We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment, brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Comfort Apartments
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Really lovely modern and clean apartment, very well situated near the old harbour and only a short walk from central Reykjavik. Lovely glazed seating area off the bedroom with interesting views across to the harbour. Large balcony at the back of the propery off the sitting room. Lift to all floors. Delightful bathroom. Quiet at night. Very helpful and friendly owner. We would definately stay here again when we return to Reykjavik. One of the nicest apartments we have ever rented.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on one of the higher floors for a better view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JILLE810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Based on reviews on Tripadvisor we chose Ocean Comfort for our 7 night stay and so very glad we did. It is only a 3 minute walk to the hub of downtown where there are quaint shops, restaurants and a free shuttle service to both of the shopping malls. It provides a partial ocean view of the Old Harbour from a cozy nook of the bedroom, complete with chair where I often sat and read after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. The apartment is spacious and immaculate. The owners are not always there as you check in but there is a phone that directly connects to them and everything is ready for you as you are buzzed into the lobby. It is quiet with only 6 suites, the owners are very friendly and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in Reykjavik and loved it. The apartments are in a location that can't be beat, right in the heart of downtown across from the Old Harbour. Walking distance to anywhere. Only a few minutes walk to catch a bus to the airport at Iceland Excursions (Greyline) so you don't need to book a pickup and pay more for that service. The apartments themselves are beautiful - very modern, large, and spotlessly clean. Queen sized bed was very comfortable. Really liked the bathrobes and slippers provided. Very much appreciated the mobile phone that the owners left for local calling within Iceland - very useful for booking tours. The owners are excellent, and very prompt with responding to emails (you can also contact them by phone at any time if you want). I did meet one of the owners who was very nice, and he pointed out a few helpful things to me on the map, such as the cheapest grocery store (Bonus) and where the post office was. Not sure why people are bothered by the front desk not being manned, if you want that you should be staying in a hotel, not apartments. One tour company did not know where these apartments were, if you encounter that problem, just tell them you are at the Black Pearl, they all seem to know where that is. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stadejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

after a two night stay all i can say is this place is spectacular!

the hotel is immaculate! very spacious, clean, sea view, smack bang in the middle of everything you could possibly need (the harbour is a 2 min walk and greys coach tours is also 2 mins walk the opposite way - we used greys for all those 'must do' trips as well as the airport run)

from start to finish of my trip i cant stress how perfect this apartment complex really is - i suggest you all stay there and see :)

Room Tip: Sea view was beautiful looking over the harbor and mountains :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyRebecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayded 3 nights in this very comfortable and central apartmend during our trip to Iceland on early December 2013. Due to low season price quality ratio is unbeatable. We got big 70 sqm modern and new apartment with all comforts that you need - modern furnitures and very comfortable beds with partial sea view. Owners even gave a mobile phone with no extra charge for local calls and free wifi worked well. Kitchen has good and modern equipments to cooc and prepare your breakfast, but don't bother to prepare you dinner in the apartment because Reykjavik is full of excellent restaurants.

I have to say that Reykjavik is one of the food capitals of the Europe. Closest good restaurant was The Steak House - 150 m away from the apartment. My wife ate there best lamb steak ever - it just melted in the mouth and tasted like heaven. You can also eat more exotic meat like puffin and horse meat. The other good restaurant where we ate was The Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market) - Really fancy restaurant with good selection of tradiotional food of Icelend. Bare in mind that you need to book a table beforehand - we did book them before we arrived to Reykjavik.

Back again to the Ocean Comfort. It has nice garage for you car for small extra charge. Book it beforehand. This is handy, because you really should rent a car to ease your travelling. We rented the car from Reykjavik airport for three days. The price was allmost the same what return taxi ride would have taken from Keflavik to Reykjavik and back. International airport is quite far from the city. It is not jus economical to rent a car, but it is really handy to see all sights close to the Reykjavik. Golden circle is easy to drive and must for all - Incredible Gullfoss waterfall, Geyshire and Þingvellir National Park. If you have time, schedule a pit stop to really nice small outdoor thermal spa Laugarvatn Fontana. This is a small oasis without tourist rush and hassle. We spend really relaxing 2 hours - air temperature was 0 C and water +40. We felt like heaven.

Over all Reykjavik was really nice surprice for us - Really nice and vibrant city with lots to see and feel. One more tip - do not miss the Reykjavik Concert hall close by. It is one of the most amazing contemporary buildings what I have ever seen.

Don't think anymore - just go to Icelend. It is a must! And Ocean Comfort Apartment is perfect and very central base to explore nice Reykjavik and unbelieveable nature.

We just loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

These apartments are brilliant!!! Location, style, comfort and overall planning by the owners was wonderful. We have always stayed in hotels but as our 2nd time in iceland was so short and due to our busy schedule we would be missing breakfast both mornings we opted for these apartments. Start to finish of our stay was great and everything worked out as planned. Definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up in the building for a better view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 0Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We came to Iceland to see all the things one dreams and hears about this isolated country.

Ocean view apartments jumped out, from a lot of very nice but mediocre accommodation, area 101 is the nebourhood to stay in, you do not need to use any transport from here, all the attractions are within walking distance, the heart of Reykjavik town centre for shops, food and bars, the old harbour for the whale watching, and fantastic sea food restaurants.

Another advantage, is that Reykjavik excursions start point, for all the tours on the island is only a few minutes walk away, and this company is by far the best people to use to see this magical country, we had several of the trips on offer, and all were fantastic, efficient, punctual and very informative, they also operate the flybus to and from the airport, by far the cheapest way to get in and out of Reykjavik, which is 45 km or about 40 mins drive from the international airport.

The apartment was wonderful, extremely modern, everything you need from a top class accomadation, it all seemed like new, and spotlessly clean, fantastic views over the bay and snow capped mountains in the background.
Restaurants and shops just round the corner, and a 24 supermarket 10 minutes walk away, having seen where others were staying, we felt this was the perfect place to be, day or night.

We would recommend ocean comfort to anyone, and we had a wonderful stay in Iceland, the people are so friendly, we even managed to see the northern lights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,147 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Comfort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Comfort Apartments

Address: Tryggvagata 18 b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £67 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Comfort Apartments is the perfect accommodation in Reykjavik whether you are in town for business or leisure. We are located next to the Marina in the city center of Reykjavik, in a short walking distance from all the downtown shops, restaurants, bars, theaters, galleries and the Harpa conference center. The apartments are fully furnished, each offers a fully equipped kitchen, towels, bathrobes, slippers and linen. Our apartments also all include a mobile phone,a flat screen TV, DVD player, iPhone docking station and Free WI-fi Internet connection. For further comfort Ocean Comfort Apartments include ocean view, a private balcony, floor heating, laundry facilities, complimentary tea & coffee and so much more. Ocean Comfort Apartments is a family owned company with personal service, we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Comfort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing