We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate and then some”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
“Adequate and then some”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I had a great two stays at Flokí. It's definitely a bit hostel-y, but the rooms that I stayed in were both comfortable, private, and clean, and the staff were very helpful.

Breakfast in the mornings is fairly basic, but they make pastries from scratch that tend toward deliciousness.

You get access to laundry facilities with the price of your room--this was invaluable after I came back from a five-day backpacking trip. During the trip, I was also able to store my extra bags in a small room at Flokí.

My only complaint is that it felt a bit overpriced, but that complaint applies to many of the amenities in Iceland during the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    187
    103
    44
    31
See reviews for
59
116
117
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a pompously described hostel that still gives more than enough reason to stay away.
The rooms and especially the beds, emit an awful stench, and without air conditioning or a normal window, can't be ventilated (the only window that can be opened is very small).
There are no private bathrooms and showers which surprised us (The concierge says that this is common among tourists who think that they booked a hotel).
What's worse is that there is only one bathroom and shower per floor (And each floor has about 4 rooms, which creates massive lines in the morning).
There is no daily cleaning service, which probably accounts for the stench and dirt in the rooms.
Breakfast is served in a plastic, tent-like hut, and in the morning, the smell is terrible and it's so small that your chances of having a private conversation is equally small.
In addition, on our 2nd day, we asked for new towels and an extra blanket, but they had no blankets to spare and we could barely find a 2nd towel.
Luckily, our travel agent managed to find us another hotel later that day, and we could finally rid ourselves from that place.
Avoid!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liron_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Lund, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Booked a single room, it was in a separate building. Although I waited until check-in-hour, and was asked to wait another 30 min (in order to prepare my room), the room was not ready or cleaned when I got there. The room and bed was ok, but there was no smoke detector. Bathroom in hallway, was ok. The Venetian blinds did not help much in shutting the light night out. In the backyard there were noisy construction workers starting early. Breakfast in a tent, very uncosy.
Floki has 5 separate buildings with rooms, but free Wi-Fi only in the major building.
Staff at reception very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is NOT a Hotel it is a run down youth hostel consisting of several buildings in a neighborhood converted to maximum room lodging. Location is very poor as down hill on other side of church not near "historic" and downtown area. Breakfast is in a tent outside the main building. Rooms and showers/baths were moldy and very smelly. We were not there in the heat of Iceland...early June was our dates. This "Hotel" was booked through Icelandic Farm Holidays and was a huge disappointment considering the first night of our trip was in Guesthouse Sunna - perfectly located, clean, fresh, and renovated - NOT a HOSTEL. The front desk tried to accommodate us and showed us three different rooms but it was a compromise of least smelly and dank. We really at that last night in Iceland didn't have a choice. Do not book here. manager said well we are a Hostel not a Hotel. That says it all.

Room Tip: Do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hmmm...this is a tough review to write, because we came in just looking for a relatively inexpensive place to crash on our last night in Reykjavik before heading to the airport the next day; for that purpose, Hotel Floki did the job. However, if you're looking for a quaint, romantic getaway in the heart of the city, you'll be sorely disappointed.

First, the plusses. While it's a bit of a walk, you're within walking distance of the main drag of Reykjavik bars. If you're in town on a Friday or Saturday, it's worth your while to walk the 20 minutes and take in the after-midnight scene. After a night on the town, you're treated to a free breakfast at the hotel, which provides the traditional fare as well as some hot pecan rolls which were delicious. Additionally, service was universally solid from the front desk to the kitchen staff. Lastly, relative to other places in the greater downtown Reykjavik area, this place is cheap (unless you're lucky enough to grab yourself a private room at one of the Reykjavik hostels).

On to the bad/weird. One weird point is that the Hotel Floki is actually a series of buildings along a street in Reykjavik, so our place was actually a couple of blocks from the reception area and the breakfast hall. Secondly (but surprisingly not unusual during our stay in Iceland), you're working with a shared bathroom situation here. About 3 or 4 rooms per bathroom, so consider showering the night before to avoid the morning rush. Also, I would contend that the bathrooms could have been more frequently maintained, but bathroom grossness will vary depending on who you're sharing with on your floor. The rooms are adequate, but nothing to write home about; ours seemed to have more furniture than the room's space was able to accommodate, so our door would bang up against a chair when we opened it and there wasn't a ton of room to move about. Finally, while the hotel's advertising of 'free parking' is technically true, it really just means that you can park on the street and there aren't any meters since you're basically in a residential area.

To summarize, I'd recommend showing up expecting to stay at a hostel equivalent with your own private room. Additionally, if you're in Reykjavik, enjoy the city and don't spend time in your hotel to do much more than sleep. Keep these tips in mind, and you'll be fine. Otherwise, you'll end up an unhappy camper and will be the person that meanders back to this website to give a one-star review/screed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I read the reviews on here before I booked and it seemed like it got pretty decent reviews, so I was happy with my choice... until I got there. There was only 1 person working the desk, and about 7 people in the reception area. When he finally got to us, he told us to wait because he is going to DRIVE us to another location where we will be staying. Granted, it wasn't that far of a drive (but he literally closed the reception, so if anyone else showed up to check in- guess that was too bad for them and they just had to wait) but we get to the room and its flooded. So then we have to drive back to the reception and he has to check where another room is to put us... I booked a room with just one shared bathroom and he said that the "hotel" didn't have that and we would be sharing a bathroom with 2 other rooms. So he closes the reception again, and drives us back... our room was clean and small but there was no TV and we had to have a room with 2 singles and we are a couple. They never changed our bedsheets and we were there for 5 days. Also if you are a female, they will charge you 10 euros a night to use a blow dryer. Every time I was in reception, I over heard someone else complaining.... one person said they hadn't had clean towels since they got there, another person went to check-in and their room hadn't been clean. This place is the worst place I have ever stayed and I would consider myself an extensive traveler. If you are looking for one night, then maybe okay but other than that NO WAY.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtpr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Iceland is an expensive place for tourists, so you have to set your expectations accordingly. Shocked at the incredibly high prices for normal hotels, my family opted to stay at Hotel Floki as a way of controlling our costs during our three-day stopover in Iceland at the end of a three-week trip to Köln and Paris. I'm glad we did, and I fully expect to stay there again; but it's important to know what you're getting.

Hotel Floki is a no-frills guesthouse close to, but not inside, the main part of "downtown" Reykjavik. Keep in mind that Reykjavik is a small city - ~250,000 - and very low density, so the area around Hotel Floki feels more like a small town or inner suburb than a city location. It's a short walk to the busier parts of town, but it's not a city hotel per se.

Think of the hotel as hostel accommodation that offers the opportunity for a private room - bathrooms are in the halls and shared, and the rooms are no-frills dorm-style affairs with a sink and hot-water pot. The beds don't get made for you and the sheets weren't changed in our three days. The curtains, shades, beds, mattresses, etc. are from the local Ikea - the tags are still on most of them.

So, it's clear that this isn't the Radisson. But the rooms are clean, the shades do a decent job of darkening the rooms during the midnight sun, our room was pretty quiet and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The staff were pretty helpful, and the included breakfast was of surprisingly high quality - cereals, fresh-baked (from frozen) pastries, good breads, standard Scandinavian selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cucumbers and tomatoes, juice, coffee, etc. It fills up with people from the hostel (or hostels I think - it seemed like lots of people were walking in from neighboring hostel facilities), so it's boisterous and full of travelers.

All in all it's a nice, relatively cheap way to control the high cost of spending time Reykjavik - money you can spend instead on dinner, renting a car, seeing the countryside, woolen goods, etc., like we did. Just understand you'll feel kind of like it's college all over again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.3 mi away
The Capital-Inn
The Capital-Inn
#59 of 108 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oddsson Hostel
Oddsson Hostel
#19 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#11 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galaxy Pod Hostel
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Property: Reykjavik Hostel Village
Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel in Downtown Reykjavik. It consists of 5 former residential houses and therefore contains a lot of Icelandic cultural aspects. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. The Reception is open 24 hours every day of the week. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 100 meters (5 min walk) from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 15 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing