We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room with great location”
Review of OK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
OK Hotel
Ranked #23 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfy room with great location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

located in the heart of city center where shops and restaurant can be found easily. However, it may be hard for those travelers who do not use their pick up service since the sign board can be hardly seen and realized.

No actual reception but the staffs at the restaurant are willing to help us for checking in the hotel even though they are busy serving their customer.

Room is very comfy and clean enough to make you feel like staying at your home. The arts in the hotel room is impressive. I would consider the design of this hotel is more attractive to the young adult, However, it is still suitable for the couples who bring their children along.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiayijie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    119
    50
    27
    20
See reviews for
83
145
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited OK Hotel in April and thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay. We were looking for accommodation that was alternative and which offered something other than the norm, and I have to say we definitely found it!

The self-check-in system didn't pose a problem for us, it was pain free and straight forward. We were lucky enough to stay a room with a lovely view of the sea and of the distant mountains. As we were self-catering, the kitchen facilities were more than adequate and the location could not have been better; we'd definitely recommend the 'Bonus' supermarket (just a short walk down the high street) for your essentials should you be planning a similar stay. The bathroom was clean, towels were replenished regularly and the staff were friendly and always willing to help. The only thing we didn't do was eat in the restaurant downstairs, but every time we passed through it looked/smelled great.

My only criticism was that the room could have done with a bit of a dust but, other than that, what a great stay. Thank you OK Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I visit Iceland a lot and OK Hotel is one of my favorite places to stay at. It's convenient, quiet and the rooms are very art driven and different from you'd expect from a Hotel room. Each room is decorated differently and have different themes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I would really want to give better recommendation to this hotel but I can't. The location is very good and central. There's no personal service. You just walk into restaurant, look for a "reception" = a phone, call someone who gives you a code to a safety box where you find a key to your room. We had a room in the 1st room behind the restaurant/bar (we lost to the second floor first because we didn't believe that the back door in a bar cannot be the correct door). Anyway, the room was funny with a roof window (anyway, I prefer normal windows). The room wasn't so clean but ok for us. Our first night was Saturday night and the hullabaloo was terrible although I had my ear plugs with me. I'm not sure how much noise came from the bar but there's was also a privat party in neighborhood which continued the whole night and next morning. Fortunately my son sleeps very well but my husband also woke up. The two following nights were more quiet, thank god. I recommend this hotel to younger and budget travellers. There's very good food in this hotel's restaurant but the menu is very difficult to understand although I'm fluent in English.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms in upper floors, not 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent our last night with this property after 10 days on the road in Iceland. It was clean and comfortable (especially the primary bed). The room was brightly furnished with an urban feel, but some items in the room were showing wear. The kitchenette was functional, although the premium for not washing dishes was a bit odd, but I can appreciate whey they charge it. The 'front desk' is really a phone to an off-site manager. This manager was responsive, but just not convenient. Also, oddly, the door into the hotel is also not well marked. Our family of five (kids 12/9/5) was a bit of a squeeze, especially since we required a roll-away bed, but the central location could not be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The great location on main street. Everything is in walking distance and tour bus will drop on and off you here. The room was very clean but we were not given bed linen for four people even if we phoned to lobby. The first night was not very pleasant for that reason. There is not lobby service at this hotel, and you have to call in arriving. Wi-fi was not working well and there was not information on passwaord available. The entrance was hard to find, there is no sign and you have to enter into restaurant first to ask help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarjaF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My girlfriend and I were very pleased with our stay in the OK hotel. The prices are competitive with any other room you'll find in the area. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and decorated in a fun, quirky manner. Maybe we were just exhausted from a lot of travelling, but I swear the room had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
The bottom floor of the hotel is a restaurant and bar. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant (it looked great, though) but we were able to have a few drinks at the bar. The bar staff was friendly, talkative, and full of helpful tips for visitors.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Newcomers to Reykjavik may find the sulfur scent of the tap water a bit surprising. However, this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#32 of 107 in Reykjavik
129 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Heida's Home Center
#20 of 109 in Reykjavik
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#11 of 109 in Reykjavik
245 reviews
Miõborg
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
Forsaela Apartmenthouse
#33 of 107 in Reykjavik
98 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 107 in Reykjavik
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OK Hotel

Property: OK Hotel
Address: Laugavegur 74, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2012, OK Hotel’s apartments are found along a quiet section of Laugavegur, Reykjavík’s main street. Flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and modern kitchenettes are standard features.The eco-friendly apartments are uniquely designed and utilise vintage furniture, recycled materials and local art. Most apartments offer a balcony and acoustic guitar. Tours, rental cars, breakfast baskets and airport transfers can be arranged by reception staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your OK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing