We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cellar bar”
Review of Kofinn

Kofinn
Ranked #202 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, European, Delicatessen, Norwegian, International
Restaurant details
Nottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely cellar bar”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Chilled cellar bar on the main strip. Looks a bit gloomy from the outside but warm and friendly within. Happy hour lasts until 7 pm IKR 495 for two beers!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Filler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“first and last.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

this was the first bar we went into on our first night in Reykjavik, as we couldn't find our rooms, and it was just the best decision, as its a wee comfy, homey and relaxing pub with lovely staff and great beer. strangely, after an hour of two in here, we found our hotel no problem. so this was also the last bar we went into on the way down to harpa to get the bus, and the barmaid remembered us and shouted 'is that 2 beers?'. is that a great bar or what?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lushchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Looks like a dive, but loved the sushi!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were starving while wandering the shops near the harbor, and stopped into Koffin (the title of this page is misspelled, "Koffin" is Icelandic for caffeine.). Koffin looked pretty dive-y, but we were desperate. They had a delicious-sounding sushi special, with salmon, scallions, tobiko, spicy mayo), so I went for it. I figured, iceland's got great fresh fish, and the sushi at Koffin is actually made at a sushi restaurant nearby, so why not. It was delicious. Perfectly fresh, and the salmon was soft and creamy. I loved it. My companion got a panini with chicken, peppers, and dates I believe, and she enjoyed it. The sushi was 1100 ISK ($9.76) which seemed reasonable, considering how pricey food is in Iceland. The cashier was also very friendly, and an off-duty employee who was hanging out at the bar tried to help us find our next location when he overheard us discussing it. Liked this place a lot!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaraC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just drinks ”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Great laid back atmosphere, coupled with a cool refreshing Viking beer! Decent tunes & the food looked appetising, although we didn't eat on this occasion.

Helpful?
Thank 2_wheels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Local bar on main street”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stopped by this local bar for dinner. There were a couple of tourists but mostly locals so it felt pretty authentic. There's free wifi. They only have a small food menu and they didn't have a lot of the items on it when we went to order. The food was so-so but the atmosphere and location are great so I would recommend going here for a drink.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kofinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kofinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing