We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service for the money”
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great service for the money”
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I just returned from 4 nights in Reykjavik staying at CenterHotel Klopp. While the hotel is simple, the location is fantastic - one short block off the main shopping street, walking distance to just about everything to see in downtown Reykjavik. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, finding us a resturant open at 10pm that could seat 9 people, confirming excursion reservations, and helping re-book our airport transfer when we were stuck due to a volcanic eruption closing the airport! Breakfast was basic European fare: bread, meat, cheese, etc. Free wi-fi in the lobby only, also free computer use in lobby. Staff would print out boarding passes if needed. I would certainly stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone. There are newer/fanicer hotels in Reykjavik, (Hilton, Plaza and Grand) but they are not in the downtown area. Noise from street was a bit loud on weekend, but cannot fault hotel on that one, no window is horn honking proof!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulips_Windmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    375
    176
    42
    30
See reviews for
102
402
81
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I loved this little hotel, we travelled to Iceland in August and had the best time, the hotel is perfectly located for this small but gem of a city.
The breakfast was included and perfect to start the day, everything you could want in a continental breakfast with as much tea and coffee as you could want.
Would definitely recommend to anyone to stay here as it certainly was value for money, comfortable and perfectly situated.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope-Jane-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. The breakfast (cold items only, except for the coffee/tea), which is included in the price, was a good start to the day. The staff were all very helpful answering numerous questions about what to do in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gberkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keasbey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I stayed at the Centerhotel Klopp for $45 USD per night in a single room (queen bed, essentially two doubles pushed together) for 5 days. At first, I was a little taken back bc the room is small -- but all rooms in Europe generally are. But after staying there for 5 days, I have concluded that it was the best location in terms of proximity to everything, the staff was incredibly knowledgeable and nice & it was worth the money I paid.

My only complaint would be that there isn't sufficient light in the room. Also, you can't regulate the heat in the room, but you can open the window and that balanced it out for me when it got too hot.

The bathroom is small, but has a dryer, and the shower is a standing shower (no bathtubs). But I had no problems with anything really. There is bar/breakfast each morning, which is small but sufficient. They serve breakfast 7-10am. I had a friend who was staying at the Fosshotel Lind and she said that my room was more modern/nicer than hers, so there you go.

Remember, you only sleep in the hotel, nothing else. For that purpose, this hotel is perfect in every way. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjani6898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just returned from a three night stay in Iceland. It was a fantastic break made all the more memorable by our stay at the Klopp. A room with a view of the ocean and mountains, breakfast to set you up for the day, coffee on tap. The receptionist Helga greeted us with a very warm welcome that continued throughout our stay and she is a credit to the hotel. Would we go to Iceland again? yes yes yes. Would we stay at the Klopp again? would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveIcelandSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyton, Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Hotel Klopp is located in the Center of Reykjavik just off the main shopping drive. The location is fantastic, the hotel itself clean and functional looking recently renovated, or quite new - not sure which. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were extremely personable and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARJPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLYOKE, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I paid about $50 a night for the small but well-fitted room. The bed was comfortable, the room was warm, there was very little sulfur smell to the water (the whole city is geothermally heated, so most places smell a bit), and the fixtures were modern (though cheap IKEA style). It was just me, but I think two people could do OK in the space. The only negative was that the TV was small with limited channels, but since I wasn't there to watch TV, I didn't care much. What was amazing was 1) they let me check in at 8am for that day's reservation without problem or additional charges, 2) there was a free computer in the lobby to check email, etc., 3) the breakfast was a plentiful buffet of protein and carbs and served until 10:30am, and 4) the hotel was only 1 block from the main street, but far enough away to not be too loud. There is also an awesome restaurant across the street, Cafe Rosenberg, that has mellow/live music every night, a super-friendly owner/cook, great/affordable (for Iceland) food, and awesome atmosphere. (I recommend the char/lobster dish, though the owner said I need to get the lamb when I return.) A great place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THERMODANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Residence Suites
Reykjavik Residence Suites
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Property: CenterHotel Klopp
Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing