We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crap hotel owned by a cheat”
Review of OK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OK Hotel
Ranked #19 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Crap hotel! Informed over phone in reception that we are to stay at a different hotel(?). after 20 mins a guy shows up an takes us with (his private?) car to another apartment hotel. the owner aparently owns different hotels and swaps around as he see fit. We reserved a "boutique hotel" but end up in a room with low standard and paperthin walls. when complaining we are informed that the owner is on holiday and wont answer his phone. the staff are not allowed to reimburse!? after 5 mails to the owner without even a resposne we gave up.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fritioff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The construction on the ground floor seems to increase daily. There is no proper entrance just a dirty alleyway. No meet and greet, no reception, no breakfast basket, no assistance.
The apartment accessed by sawdust covered lift was the OK part of this ' Hotel'. Retro furniture 60s encyclopEdia wallpaper was fine but lots not fineE.g non- functioning socket outlets, bare wires in a hole presumably going to be a shaver point , next to the hand basin. good coffee maker but unknown to me and had no instructions. Broken toilet seat was reported first day but nothing done until I caught a male cleaner who managed to put it back together even though he hd said an expert should come to do it! I would have left had we not been so tired and had paid up front.There seemed to be a pump running all night ,quite noisy.

Room Tip: Don't choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninajp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I am writing this review from this hotel right now... First, the hotel is still under construction/renovation, so it is really noisy and the entry is difficult to find. Once you found it, good luck to walk though all the workers, and stuffs.
The person who welcomed me was not really friendly and obviously too busy to even show a smile.
The room is nice, they made an effort with the deco (tried to look trendy to rise the price), but they forgot about some basic must: power sockets seem to be brand new and out of 7, only one was actually working. This hotel is more a gathering of small flats, so, people going/coming make the all thing VERY noisy. The shared terrace (which is actually the roof of the other building), allow people to come at your window. So, the only way to get privacy is too close the curtains...all the time.
For the rest, it is clean, kitchen with everything, well located...

1  Thank Angelique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Well-located on Laugavegur (main shopping street in Reykjavik) is this new and hassle-free hotel.

Interesting concept as there is no reception. Upon arrival, someone will instruct you via the phone on how to access the room. That said, there is no room service as well, so everything is on your own. There are many travel brochures near the elevator though and the hotel is close to many travel agencies.

I like that the rooms are all themed cos this usually means tasteful decoration. There are also cooking facilities equipped with all necessary cookery so this is great.

Overall, a value-for-money hotel good for a few days' stay downtown.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and found it perfect for a couple or single traveller and very gay friendly too. perfectly located for me, close to the marina, where I wanted to stroll along the beach and take in the Icelandic clean air.

The Hotel itself is up a steep hill, so best take a taxi or airbus if you can't walk very far. There are lifts in the hotel, so nothing to worry about there. When you get to the hotel, you use the buzzer to gain entrance, then you get a phone call from the manager as the reception is not manned at all, who will instruct you on how to get the keys. very very easy process; but did make me giggle, so James Bond!

The room, was a studio, with wide screen TV, double bed, ensuite bathroom with shower, and clean toilet and sink with plenty of towels and toilet paper. Small but well equipped kitchen space, with utensils, pots, pans, everything you would need, if you decide to make food there. Microwave and a good size fridge. They had also provided tea/coffee kettle.

Mine came with access to the balcony, it over looked the back on the building, so was very quiet, not sure how noisy it would be if it were overlooking the street side.

I would recomend a stay at this hotel, if you are travelling to Iceland, it's such a quirky fun experience with all the random art work on the wall inside the bedroom, and the funky 50's wall paper. Very good value for money and the manager and the cleaner I met was extremly lovely and helpful.

Room Tip: use the airbus for your travel around iceland, way cheaper than taxi's and better drop off and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Devika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed in OK Hotel for three nights in April 2013 with a friend of mine.

The hotel is located on Laugavegur and it takes probably 10 mins to walk to the city centre. A great breakfast option, if you do not want to make it yourself in the well-equipped kitchen is Sandholt-Bakery, probably 3-4 minutes away.

During our stay there was construction going on in the lobby of the place, which we were informed upon arriving and were assured that we would not notice anything in the room, which turned out to be true.

We explored all of Reykjavik by foot, the bus 14 to the Laugadagslaug Swimingpool leaves from Hlemmur bus station, which is 3-4 minutes away by foot. Several restaurants are in the area and a Bonus supermarket is also close by.

We were lucky enough to also have access to a veranda which we unforunately did not use due to the weather conditions but in summer this will be a fantastic bonus. There is an iPod-Dock and a big TV, the apartment was exceptionally clean and tidy. The onyl downside was that there was a relatively strong smell of sulphur in the bathroom but that mostly is due to Iceland's water, which in return is supposed to be the healthiest water in the world.

Our experience was perfect, we did not expect the Hilton and we did not want the Hilton, we got what was advertised and were perfectly happy. The staff was helpful and friendly, a very nice experience and I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the terrace in summer and spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontaryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great value, a little trouble gaining initial access, but very smooth once we were in. Would definatey recommend. Excellent Laugavegur location. Some construction still taking place last week but not distracting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Island Apartments
#25 of 110 in Reykjavik
61 reviews
Miõborg
Baldursbra Guesthouse
Baldursbra Guesthouse
#32 of 109 in Reykjavik
189 reviews
Miõborg
Our House
Our House
#34 of 110 in Reykjavik
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105 - A Townhouse Hotel
#21 of 110 in Reykjavik
38 reviews
Brim Hotel
#37 of 109 in Reykjavik
144 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#14 of 109 in Reykjavik
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OK Hotel

Address: Laugavegur 74, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £104 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2012, OK Hotel’s apartments are found along a quiet section of Laugavegur, Reykjavík’s main street. Flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and modern kitchenettes are standard features.The eco-friendly apartments are uniquely designed and utilise vintage furniture, recycled materials and local art. Most apartments offer a balcony and acoustic guitar. Tours, rental cars, breakfast baskets and airport transfers can be arranged by reception staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing