can get a little noisy at night as the night crowd is lively. You don’t hear car horns, garbage or delivery trucks but people singing and good natured discourse on the streets. Imagine people singing! Arni and Shiggy are really great people and very helpful. Their website is full of helpful information. Unless you need the services of a hotel I don’t know why you would stay in one. We rented a car and found street parking easy to deal with. We were very fortunate to find this place.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2005

Room with a view apartments were great when I stayed there in May 04. Excellent value compared with a standard hotel and it is definitely worth the extra money of one of the better apartments.

  • Stayed May 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MasterGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Property: Room With a View Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing