We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy”
Review of Bergsson Mathus

Bergsson Mathus
Ranked #25 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hi - I have been to Bergsson mathus several times. Last weekend with the family for brunch. The brunch is fresh and compiled with good food. The coffee is really black, the bread is sour and tasty. The athmosphere is slow and cosy, playing old jazzy kind of music. This is a place to go for good conversation, good food and to feel good. They also make sandwiches for you if you wish and take away. Bergsson is close to city center, the main lake and easy to find. I will go again, both for family brunch and for lunches.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    140
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Try the spinach lasagna”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had this for our first lunch in Reykjavik, it's a block away from the Hotel Borg. It was a great lunch spot and clearly a favourite amongst the locals filling it up. We had the spinach lasagna plate, I don't know what all was in it, but it was very fresh, tasty and healthy. For bread (complimentary), 1 soup, 2 lasagna plates and a latte, we paid about $50CDN.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurWorldAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great breakfast options”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Breakfast here was included in our hotel stay at the Kvosin. You could pick the breakfast plate or something smaller - everything we tried was solid. They also made us sandwiches for lunch one day. Tasty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripCrazyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This was a great breakfast place. We got there around 8.00 and were the only people there when we arrived. Lovely setting and friendly staff.
The only complaint I have is that there were no menus so we didn't know what to order of what we were getting.
Ended up with a breakfast plate which included granola and skyr, boiled egg, cheese, Parma ham, salad, hummus, fruit and lovely lovely bread. You help yourself to butter, jam, honey and peanut butter. I don't particularly like peanut butter but this was the best I have tasted and the jam was really unusual too x

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best thing I ate in Iceland…was bread”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you go nowhere else in Reykjavik, have breakfast at Bergsson Mathús. They are known for their brunch plate (1650 krona), but I wasn’t hungry enough for the full meal so I opted to order bread and cheese (650 krona). I don’t want to raise expectations, but this was without exaggeration the best bread I have ever tasted. This could be related to the fact that I had to wait 10 minutes for my order because the bread was still so hot and fresh from the oven that it could not yet be served. While I typically dislike sour dough, this loaf was something beyond comprehension, a gift to humanity from the flour and yeast gods. The homemade rhubarb-raspberry jam only accentuated an already-delicious experience. Incidentally, Bergsson Mathús also made the best latte of my journey (480 krona). Altogether, this was the best meal I had in Iceland, which is both a tad strange and quite impressive, given that it was a plate of bread.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OatmealEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bergsson Mathus also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Bergsson Mathus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing