We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location doesn't get any better....BUT the wifi is terrible in this hotel!”
Review of OK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
OK Hotel
Ranked #21 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It is right on the main street, close to shops, restaurants, supermarket and the tourist information centre.

The check in process is a little awkward and didn't start off very well for us, you had to call someone on a phone to check in and he was a little cranky on the phone - however a lovely young gentleman by the name of Nick finally came to greet us and he was just wonderful: he was helpful and friendly and settled us right into our room.

Our room was very spacious and clean just like in the photos from the website, so we were very happy and there is a proper iron and hair dryer.

There is NO self service laundry (as stated on their website), however there is a laundry close by - about 10 mins walk.

The wifi is VERY, VERY slow...which is frustrating because everything else about this hotel is splendid.

CAUTION - the water they use is thermal spring water which means there is a high sulphur content (it's environmentally great) but for those of you not familiar with this smell - it's like rotten eggs. You will need to brush your teeth and shower in this water which takes a while to get used to!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitnat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I along with our daughter and her family stayed here in July. Don't let the "no reception" scare you. The staff at the cafe/bar will see you arrive and show you what to do. We had the two large rooms behind the bar. There was a small table in The hall and the emergency exit was on the other end. Our rooms were perfect for a family that goes from room to room often and the kids used the table to play cards. We stayed over a weekend and kept the sky light window open for fresh pure Iceland air. We were not aware of any noise.
The kitchenette was awesome....we walked to the grocery store and bought our food then cooked it up, saving lots of money. The cafe/bar staff were all very friendly and accommodating.
Seriously, this is one of the few places to stay right in the main tourist area. We did not need transport or taxis as everything is close and easy to walk to
This is not a big hotel....small, cute, cozy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank travelswithmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We, a family of five - 2 adults, 1 x 16 yrs, 1 x 12 yrs and 1 x 1,5 yrs, stayed here on two occasions on the same trip in two different rooms. Our over all opinion is that the hotel is well equipped if you want to cook yoursel, the beds are comfortable and big enough for a small baby in the middle, easy check in and a really cool interior which is different from room to room.
The only two downsides we could think of - thinking hard - was that; 1: The frame around the bed had really sharp corners and we had a hard time letting the little one on the loose. 2: during evenings and nighttime - being aware of the rumor of Reykjavik being a party town - Laugarveg is trafficked by cruising noisy cars and people. Therefor sleeping with the window open is not to recommend if you're a light sleeper.
The bed settee was good enough for the older kids.

The rating "Average" for service is because this is more or less a self service hotel.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ch00dA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really a pleasant place. They treat you like gold. You can stay late and hang in the bar after closing. Bartender is a really nice guy. Spicy Tuna Chirashi and Cronuts are to die for! This place is really very modern and fun.

Room Tip: Order the Tuna Chirasi and get the Cronut! Buy a bottle of wine during the day then after closing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was super friendly. Showed us how to access our keys and even walked us to our room to show us around. The restaurant downstairs was awesome. Totally plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cutepixie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

located in the heart of city center where shops and restaurant can be found easily. However, it may be hard for those travelers who do not use their pick up service since the sign board can be hardly seen and realized.

No actual reception but the staffs at the restaurant are willing to help us for checking in the hotel even though they are busy serving their customer.

Room is very comfy and clean enough to make you feel like staying at your home. The arts in the hotel room is impressive. I would consider the design of this hotel is more attractive to the young adult, However, it is still suitable for the couples who bring their children along.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiayijie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited OK Hotel in April and thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay. We were looking for accommodation that was alternative and which offered something other than the norm, and I have to say we definitely found it!

The self-check-in system didn't pose a problem for us, it was pain free and straight forward. We were lucky enough to stay a room with a lovely view of the sea and of the distant mountains. As we were self-catering, the kitchen facilities were more than adequate and the location could not have been better; we'd definitely recommend the 'Bonus' supermarket (just a short walk down the high street) for your essentials should you be planning a similar stay. The bathroom was clean, towels were replenished regularly and the staff were friendly and always willing to help. The only thing we didn't do was eat in the restaurant downstairs, but every time we passed through it looked/smelled great.

My only criticism was that the room could have done with a bit of a dust but, other than that, what a great stay. Thank you OK Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#29 of 108 in Reykjavik
133 reviews
Heida's Home Center
#18 of 107 in Reykjavik
88 reviews
Luna Apartments
#28 of 108 in Reykjavik
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#16 of 107 in Reykjavik
110 reviews
Apartment K
#17 of 108 in Reykjavik
1,203 reviews
Miõborg
The Swan House
The Swan House
#13 of 108 in Reykjavik
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OK Hotel

Address: Laugavegur 74, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £120 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2012, OK Hotel’s apartments are found along a quiet section of Laugavegur, Reykjavík’s main street. Flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and modern kitchenettes are standard features.The eco-friendly apartments are uniquely designed and utilise vintage furniture, recycled materials and local art. Most apartments offer a balcony and acoustic guitar. Tours, rental cars, breakfast baskets and airport transfers can be arranged by reception staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing