We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of OK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OK Hotel
Ranked #21 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for the last 2 nights of our Iceland trip and I'm so glad that we booked the OK Hotel.

Location was perfect with loads of Restaurants, bars and shops close by.

The checkin process was unusual but pretty typical of our whole Icelandic experience, which was very laid back. The room itself was fantastic! Unique but well thought out with an extremely comfortable bed.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambrown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Really the location cannot be better! It is your own apartment for the time there, not a hotel. Granted they might check if you need more towels but they do not clean up for you. I really love the studio, they have everything you need and with a funky decor. Not great for major cleaning, but anything light and easy can be done here. It really felt like coming home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VeritasNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Cool hotel in a perfect location in Reykjavik. Right in the city centre, in the middle of the main shopping street. Creative interior design. Besides, each room has a different theme. Highly recommendable for people who look for unconventional and cool hotels. It does not have its own parking but there are enough parking spots on the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavinia_Pitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent location right on the main street, you couldnt ask for a better location in a city. Loved the decor of the large room that we stayed in. The apartment was very well equipped with cooking utensils if you decide to stay in and cook which we did a few times. The apartment was above a restaurant which we ate in and would highly recommend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dubs114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Ok Hotel is not really a hotel, but a set of apartments. It is in a great location in Reykjavik and the apartment is actually quite nice, very comfortable bed and cool decor.
My only gripe about this hotel is that we were in room 1 and the internet in there was a bit patchy, that when using I had to sometimes go out into the corridor to use it. My second gripe is that the water running in the apartment was stinky like rotten eggs, but I believe this is what water smells like in Iceland, due to the water being so pure and the amount of sulphur in it, so I won't hold it against OK Hotel. Besides that, it's a really nice apartment to stay in. The checkin was very unique, we checked in at midnight and had to ring a phone near the lifts and the guy on the other end proceeded to give me a code to get into the safe to get the room key, it was totally fine though and the checkin process ran very smoothly. If you are after a hotel with a reception desk and people to help you book tours and give you tips on what to do, this place is not for you, but if you want a great location and an apartment with a kitchenette don't look any further.

Also I would like to add, its possible to see the Northern lights from the centre of Reykjavik and was able to see them from the back area of these apartments on our last night, was magnificent.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank hellojoe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Ok hotel is anything but OK! I stayed in the one bedroom double beds for 5 nights with my best friend, and we LOVED this hotel. It was very clean, having a kitchen was so nice. The bathroom was modern, and new. The hotel overall was pretty spacious, and it was nice to have a little balcony overlooking the city. Check in/Check out is a little different, but the staff is AMAZING. We sat and had coffee with some of them while waiting for tours. We stayed over New Years eve, and it was simply spectacular. The hotel is in the best part of town, close to everything, and even has a GREAT restaurant downstairs. The place fills up quickly. I have traveled throughout Europe, and the states, and this might be my hands down favorite hotel. I'd def. recommend!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Situated on the quiet end of the main shopping street of Reykjavik the location was perfect. Within walking distance of lots of bars and restaurants.

We had room 3 on floor 2 - the Mona Lisa room. Cool little room with a kitchenette perfect for if you want to save a little money and cook in a couple of nights. Although breakfast was not included the kitchenette provides all facilities required and also comes with the lack of time restraints on hotel breakfasts.

The beds were very comfy and like others have said we experienced little noise. The room comes with a large telly that has all the British channels included. Also included was a docking station for iPods/iPhones.

The check in process, although informal, worked fine for us. We arrived too early for check in but were told of a place we could leave our luggage until our room was ready.

Our room backed onto a shared balcony which would be nice in summer however, we didn't use it.

All in all, for the price + location, you can't fault it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gwygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Our House
Our House
#32 of 110 in Reykjavik
173 reviews
Island Apartments
#27 of 110 in Reykjavik
60 reviews
Miõborg
Baldursbra Guesthouse
Baldursbra Guesthouse
#31 of 108 in Reykjavik
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 110 in Reykjavik
509 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 108 in Reykjavik
482 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#15 of 108 in Reykjavik
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OK Hotel

Address: Laugavegur 74, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £118 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2012, OK Hotel’s apartments are found along a quiet section of Laugavegur, Reykjavík’s main street. Flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and modern kitchenettes are standard features.The eco-friendly apartments are uniquely designed and utilise vintage furniture, recycled materials and local art. Most apartments offer a balcony and acoustic guitar. Tours, rental cars, breakfast baskets and airport transfers can be arranged by reception staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing