We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but expect problems”
Review of OK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
OK Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but expect problems”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A new hotel in a sense that's it's still under construction. Noise is minimal but there will be workmen and the reception area looks half-finished (in case that bothers you).

Oh yes, and there is no receptionist - call a number which obviously means you're left hanging around for a while. Payment was difficult, again waiting for someone to turn up. There were also a lot of people hanging around in reception area who didn't have rooms as the hotel has doubled-booked. Reading the reviews it seems that this is a particular problem for this hotel.

On the main street so centrally located for everything but bit noisy at night. The gift shop below is a particular problem - their music is so loud don't plan on staying in bed after 8.30.

The decor is made out of recycled stuff which is jazzed up by the now ubiquitous fashion for infantile drawings. It's twee: you'll either love it or hate it.

The bathroom is particularly nice and nice to have a kitchen and a fridge. We used sofa bed which is not made up prior to arrival: a bag of crumpled laundry will be provided and you get on with it.

Nice concept, but still a few things they have to work out.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing on street. Also worth confirming arrival time so there will be someone there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressupinyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    118
    50
    26
    20
See reviews for
80
145
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this hotel after initially reading some outstanding reviews, and were very impressed with the concept of using vintage and recycled furniture. This made it stand out in our minds against the 'ten a penny' boutique style apartments and hotels (not that there is anything wrong with them of course). However, we were looking for something a little bit quirky and were very excited when we discovered Ok Hotel. It was just what we had been hoping to find. Also, my husband has recently had two hip replacements and were keen that there should be a lift in our Hotel. Bingo, this Hotel sounded perfect.

But WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!

We arrived at the hotel exhausted after a long day travelling, and were excited about seeing our apartment and settling in. A young man took our confirmation and then disappeared for a few minutes. When he came back he was on the phone, and our immediate thought was that there was a problem. And we were right. On finishing the call he approached us with a false, extra smiley face and announced that due to rennovations taking place we were being 'upgraded' to another apartment. We tried to argue the point, but on asking if we had any choice in the matter we were told flatly NO. There wasn't even an apology offered.Also, we had four tours arranged to pick us up at Ok Hotel but were assured that they would sort it all out for us.

We were whisked away almost immediately by another young man (who I have to say seemed quite nice). A few minutes later we arrived at our new location which was boutique style with no lift, and steep steps up to the main door as well as stairs inside. My husband could manage them with difficulty, but other clients may not. To me this is very bad customer care and quite frankly unacceptable. However, we had been looking forward to this holiday for a long time so tried to put our upset and anger aside and try and make the most of a bad job The apartment itself was alright , but doubt very much that it was an upgrade. The young man then left us and said he would return within an hour with bedding for my daughter, and confirmation of tour pick ups.

He returned nearly three hours later with a pile of crumpled bedding and smiling saying he'd managed to sort out our tours. We weren't altogether convinced but waited outside our apartment the next morning at 8.30am to be picked up for our Superjeep tour. By 8.45am there was no sign of our jeep so my husband phoned the hotel duty manager to double check if the arrangements had been changed. He had just come on duty and had no idea what we were talking about but said he would phone jeep company. After a while of trying to get in touch, he eventually phoned us back to say they were on their way. The jeep driver had received no prior information as to the new arrangements . We had now lost total confidence in the hotel, so my husband decided to phone the other tour companies himself. Surprise, surprise, only one out of the other three had received any kind of message. Don't know who was at fault here, but the situation should never have arisen in the first place.

Apparently the owner has several hotels and apartments located around the city, including Apartment k (where we ended up) and obviously thinks he has the right to put you where he decides. If there was some unavoidable reason for being relocated, the least he could do would be to warn you in advance. That way any rearrangements could be made beforehand. However, I suspect that this is a case of overbooking, with the recent construction work being a convenient excuse for the time being.

In our case, we did not get what we had booked and paid for. It's like ordering fish in a restaurant, being served beef and being made to eat and pay for it. Avoid this hotel at all costs unless you're prepared to take a lucky dip .

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Geebee346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Once we got into our room, it was comfortable , quiet and interestingly decorated. Getting into our room was another matter. We arrived at the same time a larger group did. The lobby door was locked and no one was inside. This did not inspire confidence and when you are traveling overseas, you want to feel comfortable about your hotels. After several minutes of buzzing the intercom, we got someone on the phone who said he would buzz us in. Fifteen minutes later, we were still locked outside. We called again, this time we got in but no one was inside. We waited another 20 minutes for an employee to show up. When he did, the larger group was moved to another hotel, much to their chagrin. The owners need to pay less attention to the decor and more attention to customer service, because that's what counts. Can't recommend this place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ChatChambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Crap hotel! Informed over phone in reception that we are to stay at a different hotel(?). after 20 mins a guy shows up an takes us with (his private?) car to another apartment hotel. the owner aparently owns different hotels and swaps around as he see fit. We reserved a "boutique hotel" but end up in a room with low standard and paperthin walls. when complaining we are informed that the owner is on holiday and wont answer his phone. the staff are not allowed to reimburse!? after 5 mails to the owner without even a resposne we gave up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fritioff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Barrios, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The construction on the ground floor seems to increase daily. There is no proper entrance just a dirty alleyway. No meet and greet, no reception, no breakfast basket, no assistance.
The apartment accessed by sawdust covered lift was the OK part of this ' Hotel'. Retro furniture 60s encyclopEdia wallpaper was fine but lots not fineE.g non- functioning socket outlets, bare wires in a hole presumably going to be a shaver point , next to the hand basin. good coffee maker but unknown to me and had no instructions. Broken toilet seat was reported first day but nothing done until I caught a male cleaner who managed to put it back together even though he hd said an expert should come to do it! I would have left had we not been so tired and had paid up front.There seemed to be a pump running all night ,quite noisy.

Room Tip: Don't choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninajp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I am writing this review from this hotel right now... First, the hotel is still under construction/renovation, so it is really noisy and the entry is difficult to find. Once you found it, good luck to walk though all the workers, and stuffs.
The person who welcomed me was not really friendly and obviously too busy to even show a smile.
The room is nice, they made an effort with the deco (tried to look trendy to rise the price), but they forgot about some basic must: power sockets seem to be brand new and out of 7, only one was actually working. This hotel is more a gathering of small flats, so, people going/coming make the all thing VERY noisy. The shared terrace (which is actually the roof of the other building), allow people to come at your window. So, the only way to get privacy is too close the curtains...all the time.
For the rest, it is clean, kitchen with everything, well located...

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Well-located on Laugavegur (main shopping street in Reykjavik) is this new and hassle-free hotel.

Interesting concept as there is no reception. Upon arrival, someone will instruct you via the phone on how to access the room. That said, there is no room service as well, so everything is on your own. There are many travel brochures near the elevator though and the hotel is close to many travel agencies.

I like that the rooms are all themed cos this usually means tasteful decoration. There are also cooking facilities equipped with all necessary cookery so this is great.

Overall, a value-for-money hotel good for a few days' stay downtown.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#27 of 106 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Luna Apartments
#28 of 106 in Reykjavik
147 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apartment K
#17 of 106 in Reykjavik
1,161 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 106 in Reykjavik
479 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#32 of 106 in Reykjavik
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OK Hotel

Property: OK Hotel
Address: Laugavegur 74, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2012, OK Hotel’s apartments are found along a quiet section of Laugavegur, Reykjavík’s main street. Flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and modern kitchenettes are standard features.The eco-friendly apartments are uniquely designed and utilise vintage furniture, recycled materials and local art. Most apartments offer a balcony and acoustic guitar. Tours, rental cars, breakfast baskets and airport transfers can be arranged by reception staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your OK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing