We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the reason I booked my trip to iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inside The Volcano

Inside The Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$435.86*
and up
Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Journey towards the centre of the earth. Descend 120 meters into the dormant Thrihnukagigur volcano in Iceland.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the reason I booked my trip to iceland”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Once I saw this trip was available I had to book a trip to Iceland and I wasn't disappointed. The walk to the volcano adds the the trip, much better than pulling up in a coach, you see lava tubes and general volcanic scenery. The "window cleaner" lift felt safe and added to the sense of adventure. Once inside you just want to take photo after photo. The whole trip is well organised and something that is truly unique.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,079
    153
    31
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Once in a life time”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I'm very glad that I choose to go on this trip. Iceland was wonderful, and Inside the Volcano tour was the best experience in Iceland. From the hike to the volcano, every minute was to remember. I can not emphasise enough, how good and attending was the tour guides. And they did know what they were doing. After a little while, we were like in a group of very old friends although we were just met.
The volcano itself was also very interesting although I was not very into geology. It was a once in a life time experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowhere
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique and fascinating adventure”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

If rugged hikes and awe-inspiring sights are your thing, visiting þrihnukagigur is for you. Nowhere else can you be lowered into a volcano of this kind to witness the aftermath of lava where it once flowed. The hike to and from the volcano is exhilarating with a constant, endless picturesque view of Iceland's renowned lava fields.

The guides are perfect for this kind of adventure: very helpful, fun, and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank secretrobotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best adventure and a very very amazing for me”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

it was a short trip to Island, Reykjavik and our finish was inside the volcano, near Reykjavik
The lava field was long and endless, but the weather was great, not to cold and not to hot, simple perfect for a day whit many experience and amazing volcano, inside the volcano.
After the visit inside the volcano, w eat a meat soup and drink an coffee on the volcano.
When you become an chance to do what we do on this day.

great great great
Andrea and Bert

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bertbeuthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was a phenomenal experience. I don't think words or pictures can do it justice. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. It was worth every penny!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Micaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inside The Volcano also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Inside The Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing