We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on a super location in Reykjavik”
Review of Hotel Hilda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hilda
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Meerbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel on a super location in Reykjavik”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location of this clean hotel is excellent and quiet. Very friendly staff. Our room - number 5 in front of the reception - was very small. The breakfast room is also very small - only 8 seats and the hotel has 13 rooms - so it could be full. Nice place for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    54
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
71
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wooloomooloo
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a wonderful place - more like staying in a private residence or intimate B&B than a hotel. Super location, very close to downtown, in a characterful street. Street parking only if you have a vehicle, metered during the day unless you park a block away. My room on the top floor was clean and functional and very Scandinavian. Small but adequate bathroom. The included breakfast was fine, and the breakfast room very social (i.e. tiny!) Above all - excellent service from the friendly and attentive staff. highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher the better I think - I would not like to be on the ground or basement levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We discovered this little jewel when we returned to Iceland for the second time. It has only been open for a year but it is the place we will return to on our next trip. It is located on a quite residential street just a few minutes walk from the downtown area where all the shops and restaurants are located. The rooms are small but well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of items to chose from. You can sit inside or in the lovely glassed in gazebo in the rear garden. The staff was friendly, helpful and very professional. We had requested an early check-in if possible since our flight arrived early in the morning. We arrived at the hotel to find our room waiting or us. It was refreshing to clean up and take a short nap before starting out to explore the city. It's almost like staying at a friends home rather then a hotel. We will definitely stay there on all our future trips to Iceland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My stay at Hotel Hilda was tinted by an experience I had on the second day. On the first day, I settled in nicely, although I was a bit perturbed by the thin curtains that separated my room from the street - marginal privacy.

On the second day, after touring, I returned to my room, to find it spotless, uncluttered by any of my luggage at all! It had all gone! I went to reception, and they said they had changed my room. They had carried all of my stuff, including expensive equipment to another room, while I was gone, without a word to me. Maybe this is fine according to culture in Iceland, but not by me.

Jetlag had hit and I slept without thinking. When I woke up, it struck me that this room was much smaller, not bigger than a shoebox. The bed was a single. I went to reception and complained that I had asked for and paid for a double bed. The staff asked me, where on my voucher did it say "double bed"? I pulled out the voucher, and showed her. She said there had been a mistake, that I could pack my bags, and they would shift my room again.

True to word, by that evening I was back in a double room at footpath level. I could see feet walking past outside as I reclined on my bed. My feeling is that in summer, the quality of the room is far from the price that I paid, but in peak season in this expensive country, I guess expectations should be lowered.

One thing I really did like was the breakfast. The room is tiny and always full, but the small number of guests from different countries bond well, and its great to hear their experiences of Iceland. And the food is good and varied.

My feeling is that many guests can enjoy their experience in this hotel, so long as they don't expect too much, and as long as they don't experience the same "mistake" as me. The surroundings really are beautiful, including a park to the south, and the "Icelandic fish and chips" a short walk away (really, really good food)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel Hilda is a new renovation and the rooms are decorated in a fresh, modern way and are spotlessly clean. Our room was adequate in size, but not large. As Reykjavik is so small it's only a short stroll to the main attractions. I felt a little let down by the breakfast. It was served in a tiny breakfast room that was full when we wanted to eat so we had to carry our food outside to a glass house. It was ok in July, but I wouldn't want to be eating out there at any other time of year! But most of the reviews on here seem to rave about the glass house so maybe I'm just fussy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I recently spent three weeks alone in Iceland, with 9 of those nights at the Hotel Hilda in Reykjavik. I was going to be in and out of the city, doing days long expeditions and wanted a home base for my time back in the city. Hotel Hilda was PERFECT!!! Small, quiet, Super Friendly and Warm Staff, well equipped rooms and bathrooms, lovely breakfasts every morning, beautiful garden with glass gazebo for eating, reading, socializing and quiet time, as needed. All of the staff were so inviting, helpful and enthusiastic about my adventures. Angela even brought in her own nail polish remover for me! Talk about keeping clients happy with personal service!! They were very keen to make sure that my time in Iceland and at their hotel was all that I was hoping for. And they succeeded beyond expectations!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked our stay at the Hotel Hilda based on the reviews that we read. We were happy we did. The Hotel Hilda sits in a quiet residential area that is only a few blocks from the center of Reykjavik and the shopping and night life area. The staff are exceedingly friendly, courteous and attentive. The day we checked in, the entire 13-room hotel turned over, so our room had no duvet covers when we arrived. The staff were aware, and were waiting until they were sure we were not napping before coming to our room. There is always someone on duty to attend to your needs, and they get it right every time. We had a deluxe room, a larger room with a very large en suite bathroom. It was spotless. The breakfast buffet is really good, and the glass gazebo is a wonderful place to have your breakfast, especially when the weather is nice.

We heartily recommend the Hotel Hilda to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,735 reviews
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
768 reviews
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
519 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
371 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilda

Property: Hotel Hilda
Address: Barugata 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilda 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing