We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a family hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not a family hostel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I must first say, the staff (Adam at front desk, NY gal who runs breakfast, evening reception girl & maintenance guy) were a few that we interacted with, were very accommodating. We had a slight issue with our sleeping arrangements bc of tour company and Adam resolved it quickly! Wonderful location to downtown and proximity to the reception/breakfast building is important too because of traffic noise and unpredictable rain (when moving luggage). The breakfast was awesome!!! However, that's where the positive feedback ends. The two rooms we stayed in were very small for a family of 4, though the rooms were clean, they lacked any air circulation so it was very stale in the room which made it warm and uncomfortable overnight. The bathrooms were gross! The water didn't drain, the one shower had disgusting mold/mildew on shower fixture and tile needed to be scrubbed. The walls are paper thin and people come and go all hours of the night. Not really conducive to good nights sleep with young children. They put us in a building on the main floor knowing that they'd have 2 and 3am check in's (the front clerk told me the following day when I mentioned the excessive noise). Those 3 nights (2 different bldgs & rooms) were the worst quality of sleep during our entire 12 day trip. I totally understand this is a budget hostel, but there's no cost to clean a bathroom or thoughtful book guests based on their needs (quiet vs single party goers)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twin1chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your important review.
We do value all feedback for us to improve.

We have already informed our housekeeping and maintenance staff about the toilets and we are working on improving them.

Thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,
Silla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    196
    109
    46
    35
See reviews for
65
121
127
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent a very good time here (4 friends). If you don't rent a car, the location is perfect : 5 mins to go to the BSI and the city center. The reception is open 24h/24h and We have the possibility to book excursions everytime, even in the evening. We recommand it !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiphaineja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hostel was fine, staff was really helpful, place is near centrum (walking distance), parking for cars on steets around is free.
Only one thing: we missed kitchen, but we did our small kitchen in breakfast tent with our own equipment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was very basic, but clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The only amenities were two towels, some instant coffee with sugar cubes and creamer, and an electric kettle for boiling water. The Internet was spotty. We were not in the main building, but in one of the adjacent buildings, and we couldn't access the free wifi but only occasionally. If we wanted a better connection, we had to walk over to the common room, which was mildly annoying. The staff is knowledgeable and very helpful about booking excursions, answering questions and recommending restaurants. We stayed for five nights and slept well. The breakfast cost extra, but included many good choices that my family enjoyed. (I have multiple food allergies and brought my own breakfast food and the staff was very understanding and allowed me to use their microwave and to eat with my family in the breakfast hall at no additional cost, as long as other members of my party paid.) Our Iceland stay was truly memorable and I recommend this hostel if you're looking for an affordable place just a 10 minute walk to the shopping district. It was a bit further to the city center, but the walk was easy and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Cape Elizabeth,

Thank you for your grate review.

We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Silla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Staff very helpfull (but know only some companies and will not tell you shedule of nearest buss), rooms clean and cleaned every day. A little problematic wih one toilet on the floor and with WiFi if you plann to work after visiting city. Good location and calm neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My 3 friends and I stayed here for a long weekend. It was my first stay in a foreign hostel and I didn't know what to expect. However, first impressions were great, receptionists were very friendly and also very helpful throughout our stay, even chasing up our coach company when they didn't show up for us!
Our room had two singles pushed together and a bunk bed, a sink, wardrobe and a lovely little balcony!
There are two showers on each floor, one which has a toilet in.
We got fresh towels every day free of charge and some cleaners came in and straightened out sheets up etc.
There was a buffet breakfast but we didn't eat in as we always had plans!
There was free wifi in all areas and also a computer to use at the top of the stairs free of charge.
I would definitely recommend to anyone who was staying here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hostel location is very good as it's 7-minute-walk to the city center. The rooms are good and the bathrooms are generally clean with soaps and tissue papers.
The staff are very helpful and knowledgable. The female receptionist dedicated some time to print out the timings of the bus and ferry to Westman Island. I wouldn't have made it without her assistance.
One major drawback is that the hostel doesn't provide the guest with free blankets. It was very weird for a hostel in a cold country. I was there in June and I was feeling so cold while asleep. Another drawback: there is no communal kitchen.
Overall, the hostel is nice and recommended.

Room Tip: I personally prefer the higher levels. Note that the hostel has more than one building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Jellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your important review.
We do value all feedback for us to improve.

All our room types do have bedding included except for the dormitory rooms, which are sleeping bag accommodation. They are our lowest rates. You did book a dormitory room and when you booked the room you got that information about the bedding not being included. We are sorry that there was some misunderstanding concerning that.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Silla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Bus Hostel
#12 of 106 in Reykjavik
322 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#18 of 106 in Reykjavik
82 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 106 in Reykjavik
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 106 in Reykjavik
455 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 106 in Reykjavik
1,093 reviews
Miõborg
Hostel B47
Hostel B47
#74 of 106 in Reykjavik
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Property: Reykjavik Hostel Village
Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel located downtown, in the heart of Reykjavik, at a walkable distance from the main shopping street, from all touristic attractions and places of interest. The 45 rooms are set across 3 residential houses and offer all kind of amenities for a comfortable and convenient stay. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 6 min walk from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 12 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing