We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“101 Guesthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 101 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
101 Guesthouse
Ranked #86 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“101 Guesthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

It wasn't anything super good or bad.. The rooms, showers and toilets are fine. The wifi was excellent and free. The bread at breakfast was only edible if i toasted it. Also they only had cheese, jam and one type of meat for the bread or crackers, not much choice... I could also hear most of what my neighbors were saying/doing..

Room Tip: The rooms on the right side of the hotel if you stand in front of it, are lighter and bigger for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganxxxxx O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    45
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
38
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was my least favourite place we stayed in Iceland although it wasn't terrible. The location was good, being right at the beginning of the main downtown street. The main floor had a great breakfast buffet with tons of variety which we used daily 1,800kr. The rooms themselves were large enough but didn't seem all that clean. The beds were not very comfortable and it got extremely hot and muggy on the third floor and in our room. They offered a cheap breakfast for 6 Euros but we never used it as it was pretty basic. The bathrooms were decent but the one shower wasn't all that clean and the spray all over the place. It was 50/50 shot if you got a good temperature-either too hot or too cold most of the time. We were lucky as we timed the parking spots well and it wasn't busy season but the hotel boasts parking which really means 3 lousy spots that are almost always full. Free parking off the main street was easy to find though and not far from the hotel. I'd probably stay here again as it was one of the cheaper options and the value wasnt bad, but again, wasnt the nicest place I stayed on my trip by any means.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

slept four to a room, two showers/bathrooms in a wing, fantastic location within walking distance of all great shopping/sights and the harbour. small breakfast provided each morning, discreet entrance on the third floor. friendly workers, very low-key. beds were incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnathenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was the cheapest option we found to stay in central Reykjavik. It was cheap for Icelandic standards only. The place is clean and the room we got did not have a bathroom in the bedroom. Shower and WC were shared with all rooms in the same corridor (we found this to be common practice in Iceland). The media of age of guests was quite young and since we stayed there on a Friday night (runtur night in town) the place got a bit loud during the night. Breakfas is available but not included in the price. I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnabelaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hostel itself is very basic. But if you just need a clean room to sleep it's ok.
The personnel was very friendly and helpful towards me.
It is located in the third floor in an office building together with another hotel very close to the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortfinal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here for one night (our last night in Iceland). We stayed in a family room with 5 single beds. The bathrooms and showers were down the hall (shared). The guesthouse was clean, quiet, and well located. The mattresses could have been better. It was the best "value" lodging we could find for a single night stay in Reykjavik. Its not the Ritz, but you're not paying for the Ritz either. Comes with free wifi and a common shared kitchen/dining area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostondave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

101 Guesthouse is handily located about 20 minutes walk from "downtown" Reykjavik.The rooms are of a good size, clean, basically furnished and comfortable. At £5 a go, the (limited choice) buffet breakfast is a bargain. Do NOT expect TV, tea/coffee making kit, your own bathroom or toilet or even your room serviced during your stay BUT if you want fairly central, budget accomodation, and you aren't too fussy, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Miõborg
Loki 101 Guesthouse
Loki 101 Guesthouse
#30 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#21 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Igdlo Guesthouse
#13 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Heida's Home Center
#25 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Alba Guesthouse
#41 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 Guesthouse

Property: 101 Guesthouse
Address: Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — 101 Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guesthouse 101" is located in the City Center of Reykjavik. We offer friendly and personal atmosphere with modern, fresh, and spacious rooms. Choose from single, double, triple or family sized rooms, all with wash-basins and comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 101 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing