We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special- look elsewhere first. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Employees where constantly yelling at each other. Fire alarm went off for a good 30 minutes. Might be a hair (a buck or two) cheaper than other hostels in the area but don't think it is worth it. They advertised free laundry, didn't have it at least when I was there. They so have a computer with internet access that you can you on the 2nd floor. But no real lounge or lobby area to chat with others or leave your room to not bother your bunk mates when Skype-ing and such. But if you're just looking for a decent bed for a quick stop over in Reykjavik- a fine option.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank 112lucask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear about our staff and I have already talked to my staff and we are working on getting better.
We are a low budget hostel with all the basics.
Thanks to your feedback we have a lounge room were people can come together... we really do take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to better our services.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Reykjavik Hostel Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in Reykjavik Hostel Village in May 2013, and it was really very nice. The staff were very friendly and the room was in a very good condition. The provided breakfast was excellent, and the location is also convenient, close to downtown, just behind the Hallgrímskirkja, with parking place for the car. Overall, it's an excellent value-for-money place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theoklitoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was extremely clean and had a mini-fridge which was very convenient. The bathrooms were cleaned multiple times a day and the hostel was in a great location so that you're within walking distance to all the major attractions in Reykjavik. The only thing was that the walls are quite thin so you can hear everything in the rooms next door as well as everyone in the hallway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing-ah-ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Bing ha ling

Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate your feedback on your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Friendly staff, clean room, good price & comfortable bed. Everything you would need for a budget hostel. No five star resort but above and beyond what would be expected for the price and I personally have no complaints. Great wifi connection also which is useful. One suggestion would be a social room to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiebee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Katie,

Thanks to your feedback. In end of the Summer we will have ready social room for our guest to meet other travellers ... we really do take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to better our services.

Hope to see you again in Iceland.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a low cost place, so compared to the price the place is okay. The staff could have been nicer though, and I could have been nice with some kind of tv-room where you have the change to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstenHenriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Kirsten,

Thanks to your feedback.
We are surprised to hear that our staff was not nice and we are working on that now.

After the Summer we will have social area for guest to meet other traveller.

We really do take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to better our services.

Hope to see you again in Iceland.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Because of the price I was a little bit afraid that the place will be not of good quality. It came out to be opposite - clean and comfortable to stay for short term. It is placed in nice neighborhood and have access to garden, not far from old part of town and seaside. Nice stuff and no problem with Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilona1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My recommendation to anyone who is brave enough to stay here… if you are a bunch of college guys that plan to party all weekend and don’t care about the filth, this will be exactly what you want. But if you want a clean place to sleep, find another hostel or hotel. But don’t take my word for it. If you do stay here… bend down and look at the reflection on the surface of the toilet lid, the table, the floor, the counter tops. You might also want to remove that tissue-thin bottom sheet from the bed and take a look at the top of that 3” thick mattress you’ll be sleeping on. If you decide the filth is too much for you to stomach, don’t expect to get a refund on the room or any kind of assistance from the staff for that matter. What you CAN expect is to be met with hostility and yelled at by an irate desk clerk that barely speaks English who will accuse you of being everything from a thief to a liar. Worst Hostel experience I've EVER had!

This place was so bad, we booked a different hotel for twice what this one cost and walked a mile with our luggage to get there... plus we lost the cost of this reservation because the staff accused us of lying about the state of the room. The manager told us over the intercom to leave the key in the room and come back the next day when we complained about the floor and toilet being dirty... then they had cleaned the room the next morning before we got there and said we stole the key. Wish we had taken photos and recorded conversation with manager over the intercom from day before. Never imagined this would be necessary. The manager never did show her face. She had some rude man deal with us who began attacking us as soon as I told him who we were. Unbelievable.

Room Tip: Honestly, stay someplace else. The staff is dishonest, confrontational and abusive.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, General Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Ms. Bonnie B,

We are truly sorry for you to feel this away.
At Reykjavik Hostel Village, our motto in service is "Perception is Reality", but this is ridiculous!

We hope that you enjoyed your vacation despite of this and we wish all the luck in the world.


Warm regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Bus Hostel
#12 of 109 in Reykjavik
335 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#16 of 109 in Reykjavik
296 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 109 in Reykjavik
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 109 in Reykjavik
471 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 109 in Reykjavik
402 reviews
The Capital-Inn
#72 of 108 in Reykjavik
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £41 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel located downtown, in the heart of Reykjavik, at a walkable distance from the main shopping street, from all touristic attractions and places of interest. The 45 rooms are set across 3 residential houses and offer all kind of amenities for a comfortable and convenient stay. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 6 min walk from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 12 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing