We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Marina, the lady at the front desk was very nice and very helpful in making our stay and arranging a tour for us eventful. It's not the hilton but well worth the money considering everything in Iceland is very pricey!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavefromMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your grate review.

We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great place, Great location. Adam at the desk was terrific. Lovely breakfast, bright clean dining room, friendly dining staff. Nice, clean room with sink and mini fridge. Sufficient, convenient toilets/showers. The showers need to have grab bars to help people who are are in need of this support - it is dangerous not to have this available.

We stay at hostels often and expect to have a kitchen to prepare meals and a lounge where we can socialize. One great aspect of hostelling is this sense of community. Instead, this is a Guest House and should be advertised in that manner so as not to confuse or disappoint those with hostel expectations.

Thank you - we enjoyed our stay at your Guest House.

Room Tip: The room we had was a double - there was an area off the room with a shelving unit and space to stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 515Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Reykjavik is a small city and this place really is a close walk to downtown. Everyone was nice and very friendly on the staff. There really wasn't much opportunity to meet other guests (no common rooms like other Reykjavik hostels). It was one of the cheapest options in town. It was just that.. A cheap hostel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Matt P,

We really do take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to better our services.
That is why we have now a lounge room were people can come together and have a good time.

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a couple, and we got a nice room with huge window and balcony (it was snowing but for summer is great!). The room got a little fridge and a washbasin, and beds were clean and comfy. The shared bathroom was ok, and it is near the rooms. WiFi was not great but ok. Breakfast is simple, next time i will have it on the city center. But it was ok if weather is bad or you dont feel like moving too much.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor at the main building are a little noisy because the reception phone (to tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gondolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here in a quad room in May 2014. We walked in but found a cheaper rate on booking.com. The reception is open 24 hours and the people are extremely friendly and helpful. They asked what we were planning on doing and offered us tips and things to do, without being pushy and trying to sell us tours. We slept past check out time the first night and they said we were going to be charged for late check-out but we just returned the key about 20 min late and stayed in the room til about 12:30 and had no problem. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, more so than many hotels I have stayed in in the US. Great value for your money.

It is about a 10-20 min walk to the main bar/restaurant street, which I have no idea how to write or pronounce, starts with an "L" great location and free street parking all over. It was very safe. I left my passport and iPad in the room and was not worried at all about theft. The only thing I didn't like was you had to pay extra for a hair dryer, late check-out, etc. But it is a hostel, and it don't stay in many hostels so maybe this is common. Overall great experience. I would recommend this hostel to people looking for a great deal with basic amenities.

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Employees where constantly yelling at each other. Fire alarm went off for a good 30 minutes. Might be a hair (a buck or two) cheaper than other hostels in the area but don't think it is worth it. They advertised free laundry, didn't have it at least when I was there. They so have a computer with internet access that you can you on the 2nd floor. But no real lounge or lobby area to chat with others or leave your room to not bother your bunk mates when Skype-ing and such. But if you're just looking for a decent bed for a quick stop over in Reykjavik- a fine option.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank 112lucask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear about our staff and I have already talked to my staff and we are working on getting better.
We are a low budget hostel with all the basics.
Thanks to your feedback we have a lounge room were people can come together... we really do take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to better our services.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in Reykjavik Hostel Village in May 2013, and it was really very nice. The staff were very friendly and the room was in a very good condition. The provided breakfast was excellent, and the location is also convenient, close to downtown, just behind the Hallgrímskirkja, with parking place for the car. Overall, it's an excellent value-for-money place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theoklitoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 107 in Reykjavik
1,126 reviews
Bus Hostel
#12 of 107 in Reykjavik
344 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#17 of 107 in Reykjavik
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 107 in Reykjavik
477 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 107 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
The Capital-Inn
#67 of 107 in Reykjavik
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £31 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel located downtown, in the heart of Reykjavik, at a walkable distance from the main shopping street, from all touristic attractions and places of interest. The 45 rooms are set across 3 residential houses and offer all kind of amenities for a comfortable and convenient stay. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 6 min walk from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 12 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing