We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The best thing about the CenterHotel Klopp was the location. It's just around the corner from the main street and only a 5 minute walk to the harbour, where a lot of the tour companies depart from (and the worlds best hot dog can be eaten!).

The room was basic and small. There was a mini fridge, though this was full of drinks/snacks already so there wasn't a lot of room to add anything of your own. There was also a kettle with some fruit teas, but no english tea! This did however seem to be hard to find anywhere in Iceland. We had wifi in the room, which was really helpful when planning where to eat and what to do.

The staff were polite, friendly and happy to help when arranging trips/excursions. The breakfast was nice and included toast, rolls, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, jams, pastries, juices and hot drinks.

You get what you pay for, and in this instance you get a decent no frills hotel in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    365
    173
    41
    29
See reviews for
97
392
76
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel through a Groupon deal offering a trip to see the Northern Lights, staying 4 nights at Centerhotel Klopp. The standard room seemed very small, and the shower room even smaller, with a tiny wet room area for the shower situated bang slap next to the lavatory - not good if two people wanted to use the facilities at the same time for different reasons!
Although clean, there were a few signs of wear and tear that had not been repaired/addressed, such as the bathroom window not shutting properly and consequently being pretty chilly in Iceland in November! We had to stuff a towel along the gap to try and stop the gale blowing through. We reported this to reception, but nothing was done about it. There was a kettle in the room, which is unusual in Iceland apparently, and a small fridge containing soft drinks and chocolate bars etc.
The deal offered only breakfast, which was pretty decent although no hot food was available, apart from the toast. The staff varied, but overall were very helpful and communicative, if not exactly friendly. This was in contrast to most of the other people we came into contact with in Iceland, such as the shopkeepers and tour guides, who were very friendly and all spoke perfect English.
The room we were in overlooked a building site as there is a lot of rebuilding/renovation going on in the immediate area, so at 8.00 the heavy machinery turned up along with the workforce, so if you were wanting a lie in you were out of luck!
All in all, this hotel only just deserves its 3 star award and I would look to stay somewhere else, or at least upgrade, next time I go to Reyjkavik.

Room Tip: Try an upgrade as the standard room is very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a mess with our first hotel booking, and finally ended up at CenterHotel Klopp. The staff here are very friendly and helpfull, the location is superb, the breakfast is nice and so is the lobby. The rooms and the standard are ok, a tip is to get a room facing away from the main party street if you are not there to party.

Room Tip: A tip is to get a room facing away from the main party street if you are not there to party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport on Severn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Basic but warm and comfortable. Liked the central location but it can be noisy at the weekend so would suggest you take ear plugs. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. Only minor gripe - why only 4 coat hangers? This is a gripe with lots of hotels. Wire hangers are cheap and no one wants to steal them so why don't hotels provide more! We really enjoyed Iceland and used Arctic Adventures much better experience than with the larger operators.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spent a week at Hotel Klopp as part of the Iceland Airwaves music festival. The location was perfect. It's right in the center of the city, but on a quiet side street. What really made the trip special was the ever helpful front desk attendant, Hattie. Hattie took care of our every need. From giving us hints on places to shop, providing directions to different venues, arranging shuttles.... she did it all! She was super friendly and made my stay at Hotel Klopp a first class experience. This was not my first visit to Iceland, and I know from experience that you don't get this type of service at other hotels. You'll be in good hands at Hotel Klopp. Especially, if you're lucky enough to have Hattie at the front desk during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

One word: basic. It's warm, staff is friendly, bathrooms were recently redone, but that's about it. Standard Euro-style bfast in, literally, a nook. But bare bones, e.g., only hard boiled eggs, no other eggs; corn flakes or muesli/granola; no bananas or apples, just prunes, oranges, and watermelon. Yes, watermelon in Nov. rooms are myeh - twin beds in a single, you probably will have a view of other buildings or a lot, unless you get room 507 which has the best view. Other rooms on the top floor that face out same as 507 - lower floors and you're looking at other floors. Location is great - a short block from the main drag w shops & bars in downtown, so you're there but not directly above any noise. If I were to return here, I'd see what else is in this price range and only stay again if comparators were bleak.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NYCbasedglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in Hotel Klopp for a week in October'13. This hotel is basic, but it is situated in the city center location. The room was small enough, but clean and warm. Breakfast was decent and included cereal, ham,cheese, fresh fruit ect. Staff at the recepption was nice and very accomodating. Overall, very nice hotel and I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pink2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#23 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#29 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#17 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Property: CenterHotel Klopp
Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing